We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with a good price and a not so nice restaurant manager” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kokonut Willy's

Kokonut Willy's
360 Marine Parade, Labrador, Queensland 4215, Australia
(07) 5528 6442
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 46 Restaurants in Labrador
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food with a good price and a not so nice restaurant manager”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The pub style food at Kokonut Willy's is impressive especially for its price and generous portion sizes. Their menu provides customers with a variety of food options from Thai Green Curry, to seafood and traditional pub meals.

If you are considering booking a table for a large group though you may want to reconsider as tonight I witnessed the restaurant manager cracking under the pressure and taking out her frustrations on the poor customers and lovely staff. There were a number of large groups booked in for dinner tonight and the restaurant manager was not coping well with the stress. As my partner and I waited to place our order we witnessed her yelling at staff and being extremely rude to the customers in front of us who were part of a big group. When it was our turn to order she treated us as poorly as she did everyone else, she also made a mistake in her haste and tried to blame us. I asked her to lower her tone as she was belittling us in her frustration which is what she had done to the customers before us and the poor staff she worked with. Another Manager approached us apologetically explaining they were under a lot of stress that night, apologised for her behaviour and explained that she’s not usually like that… I hope she’s not usually like that for their sake.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
434 reviews 434 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Huge Feed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great steaks that resemble brontosaurus, well priced and lots of side included. Skip the entree and hit the main.
Good service friendly staff and well priced, what more can i say
Recommended

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great pub Grubb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was not expecting much but it was actually really good pub food , it was quick and the service was fine. It is a little dark if you wish to dine out on the deck/verandah, but that was not a big deal. The seafood basket was freshly prepared not frozen and Lamb Shanks,two huge meal were tender and very tasty, well worthwhile. I would definitely go back , best when your really hungry very generous serves.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Kokonut Willy's is in The Grand Hotel right on the Broadwater. We had a window table which was good (except it was raining) as we could look out over the water with the lights sparkling. Food was very good, huge menu with lots of variety and nice and fresh. Service not great, we sat for a full 20 minutes before anyone came near us and even then had to get our own water. Despite this we had a nice evening.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Take a torch.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Night time, there is no Lighting in the outdoor area here. They had one candle on each table and most were out, or had blown out.
CAN'T read the menu. We used our mobiles fone torch lihg to read and the order. They have a saying in hospitality. "You eat weith your eyes." Maybe that's why there was no lighting?
The food was OK. Nothing special. The staff member we had wasn't really interested in serving us. We had asked for water and had to go to the bar eventually to ask for it again. We had our drinks deleivered promtly and the meals were served in less than half an hour. They were busy make no mistake and that was a positive. Bar specials "Pub Grub" were well priced and they had daily specials as well.
Food Ok. But in all seriousness you need some lighting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokonut Willy's also viewed

 
Labrador, Gold Coast
Labrador, Gold Coast
 

Been to Kokonut Willy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokonut Willy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.