We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Manor Circle | Sanctuary Cove, Hope Island, Queensland 4212, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Hope Island
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We have been going here for 21years now and we still love going. Now my friends and family love it as well. You must get Regency club and a room near the swimming pool area which is also near the quaint village scene.Georges Paragon has halfprice lunches and dinners so its very well known in the area. One can hire a buggy from the village' have Bellinis by the pool; shop for fabulous clothes; or just sit on your balcony and relax and do crosswords; waiting for 5.30 to arrive when you can go to the regency club and have your choice of wine with salmon hor d'oevres cheese and so on If you feel like going to Dreamworld; Movieworld which is nearby. Staff are fantastic

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
On behalf of the Management and staff here at Hyatt Regency Sanctaury Cove we say thank you for being such loyal customers and returning year on year for 21 years - you must have some wonderful memories.
Thank you for your review and we only hope that your family & friends will have as good a time as you have over the years.
And yes Regency Club is a must! Canapes and beverages such a great way to finish the day!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    158
    70
    24
    6
See reviews for
121
142
12
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This elegant Queenslander-style resort is delightful. The grounds feature beautiful gardens and native bush areas to attract a wide range of colourful birdlife. The salt water lagoon pool is a picture, but too cold in July for swimming. Fortunately, there's a large, heated outdoor pool and a roomy spa pool for the children to cavort in. Rooms are a decent size - we bunked up with our 9 & 13 year old sons in a twin room, which had 2 double beds. Our room was nice but a bit dated-looking, tidy and clean, with good housekeeping. It will be nice when they upgrade the beds and pillow choices though. Staff are all helpful and friendly, if a tad impersonal, and will give you a golf buggy ride anywhere local. Check in was easy, and the clerk proactively suggested a breakfast package upgrade special that was great value. The buffet breakfast is good, and served well in an elegant environment - and the teapots contain real leaf tea! Downside: room service dinners (we sampled 8 between us) were awful. The pasta dishes looked mass produced, defrosted & microwaved, and tasted no better. Overall, a lovely stay, very close to major theme parks, free guest parking, plenty of eat-out options nearby. I'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
On behalf of the Management and staff ,thank you for your review of our beautiful resort.
We are so glad that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you especially for your honest review of our Room Service menu these comments will be passed onto our Executive Chef for review.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nambour
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here for one night on the spur of the moment. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. We had dinner at The Fireplace Restaurant and it was delicious. It the best salmon i have tasted and my partner said the same about the steak. The staff were also really helpful. Our room was lovely and clean although we could have done with more pillows (there were no spare ones to be found). Even though we only had one night i felt thouroughly spoiled and relaxed afterwards :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
We love that you stayed on the spur of the moment and thank you for your wonderful review.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your overnight stay and experienced so much in a short time.
We look forward to welcoming you back so that you can really soak up the atmosphere of Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Our family (2 adults and 3 children aged 11, 10 and 7) stayed as accompanying persons for a conference. Driving into the resort is very impressive with a grand driveway and beautifully manicured gardens. Our suite (Queeenslander suite) was very dated with an old fashioned floorpla) and view over building site. Bathrooms were dated with cracked tiles and not overly clean. Nontheless housekeeping were very attentive and replaced towels and tidied up our kids mess! (put their discarded clothes in piles, lined up shoes and placed their soft toys prominently on the beds). Breakfast buffet was excellent although got a bit busy due to the conference. The pool area and bar was pleasant and catered for children and adults alike. I would not stay here again unless rooms were updated.

Room Tip: ask for view overlooking gardens or pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback and I have taken on board the detailed review of the Queenslander Suite and passed onto our Management team.
We appreciate the comments also about our wonderful staff and service and of course our breakfast buffet, where we always receive wonderful feedback.
We do hope in the near future that you will consider returning to Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove for a holiday based on our location, beautiful grounds and five star service.
Once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This place is the ultimate for people who want to relax and have a golfing holiday with it. The hotel is very elegant and so well maintained. The rooms are very large and spacious. It has as very gorgeous beach style pool and pool bar.

Upon arrival at the hotel you are driven by golf cart to your room with your bags as the resort is so large. The golf course is located about a 3 minute drive and it is an amazing golf course called Palm Cove.

You can walk along the back of the hotel and walk over to the marina to the main shops and town and view all the expensive boats and yachts.

My favourite part of this hotel was its restaurant called "The Fireplace". it has a vey homely feel to it and it has an open style kitchen where you can see the chefs hard at work. the food is very rustic and all cooked by an open fireplace. It is such as skill how they cook everything and the taste is sooooo good. I would definately recommend to try this restaurant if you are staying at this hotel or if you are in the vicinity.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we feel the same way you do about our beautiful resort.
Perfect for the ultimate relaxing holiday, or take a swing on The Palms or Pines golf course, sit by the beach lagoon pool, dine and shop in The Marine Village or visit theme parks.

Thank you again for you review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Went there for a conference. Not a bad hotel. However, the website and photos look nicer than actual. Hotel was starting to look a bit dated though not too bad still. Location was great with nice scenery. The room I had overlooks the marina.

Food was ordinary, nothing to shout about. Was a bit disappointed with the buffet breakfast selection, could do with more choices. Coffee was average and they have a stall at the restaurant selling "Victoria Coffee" for $4.50 if you don't like the one served with the buffet.

Service was excellent. Asked for direction to the shops and got a lift via golf cart instead!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, we are glad to hear the conference went well and that some aspects of your stay were positive and succesful, like your amazing view of the marina and our excellent service.
All feedback is great, so we were wondering when you said "the buffet could do with some more choices" we would love you to possibly give us your ideas of what you would of liked to have seen on our breakfast buffet.
Our chefs have been informed of your comments and once again thank you for staying with us and offering your views on our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Despite the number of cars in the car park, and the number of people at breakfast in the mornings, we rarely ran into people walking about the grounds of the resort. This gave it a really secluded feel, and made for a very peaceful weekend. The staff were very friendly and attentive, and the rooms were fresh and clean, with a great view over the water (from our room anyway!). I highly recommend booking the Club Regency package, as it includes happy hour (well, happy hour and a half) every night - drinks and nibbles in the lounge - that helps get your night off to a great start.

Room Tip: Book the Club Regency package
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Dear Julie
Thank you for your kind review and comments, we are so glad that you had a relaxing and peaceful weekend away, and yes the Regency Club Lounge is a wonderful way to add a little extra to a weekend escape.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort

Address: Manor Circle | Sanctuary Cove, Hope Island, Queensland 4212, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Hope Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Hope Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort is inspired by the grandeur of a beautiful Queenslander offering an elegant and stylish timeless design. Set in beautiful surrounds the pristine white sands of the resorts famous one acre salt-water beach lagoon pool is the backdrop to a resort filled with relaxation and sophistication. Escape to a world of comfort, style, luxury and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove Hotel Gold Coast
Hyatt Regency Gold Coast
Hyatt Gold Coast
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort Hope Island, Gold Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.