We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, ordinary food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Surf Club

Palm Beach Surf Club
117 Jefferson Lane, Palm Beach, Queensland QLD 4221, Australia
+61 7 5534 2180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 46 Restaurants in Palm Beach
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great spot, ordinary food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

There are certain expectations of a surf club, and they don't run to Michelen Starred food, but sadly PB Surf Club just misses even Surf Club standard. They try hard, and they are in one of the best locations in the world, but it is always just a little ordinary.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    33
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Best service ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Only went in to buy some take away booze because the other liquor store was shut due to power outage. You need to have a membership to go in and buy bottles but they sign you up in no time and it's only $5 for a casual membership. Add this to the reasonably priced slabs of beer and you're on a winner. Didn't hang around too long but the food they were serving looked pretty swish and there are poker machines to play if you're that way inclined. BEST THING - the lovely people who work there!!!! They really help you get what you want. Lovely, lovely staff make it worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackenzie River,QLD
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

The food here is ok. Pub style meals done up a little. The staff are really lovely though and the cold beer and great views make this a worthwhile venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Due to horrible traffic, we didn't make our reservation in time, but the staff were flexible and happy to help. We placed out food orders and sat out on the patio. When our food arrived, I noticed my order was wrong. The server took my plate to mend the issue and returned shortly to say the item I ordered was now no longer available. I chose another dish from the menu. I expected to wait a long while to get my order, but my order was put on priority and came out in a few minutes. During the meal the manager (Joel, I believe) came out and apologized personally. He was professional and accommodating. The food was great, but I were honestly more appreciative of the service level. We left full and happy and welcomed to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Definitely wont be back here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch today with a friend here. As soon as we walked in the place smelt a mixture of salty water, urine & beer. It was gross! Went upstairs to the restaurant, it was lovely & cool out on the balcony. The waitresses & bar staff were friendly. The food was atrocious. I ordered a schnitzel with Bernaise sauce chips & salad. To be fair, the chips were nice, the rest was horrible. The chicken was really dry & over cooked, and the "sauce" was whipped butter in a gravy boat. I got my friend to try it in case I was wrong but unfortunately not. It was just butter, not Bernaise sauce. Ugh. I pulled out a piece of cucumber from the salad & it was all dried out also.
I told the waitress when she came over & she was apologetic. She spoke to the chef then offered me a piece of cake. Uh, no thanks. Money back would've been better, especially since I'd eaten next to nothing.
It's such a shame as the location is awesome right on the beach. Not going back tho.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Beach Surf Club also viewed

Palm Beach, Gold Coast
 
Palm Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Palm Beach Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Surf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.