We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars for all the right reasons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allure on Currumbin

Allure on Currumbin
136 Duringan Street, Currumbin, Queensland 4223, Australia
+61 7 5525 6006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Currumbin
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are an elegant casual restaurant on the Gold Coast, Queensland, providing a French inspired menu with an Australian twist.
Banora Point
1 review
“5 stars for all the right reasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Me and my partner had the delight of having dinner here last night. As soon as you walk inside you know you've chosen the right place. It's warm and personal, and the staff are ready and waiting to help. First off the staff are excellenty presented, dress wise and politeness wise, friendy but professional. The owner is also absolutely wonderful and makes sure that you're experience is as it should be! THE FOOD. We had an entree of Confit pork belly with scallops(amazing) and oysters kilpatrick(best I've ever had) Then I chose the lamb rack on truffle mash and if I could, I would eat only that for the rest of my life. Perfectly presented, cooked and the taste is amaze balls. The jue is the best I've ever tasted and the chef needs to know that he's gods gift to sauce! (they also give you a dinner roll at the end of the meal to soak up the rest of gods sauce) The desert we chose to share was the profiteroles, which usually comes with 3, but because we were sharing they kindly put 4 on the plate to prevent a food fight. Oh and that icecream on the plate was also amazing! All in all there was not 1 thing to fault about this restraint and we will be returning.... Again and again.
Thanks guys for a lovely night and making us leave not questioning 1 thing about this experience :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imthechef, Owner at Allure on Currumbin, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hello Kaligiirl

Thanks for an incredible review. Really lovely to hear such nice things being said about us!

The team work hard on every aspect of the restaurant to make it the best it can be - thanks for noticing the efforts.

Thanks also for you very kind words about my efforts in the kitchen, along with our fantastic team. We're all a bit obsessed with the food and making sure everything is spot on.

Glad we were also able to prevent a food fight :o)

I'll be passing on your kind words to the team when we get together, but a huge thanks to you for coming in and then taking the time to tell others about us. We do greatly appreciate the support.

All the best

Brad, Cheryl and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    66
    24
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fabulous Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our friends had been talking about Allure for over a year and we finally got to experience it for ourselves. What can I say we weren't disappointed. My daughter has travelled the world working in 5 star hospitality venues London, New York Whistler and I'm always concerned about taking her to a new restaurant as she has high standards and finally I will be able to take her to Allure for her graduation in December knowing that she will love it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imthechef, Owner at Allure on Currumbin, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello MJB22014

Thank you for your very kind words and thanks to your friends for talking us up!

So glad you had such an enjoyable time. We look forward to welcoming your daughter in December! It's wonderful when you have something so special to celebrate.

Be sure to say hello and thanks again.

Kind Regards

Cheryl and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Elegant and alluring!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Table clothes, ambience and the close attention of an elegant blonde owner, Allure is a hidden gem in dining on the Gold Coast. Three courses of superb food selections from around Australia, we had Tasmanian oysters, lobster, filet, and freshly made profiteroles along with wine from a good list do Australian and New Zealand wines. Highly recommended for at least one night away from the beach fare.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imthechef, Owner at Allure on Currumbin, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hi Mike D

Thank you very much for an absolutely lovely review. Love the 5 stars for Service, Food and Value!

Glad you had such a lovely meal and we appreciate your support and great review.

Happy Dining.

Cheryl and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“amazing dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

All dished were awesome and amazing. Manu served us perfectly. The atmosphere is also very good. So, unforgettable experience

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imthechef, Owner at Allure on Currumbin, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Sile Y

Brad (co-owner and Chef here) doing my first review response.

What a great one to start with - love the photos you took. Thanks for posting them up.

And thanks for saying such nice things about the food - the kitchen team work incredibly hard to make dishes to delight our guests. So happy you've described the food as "awesome and amazing".

That's what we aim for :o)

Great to hear Manu served you so well too. I'll pass on your kind words.

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and share your experience. We really appreciate it.

Brad, Cheryl and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“As the reviews suggest - Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I had dinner at Allure. It was our first time at the restaurant and we went with high expectations based primarily on the enthusiastic TA reviews. We were not disappointed. The food and service were excellent.

We were greeted by the co-owner of the restaurant who escorted us to our table. A complimentary bon bouche of cauliflower soup quickly followed - very tasty. Not being big eaters, we took the owner's recommendation to share an entree prior to the mains. We chose the prawn vol-au-vent which was absolutely fabulous.

For mains, my wife had a lobster and prawn filled chicken breast, while I opted for the fillet steak. We thought about adding a vegetable side dish, but decided against after the waiter advised there was a good serving included with each dish. What a pleasant change to get waiting staff (including the co-owner) advising according to needs rather than just trying to inflate the bill. The recommendation was correct - both dishes were good sized portions and complimented by adequate vegetables. On the taste side - they were superb. Good quality ingredients, well cooked and well presented.

We normally cannot fit in a desert, but the crepe suzette called us. Again we shared the disk. Like all dishes before it, it was terrific. Wonderful orange sauce and vanilla bean ice cream.

Allure is fully licensed - no BYO. The wine list is perfectly adequate, if a little expensive, but in keeping with the quality of the food. The restaurant is relatively small, elegantly decorated and with a quiet ambience.

At around $150 for the two of us, including wine, it is not a cheap night out, but we never mind paying for good quality.

Overall we had a wonderful dinner. It is the best restaurant we have stuck on the coast so far. We will certainly be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imthechef, Owner at Allure on Currumbin, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hi ChrisandJudy1000

Thanks for a detailed and very kind review. Lovely to hear you appreciated the little extra touches we provided - so glad you enjoyed it all.

The kitchen team are delighted that you described your meals as "superb" and we're pleased the serving size (and recommendations by your wait team) was spot on.

Thanks again for coming in and giving us a try and, of course, taking the time to tell others about us.

All the best.

Kind Regards

Cheryl and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allure on Currumbin also viewed

 
Broadbeach, Gold Coast
Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Allure on Currumbin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allure on Currumbin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.