We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Sands Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Pelican Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pelican Sands Beach Resort
335 - 337 Golden Four Drive, Tugun, Queensland 4224, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tugun
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We were a little apprehensive about staying at pelican sands, but friends had recommended this resort as they had enjoyed their recent stay there.. New managers, Rob & Jayne made us feel very welcome and could not have been more helpful during our stay. Our room was spotless and comfortable. The units are absolute beach front and we had a beautiful view of the coast. A great place for families in particular or couples. I would highly recommend this place and will be returning there with other friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

It is difficult to review a hotel where each of the apartments is privately owned, but the management should have strict standards for those entering their apartments in the letting pool. I booked on the internet wanting a hotel right on the beach, as Pelican Sands certainly is - open the garden gate an you're on the sand. In photos the building was obviously older, which is fine if the apartments are kept up-to-date, but Number 303 was badly in need of renovation. The carpet was reasonably new, as was the laminate bench top, but the threadbare curtains, holes in the lounge suite fabric, dirty throw cushions, and rusty oven were a disgrace. The apartment had two bedrooms and two bathrooms, but as we were a couple the second bedroom and main bathroom had been closed off - a common occurrence in Australia. The en suite bathroom at our disposal didn't have a shower, only an older spa bath, which had a shower rose connected to the taps, which would have been manageable for washing hair except that it wasn't working, and didn't appear to have done so for some time. The toilet seat was disgusting. At first I thought it was dirty, but although clean, it was so old it had been scratched and scuffed by years of scouring liquids and cloths, and was almost off its hinges. The apartment was mostly clean and tidy, though a thick line of dust ran around all the carpet edges, and a mortuary of moths lay behind the electric jug on the kitchen bench, though the kitchen was well-equipped. Apartment 303 spanned the width of the southern end of the building, with another highrise very close to it, so for privacy we had to keep the theadbare curtains closed. The two bedrooms were on the western side of the building overlooking the very busy Gold Coast Highway and the approach to Coolangatta Airport. There is a curfew on aircraft activity during the night, with the first plane landing at 6 a.m. We found the road traffic more noisy than the aeroplanes, but not enough to keep us awake. The gardens, BBQ area, and swimming pool appeared well-cared for, the mangement helpful, and the basement carpark secure. This building may suit families although the nearest surf lifesaving flags are quite some way along the beach in either direction. We stayed for just one night while travelling, and in another apartment, Pelican Sands would probably have been fine for that pupose.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

We were return guests belonging to "group booking".Our reservation was made in July 2008 for 4 nights for the later 2008. A $500.00 deposit was posted and validated at the time of the our reservation.

On arrival , we found our only specific request when making our reservation: were two rooms on the same level had not been granted. Although our request was confirmed when making the reservation a telephone call from the resort before our arrival may have ensure our arrival & check-in to be far more pleasant .

On check-in we were told, that if we had made a $20.00 deposit at the time of reservation - our request of two rooms on the same floor,

would have been secured - HELLO! We were told the property had "new management" & somehow our request (as a return group booking) plus our $500.00 deposit had been over looked. Disappointed we made our way to our rooms & on entering one of the rooms, found the carpet entering the kitchen had a terrible odour & was dreadfully sticking, we also found only two towels & no tolilet paper for 5 guests!

Not so great when check-in at 11.00pm. What is a real worry ... on check-out, reception wanted to charge $5.00 for a 3cm by 3cm packet of dishwashing liquid which had been left in one of the rooms. Overall: poorly managed, dirty & slack housekeeping.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — almost everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelicansands, Jenny Fulton Manager at Pelican Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2008
The new management & staff of Pelican Sands have been in place since July 2008, and are delighted to be offering great value holidays on the Gold Coast. In the short time there, they have welcomed many new guests and also lots of repeat visitors who keep coming back for the spacious apartments set right on the beach year after year. Many of those guests have noticed the many positive changes to the building as units are being refurbished, the gardens are flourishing and the reception hours are extended. Accompanying much pride in the look of the building – there is a renewed commitment to service.

We appreciate the above reviewer’s feedback, reflecting on our own reservation policies to ensure the occurrence won’t be repeated. In inheriting reservations from the previous owners, we strive to ensure a great experience for all guests however sometimes special guest requests and guarantees are not specified within the paperwork handed over. It is distressing when unable to meet a guest’s expectation, and will always do what is possible to accommodate those requests as we become aware of them. An example of when it is not possible – is when the resort is fully occupied and it is not possible to make room changes – as was in the case of CateMargor.

Pelican Sands works closely with the contracted cleaners to ensure standards & room presentation is according to policy, and the strong relationship being built is reflected in immaculate rooms. Reassuringly, this property has on site management, so concerns raised by guests checking in late (after hours) are attended to. As in the reviewer’s case the night manager was able to swiftly supply the missing items and gave the ladies a great start to their fun with a bottle of sparkling wine to enjoy.

Pelican Sands is classified as self catering accommodation and has standards recently verified by AAA and awarded 3 ½ stars. All rooms are equipped with a starter pack of amenities and replacement items are generally purchased from the local supermarket or single use items from reception at cost.

Pelican Sands regrets the reviewer and her guests were disappointed with their experience, and welcomes the opportunity to make a better impression on another visit. The management and staff are dedicated to providing an enjoyable stay for all guests, as all departments follow company policies to ensure accuracy and good communication at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Sands Beach Resort

Address: 335 - 337 Golden Four Drive, Tugun, Queensland 4224, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Tugun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tugun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Sands has a lap pool, spa, sauna, games room, gym and lift access. The bus stop is only 20m away, Gold Coast Airport 5 minutes away. Step off our back lawn directly onto the beach; entertain friends by the pool or in the BBQ area whilst watching the sunset. Pelican Sands is the perfect place for all occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Pelican Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.