We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We recently stayed using a Deals Voucher and we had a wonderful time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mermaid Beachside B&B

Mermaid Beachside B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mermaid Beachside B&B to your Saves list
Mermaid Beachside B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   115 Seagull Avenue, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“We recently stayed using a Deals Voucher and we had a wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The cheese platter & Moscato were a great start to our weekend away. Our room was most comfortable and well presented. We loved the fresh fruit salad each morning with our breakfast which Roz told us Michael made fresh each evening. We had some very interesting conversations with Roz at breakfast as we had holidayed in some of the same parts of the world. It was the best valued weekend away we have ever enjoyed

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We spent two nights on one of the Deals vouchers and could not believe the wonderful value for money we received. The room was clean, comfortable and private. Ros was a lovely host - breakfast was beautiful and we felt welcome.
Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed for 1 night and could not speak more highly of the accomodation and the delicious cooked breakfast (which was a very reasonable $10 extra) Roz was a very friendly and helpful host, we were made most welcome, just like a home away from home. Roz even offered us a complimentary glass of red wine on our evening arrival. .. a nice touch.
Our room was fresh, bright, clean and comfortable, we couldn't ask for more.
Thanks ever so much for everything Roz, your B & B is great value, we'll be back.

Room Tip: The Meditteranean Room was bright, fresh & clean and had a huge ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Ours was a last minutes decision. Needed to be close to the airport location. Looked good - so we booked the "English" room. Quiet -- few streets off main highway. One block to beach. En-Suite. Roz was most helpful. Facilities spotless. Terrific Rate..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I was really looking forward to our weekend away but it wasn't the experience I was expecting.
Although the room was nice (small but nice), we found that we weren't made to feel very welcome at all. The host (Roz) came across very rude, to the point that we didn't want to eat breakfast there so we went elsewhere for breakfast. We weren't shown how to use the air conditioning/heating and was also informed that we weren't allowed to drink our red wine in the room.
Was also very interesting that while we were out one day, we came back to find that our bed had been made. Ok so this is not a major thing, obviously they do daily housekeeping, but nothing else was done, rubbish bins weren't emptied and towels not replaced. This made me feel very uneasy.
Undercover carparking was also not available, we were told that it was currently being used for something else. Who knows what else, but we then had to park on the road which I wasn't too keen about as my car is only a couple of months old. Considering that the website states 'secure parking', this was not the case at all.
To be able to run a successful B&B you really need to have good people skills, something that is definitely lacking here.

Room Tip: Stay Elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seagull33, Owner at Mermaid Beachside B&B, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
In response to this review, I think these people are being very vindictive with their comment, they stayed here in May and I did a special deal for them for 2 nights for 5 rooms even though it was a long weekend, and I had put other people off to stay here, they were supposed to stay 2 nights in the 5 rooms, one couple only stayed one night and when 1 person wanted that room I suppose I was a little upset when he complained he had to change rooms and didn't want to use the same sheets, the rooms that had allication to them they got all wrong and then they told me they only wanted 1 night for 2 rooms,they smoked and drank the whole weekend, didn't even come to breakfast the 1st day, didn't let me know and then made this rude comment 3 months down the tract again which does not look good on tripadviser!! I think this comment should be removed as it was not done with a last minute site and this does not look good for me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We had a lovely room, decorated to represent the Mediterranean. I was pleasantly surprised about the decor. The rooms are all themed and each was distinctive without being over the top. We had our own bathroom and a balcony over-looking the pool. We also had the use of the downstairs areas.
The owner was very helpful and gave us some local information such as what was on at the local movies and how to get to the closest restaurants. She was away in the morning but she made sure we still got a nice cooked breakfast.
We didn't have time to get to the beach but we enjoyed the area. A nice spot.

Room Tip: Rooms are themed so it depends on your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed via a 2 night deal from Deals.com.au. We should have known better based on the price which was very cheap. Our room was a bare 3x4m with access to a two way ensuite we had to share with 2 other rooms and their guests! This is the first B&B we have ever stayed at that did not have its own private ensuite and bathroom. For a newly wed couple looking for a great weekend away this was a major shock! We ended up getting on to wotif.com.au and quickly finding an alternate location to stay, and we were very glad we did, salvaging our weekend and having a lovely time NOT at GCB&B. Buyer beware!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mermaid Beachside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Beachside B&B

Address: 115 Seagull Avenue, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mermaid Beachside B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Mermaid Beachside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Beachside B&B Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermaid Beachside B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.