We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and warm hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tasty Magic Chinese restuarant

Tasty Magic Chinese restuarant
2/341 Hope Island Road, Hope Island, Queensland 4212, Australia
07 5514 0393
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 31 Restaurants in Hope Island
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and warm hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was a surprise and we actually only came initially because it had good reviews following a day with the kids at dreamworld. They really did some very simple but vitally important things to make us feel not only welcome but openly honoured to be guests. Providing gender specific child safe plates were not only fun for the children but also a small thought that makes a real difference. In all other ways the staff were very helpful and obliging. As for the food, it is exceptional. I am probably not the world leader on Hong Kong Chinese cuisine, however I have eaten at literally hundreds in my life and this is probably the best I have had. Very good food that does not leave you feeling like you regret it like some other more oily and heavy Chinese (read Chinese Western) food can make you feel. And to top it off they gave us sweets and chocolates for free at the end! I don't know if this was because we had the kids or not but again a fantastic small token that makes a big difference. The location is unassuming as is the shop front and yet this quaint little gem is a place we will definitely be going back to whenever we are next in the area. Keep up the great work. This place is great!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This Restruant is the pick within the Hope Island area and has great service. The owners are very friendly and takeaway is the way to go

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

As they say you can't judge a book by it's cover or name. This small, clean restaurant continues to serve quick, fresh, authentic Hong Kong Chinese delights. I have two children along with my in-laws with travelled palates and this is one of their favourite restaurants. The owner is helpful in all aspects of ordering and service. You will need to book to make sure you can enjoy this delicious food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious food and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

If you are the sort of person who judges a book by its cover you are likely to miss this gem. A small shop next to a petrol station doesn't scream "delicious food here" but it is certainly worth it. The only thing better than the food is the service. The staff are so friendly, and the owner is clearly passionate about service and her product. She has a photo album with all the meals if you want to see it, and she even throws in a few history and cultural facts free of charge!! The meals are not as cheap as elsewhere, however this could be a direct consequence of the proximity to the affluent areas nearby. The serving sizes are fair for the price.

We will be frequenting from now on.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coomera, Australia
2 reviews
“Nice and fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great food and extremely friendly service. My kids want to go back again. the location and sitting are very cramped unless you book in advance. The San choo bow, steamed dimmies with fresh chilli my favourite.. I love to go back again and again..

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasty Magic Chinese restuarant also viewed

Hope Island, Gold Coast
 

Been to Tasty Magic Chinese restuarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasty Magic Chinese restuarant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.