We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real good mexican” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezumas Mexican Restaurant

Montezumas Mexican Restaurant
62 Frank Street, Labrador, Queensland 4215, Australia
07 5591 1905
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 46 Restaurants in Labrador
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Montezuma's Labrador offers a fully licensed authentic Aztec/Mexican dining experience.Our meals are prepared fresh daily using locally grown produce where possible and cooked in convection ovens. Our meals are not too spicy but for those who love it that way, do not hesitate to order hot or extra hot sauce. If you wish to tone down the spices order a bowl of sour cream.We cater for vegetarians and those requiring a gluten free diet.There is a special menu for the little amigos and colouring in to keep them occupied.As we have a large number of loyal regulars, bookings are highly recommended.
Mount Tamborine, Australia
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Real good mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Food is always good at any Montezumas, I prefer going mid week as not so bust, be sure to dine early if Friday and Saturday nights and wise to make a reservation. The Sangria is amazing as are the Margaritas but asked for it shaken so it is not served as a semi frozen drink ! They have a range of nice cocktails including a strawberry Margarita ! Enjoy !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezumas3, Owner at Montezumas Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. It sounds like you're a Montezuma's regular as you know all the tricks ;) We appreciate your support & look forward to having you dine with us soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    7
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The food is fantastic. The service is borderline, don't forget to book ahead as the staff get really crabby otherwise. Kids eat free on Mondays.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Too Cheezy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not bad for a mexican restaurant but a bit too much cheese in the meal. We had a voucher for Montezumas but this place does not take part in that deal. Had a better Mex feast in Coolangatta.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No idea why it is so popular”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I really don't understand why Montezuma's is such a popular restaurant. The food is, as my friend puts it, 'slop on a plate' and the atmosphere is generally too noisy and far too crowded.

Not my favourite place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezumas3, Owner at Montezumas Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Sorry to hear of your disappointment in dining at Montezuma's AshAndMog. Montezuma's is a family-friendly restaurant &, yes, it can get noisy at times, but that all adds to the festive atmosphere. I notice that you haven't visited for quite a long time. If you gave us another try you'd find that we have a lot of new additions to our menu which you may prefer (our fajitas our a crowd favourite) :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Montizumas is zzzz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent just over $50 getting takeaway when we arrived 20 mins later we still waited another 15 mins!!! We got home (5 mins away) and the food tasted bland and was less than warm.
Never again. Tried them three times now and they cannot compare to montezumas in burleigh, or a few doors up. I've read they improved on here but it's the same pre made bland bs they had last time.
What a joke!! Give them a miss!
Try pickeled cactus or casa Mexicana. Both great everytime.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezumas Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Labrador, Gold Coast
Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
 

Been to Montezumas Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezumas Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.