We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort to your Saves list
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Manor Circle | Sanctuary Cove, Hope Island, Queensland 4212, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hope Island
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A nice place to stay, the wildlife around the place is great,
The heated pool and attached spa at 7am was a welcome bonus after a big night down at the marina. The staff were all very accommodating and the hotel bar itself was very good and full of people. the rooms were private and well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mark T,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us recently and then taking the time to share your comments.

So pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay and had the opportunity to enjoy both our facilities and the Marine Village.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back.

Best wishes,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    188
    77
    24
    8
See reviews for
135
169
15
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Good location, rooms good. Bar staff could have been more friendly. Shopping at the village was great, get a discount card from the main desk (which we found out on the last day). Service at breakfast a little slow and hot food in morning was cold.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Heine1,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently. I do apologise that not all aspects of your stay were perfect and I have shared your feedback with my department leaders.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you are visiting the Gold Coast.

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Sanctuary Cove for 4 nights. Our experience couldn't have been better. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a better room without asking. We had an issue with our bar fridge which was sorted out quickly and efficiently. Our room was in a quiet location near Sanctuary Cove itself.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are in a good position however we got one near Sanctuary Cove which was great beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Pieter d,

What a delight to read your review! We are so thrilled that your experience with us was perfect and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you both back next time you are visiting the Gold Coast.

Thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts.

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed with our son at Sanctuary Cove. Even though it was winter we could swim because of the heated pool. The lagoon beach was fabulous for sunbathing and apart from the hotel there were stacks of bars and eateries at the nearby marina which had a very happening vibe. We had a suite which was nice and roomy and didn't cost the earth. Our son had the sofa bed which was no problem. There were 2 TVs. :). Easy walk across to the buffet breakfast, which our son said he dreamed of the second night there, as the first time was so good! The king bed was amaaaaaazing; the landscaped gardens were impeccably looked after and with all the fountains, the view from the pool looking back towards the main building was reminiscent of a modern day Versailles. Truly a great place to stay. We especially loved the Club Room drinks and afternoon tea. It was so peaceful and relaxing there and a nice break from the Surfers Paradise scene. A real holiday. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Suzy2000,

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us recently and for your time in posting this detailed review, we do appreciate your feedback and I have shared your thoughts with my team.

It sounds like you experienced many of our fabulous facilities as well as the lovely Marine Village adjacent to the resort.

We do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again.

Kindest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Love staying at this truly beautiful hotel. Once you are there, the rooms are huge as are the grounds. The main hotel area is wonderful, the pools and dining areas just fantastic. Have been there on business, but would be brilliant for families. It is just a short 1 minute stroll and you are in the exotic Sanctuary Cove retail area, with many restaurants to chose from. Well worth trying this lovely hotel

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Flashmen,

Thanks so much for your loyalty to our beautiful resort and thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of looking after you again next visit.

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was such an amazing experience! The grounds are literally Sanctuary like in many ways. The only way in, a mile long peninsula. The flora was almost prehistoric to this California Convert. The Fauna felt like residing in a private Zoo. I have never seen so many species of birds at my door. The Kangaroos watched me as I passed without worry. One was even posing on it's side as I composed my cell phone portrait. The Clouds blew me away. Daily sky shows of tropical humid thermals battling the perfect 68f coastal breeze could not be beat.
It was a much needed getaway and I got paid for working while I was staying at the Cove.
I even left my iPod and they shipped it to California without question.

Room Tip: Anywhere is great. They have plenty of helpful guys to shuttle you and heavy gear wherever you scor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Matt_Sersion,

I am so pleased to read of your recent experience with us. Sanctuary Cove is certainly a unique and special destination and I am thrilled that you had the opportunity to ''meet'' some of our resort fauna.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back if your travel / work finds you in this part of the world again.

Best wishes,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Can't fault this place, everything was excellent. Special mention to the breakfast buffet that was the best i have been to in Australia!

Everything is available at this place and the stuff are more than willing to help. Can't wait to head back there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Deanis2014,

What a fabulous review! Thanks so much for taking the time to post your thoughts following your recent stay with us.

My culinary team were so pleased that you enjoyed our Cove Café breakfast buffet so much. I do agree it is pretty awesome!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort

Address: Manor Circle | Sanctuary Cove, Hope Island, Queensland 4212, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Hope Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hope Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort is inspired by the grandeur of a beautiful Queenslander offering an elegant and stylish timeless design. Set in beautiful surrounds the pristine white sands of the resorts famous one acre salt-water beach lagoon pool is the backdrop to a resort filled with relaxation and sophistication. Escape to a world of comfort, style, luxury and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove Hotel Gold Coast
Hyatt Regency Gold Coast
Hyatt Gold Coast
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort Hope Island, Gold Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.