We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastles on the Broadwater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastles on the Broadwater to your Saves list
Sandcastles on the Broadwater
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   392-398 Marine Parade (entrance off Parker St), Labrador, Queensland 4215, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Helensvale, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Family Escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had to come back to the Gold Coast for a conference. We decided it was a great opportunity to bring the family down and catch up with old friends while I was at the conference.

This worked out really well, we enjoyed the spa on our personal balcony with views of the Broadwater. While it wasn't central, it was great for us, as most of what we had to do was Gold Coast central or north.

The 3 brm apartment had 2 bedrooms downstairs and the master was upstairs with the balcony and views. Even though we've moved to the coast, we might just use it as a weekend escape

Room Tip: The 3 brm rooms with spa on balcony - great views of Broadwater
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    33
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
53
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My friends & I were all very shocked when we realized that there is no lift in this resort. We had to carry all our huge luggage up from Basement carpark to 3rd floor.
The room was overall ok. We travelled in Aug hence the room was quite cold even though we closed all the windows and did not ON the air-con. My worse experience in this apartment is the blood stain on the towel that was provided by this resort. :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy H, Manager at Sandcastles on the Broadwater, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Iwss,

Firstly thank you for your review, it is always with great concern when we receive a disappointing comment. We at Sandcastles on the Broadwater strive to surpass our A.A.A rating of 4 star and find it personally disappointing when a guest has a disappointing stay.
We endeavour to keep our accommodation and service affordable and attractive to all guests.

Your review has made us aware that there are some anomalies with some of our agents booking sites and outside agent sites not advising that we are a family friendly 3 story walk up property, We have contacted our I.T department to fix this on the websites. I can only apologise for this and reiterate that with any accommodation it is best to contact the property directly to be able to cater for all your special requirements and individual needs.

Due to health and safety requirements we out source all our linen and cleaning with professional contractors your comment about blood stain on the towel is very concerning to us and we have completed an incident report and lodged it with the laundry company. However without evidence our report lacks creditability for future reference if this ever happens to any guest reading this response take the item to management and they will take immediate action. We are pleased that you enjoyed our apartment we continue to get very positive responses about the spaciousness and how family friendly they are.

We look forward to welcoming you back to this beautiful part of the Gold Coast

Kind regards

Tracy & Marty - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The apartment was clean and spacious. BBQ facility and pool were excellent and the security made us feel very comfortable. Will defiantly be back again and have already recommended to a few friends! Only bad thing was a few visible signs that previous occupants didn't do the right thing :(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

we had a three bedroom for our family holiday including three couples and a toddler. we had a view of the broadwater which was nice. apartment was roomy although probably a wee bit small for three couples think more suited to couple and their children. the downside for us was the traffic noise from the apartment as we were right by the road and was rather noisy although as we were there for longer we got more used to the noise. the grounds are lovely and the pool and spa area great . most nights we would use the spa! and alot of the family used the pool as the temp was nice even in the evenings. sound proofing in the apartments is not that great , you can hear everyone else really well in the other apartments this is perhaps due to being an older complex im not sure. we walked to harbour town once this was about a 20 minute walk each way we enjoyed it and was an easy walk for us , we like our walking so was good fun for us. we also walked along the broadwater a few times and watched the pelican feeding as well which was nice. the broadwater area is very nice and summer time it would be great i would imagine. theme parks are close by and easy to get to. central surfers is about a 10 minute drive. my husband and i prefer being in the heart of surfers so we can walk easily around it and have that flexibility to be able to walk in when ever we want but other family members preferred being further away so it really is a personal preference.all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have stayed here the last few times when holidaying in the Gold Coast and love it.

Labrador is well positioned to the theme parks and the heart of Surfers Paradise.

The facilities are excellent here. The grounds are well maintained and the pool and pool area, including bbq's are always clean.

The rooms are very spacious, have excellent amenities and are clean.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My two best mates and I booked a two bedroom apartment for 15 nights during June. We were very happy with the apartment. The main bedroom had an ensuite and walk in robe. The other bedroom had two single beds and a wardrobe. Both bedroom opened onto a veradah and there was also a large patio area out the front with an outdoor setting with beautiful views of the water. The kitchen was great with plenty of room for storage and a full size fridge. They also provide toaster/kettle/dishwasher/garbage disposal. The lounge/dining area was a good size and had a couple of couches and a large flatscreen tv. The best thing though was that it had its own washer/dryer and thoughtfully also two clothes drying stands.

All in all it was great. We were very luckily on the bottom floor with only one lot of stairs to go up. I felt sorry for people on the higher floors as i bet it would be a pain lugging your belongings much further. The secure parking was fantastic and easy to use. The location is also great for the theme parks with none of them very far away. The pool was also lovely and the games room was limited but fun. I did see pictures of a gym on the website but my friends and i never found it - however we never asked.

The staff were great, a light broke in the main bedroom and they came and fixed it happily. The lady at reception was very helpful with lots of advice. I recommed the 360 restaurant just across the road under the grand, great brekky. Also there is a great restaurant called the pickled cactus not far away in biggera waters - spectacular!!

They have great specials if you book direct, we got our apartment for under $1500 for 3 adults for 15 nights

Room Tip: id ask for a room on the bottom floor to combat the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundanoon, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment, apparently they are all on the top floor. The apartment was very nice and modern but my main memory was of the stairs! What a killer there should be a lift, even the kids had enough of these stairs after a couple of days. All over the complex stairs and more stairs. It is on the corner of a main road and while you can access the car park from a back street it is a bit noisy. The staff were pleasant enough, I only delt with them on check in & out. So overall the apartment was good, pool was ok in the shade most of the day, I don't think I'd stay there again unless I become very fit beforehand to deal with all the stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for not in tower 6 it was the furthest away from pool, BBQ area etc and closest to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastles on the Broadwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastles on the Broadwater

Address: 392-398 Marine Parade (entrance off Parker St), Labrador, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Labrador
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Labrador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandcastles on the Broadwater 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Sandcastles on the Broadwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastles On The Broadwater Hotel Labrador
Sandcastles On The Broadwater Labrador, Gold Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastles on the Broadwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.