We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful picturesque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Gold Coast Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Gold Coast Resort to your Saves list
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Palm Meadows Drive | Palm Meadows, Carrara, Queensland 4211, Australia (Formerly Radisson Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful picturesque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I booked direct on website and got better deal than wotif using the standby upgrade. Our spa didn't work so we reported it and were immediately moved with an upgrade and refunded the original upgrade fee! Concierge service excellent. Pool is great and views over golf course gorgeous to wake up to . Shuttle bus runs all day tickets for $10 if u don't have car as a little off the beaten track and out of broadbeach. Great value for money top class hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    305
    109
    37
    22
See reviews for
184
253
30
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I recently stayed at the Radisson Resort Gold Coast to attend a friends wedding that was being held in one of the various surrounding golf courses (Palmer's Colonial Gold Course).
We arrived at 11:30am onto the driveway to be greeted by a very friendly concierge/valet attendant, he welcomed us with smiles and offered to run the luggage to our room but as I did not have much I opted to carry it myself.

Reception staff were quick to greet me which is always nice and they were able to check me into a room straight away which is always a bonus depending on hotel policy etc.

My room was in the 'Ibis Wing' overlooking another golf course and had all the usual bits and pieces that a guest could want - nice large 42" TV with movies on demand, FOC internet via cable (free wifi around lobby), large king sized bed with triple sheeting & a decent older style bathroom. I noted the mini bar had some pretty decent prices also ($6.00 for a Pure Blonde) so I thought I'd better use that service :-)

Breakfast the next morning was very busy which is pretty standard on a Sunday morning at 9am (fortunately I know about this rush so we got there well in advance). With plenty of other wedding groups staying that weekend it always puts pressure on the Brekky team at peak time but they seemed to handle it quite well and the food was an average standard in my opinion.

Check out was easy and completed my quick stay at the Radisson.

** One issue that my partner faced was when she went to park the vehicle, I had told her we were in the 'Ibis Wing' but apparently the signage in the carpark only says Block 1, Block 2 etc etc and no mention of the bird names..... So maybe something to look at there from Management assuming my partner's issue was a valid one.

Overall - yes I would return and recommend the place, seems to be a well run operation and taking into consideration the age of the property it still presents well and is comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Booked the accommodation based purely on price and the closeness of the location to Brodbeach and the theme parks.
Was REALLY surprised at the facilites we got for the price we paid on Wotif.com
Place had free in room internet, and free parking.
The Buffett breakfast was $27 each. But the ammount of good food on offer made it worth the money.
The pool was lovely and picturesque, howver because we were there during school holidays, was occupied occupied by kids during the day and then teenagers when it got dark.

After reading some of the reviews on here I thought the facilities might be a bit run down. But it was great!

The only thing I would fault the room on was that the shower glass needed to be a bit bigger (or have a door or curtain), and the extractor fan in the bathroom was a little asthmatic.

I would definately stay here again and would recomend it to anyway goign to the gold coast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

As frequent travellers to the Gold Coast, we always chose to stay at the Radisson for it's location and parking facilities. My only 'complaint' this time as a Club Carlson member and a frequent guest at the Radisson was that I had to pay for an upgrade and was not offered any breakfast deal on booking in - as another reviewer was offered. On checking in early evening, I was somewhat disgruntled that someone else checking in beside me was given a complementary upgrade even though not a Club Carlson member and when I pointed this out to the assistant at the desk, I was not very satisfied with his explanation. Though I would thank the Front Office Manager for her attention to my comments when I was checking out. Her attitude was most recommendable.
We had invited a group of friends to lunch with us at Chelos - initially service was curt and not very friendly - something I have found in the past at this restaurant from the same staff - this really has to be addressed. My guests were certainly not impressed and they would not return to the restaurant.
Whatever my negative comments from this trip - the Radisson will always be our choice of accommodation at the Gold Coast.

Room Tip: A Garden Spa Room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

After reading some of the reviews of this hotel, I thought I may have picked the wrong property for redemption of my Club Carlson points but this proved not to be the case. Stayed three nights in a Garden Spa Room which was comfortable and generally well maintained although very noisy at times due to the group tour focus of this hotel. Service was very good throughout and we made good use of the pool and fitness center. Plenty of free parking under the hotel. Easy access to Broadbeach and surrounds by car. Had one dinner and one breakfast in Chelos which were good but so many excellent venues to eat only ten minutes away. The free in-room wi-fi was very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the Radisson on Saturday night from Wotif, good size rooms, comfortable bed and well priced. We ate at the Restaurant that night and must say the food and service was impeccable, well done to all.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I spent a day at this resort. We booked one of the golf view rooms thinking we could get a good view of the course and some activities, but to disappointment we got a 1st floor room and facing a large sand pit area of the golf course, not a pleasant view from the room balcony, plus it was a pretty old room, cleanliness is ok but can't expect much from an old room. Good points Were staff service , heated jacuzzi and pool and a nice restaurant..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Gold Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gold Coast Resort

Address: Palm Meadows Drive | Palm Meadows, Carrara, Queensland 4211, Australia (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Carrara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gold Coast Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 3-story Hotel & Golf Resort with tropical gardens just minutes West of Broadbeach or South West of Surfers Paradise and their white sandy beaches. Walk to Carrara Markets or a short ride to Robina Town Centre (Gold Coast’s largest shopping centre). The ideal venue for overnight accommodation when attending either Skilled Park or Metricon Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Gold Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Resort Gold Coast Hotel Carrara
Radisson Gold Coast
Radisson Hotel Carrara
Radisson Carrara
Carrara Radisson
Mercure Gold Coast Resort Carrara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Gold Coast Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.