We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Rock” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Angus Bar and Grill

Black Angus Bar and Grill
46D The Promenade | Sanctuary Cove, Hope Island, Queensland 4212, Australia
7 55779712
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Hope Island
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hope Island, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hot Rock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My family enjoys Black Angus, but only mid-week when special prices are offered. Steaks and seafood offered on the hot rock plate is fresh and delicious cooked as you like! As mentioned prices are quite dear for food and wine. Unfortunately, upon reading wine menu I didn't see the 1 in front of the 50, turned out to be an expensive dinner! I still enjoy when in the mood for a good steak.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    56
    19
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Average Service, Quallity & Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were somewhat disappointed with our lunch here recently. Service was very slow and staff not attentive to patrons they had previously seated. We thought our lunch dishes of lamb, whilst quite tasty, were overcooked, not tender and not trimmed very well at all, requiring both of us to leave some of the meat as inedible. We considered the portion sizes were rather small for the price of the dish. We left feeling that the staff here didn't value our business and we probably will not return to the Black Angus on our next visit to Sanctuary Cove.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“BYO policy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

As long time residents of Sanctuary Cove we have we have been regular diners at Black Angus since it opened. Of late we have noticed that the restaurant is nowhere near as busy as previously. Last night, a Friday, it was barley 50% occupied. Chatting to friends and other residents it appears this is to do with the change in BYO policy . On booking I was told no BYO but when pushed was reluctantly told, as a resident, I could bring my own wine but at $15 corkage. Other restaurants in Sanctuary Cove charge only $5 corkage. It seems the management want to promote their own (over-priced) wines. Clearly this policy is not working. The food, ambience and service are all excellent but if patronage is to return the current BYO policy needs reviewing and brought in line with the other restaurants in the village. It would be a pity to see the restaurant close due to poor patronage.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fine by expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

At least this was open when we visited! Most of the other restaurants near-by were closed so we didn't have much of a choice. However, this wasn't a problem- the food was good (ribs and calamari) and the wine satisfactory. Not sure it was worth the cost but nonetheless, beggars can't be choosers!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Loved this place. Ate here 3 times on a 9 day holiday. The ribs were one of the best I had ever tasted. Service excellent.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Angus Bar and Grill also viewed

Hope Island, Gold Coast
Hope Island, Gold Coast
 

Been to Black Angus Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Angus Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.