We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel to your Saves list
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   2395 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
1 review
“First class Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Had flight from airport cancelled due to weather and with this being 24hours open, were very grateful to get accommo late in evening. Very clean room and so comfortable king bed for great sleep. Up early to go back for flight and had most fantastic coffee and wrap at their coffee shop at 5-30a.m. Thoroughly recommended and great price, with very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are pleased we could help you out when your flight was cancelled. We have onsite manager at all times, thus allowing 24hour check in without booking ahead.
Our coffee shop is new and all registered guests making purchases at the shop will receive a discount.
We endeavour to provide a comfortable, clean room for any guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    5
    4
    11
See reviews for
12
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We chose this location because of the prices slightly further north. We found it had really good value and the walk up the beach was great exercise. When we wanted, it was easy enough to catch a local bus up the road.

This location has strict rules on noise after 9:30 pm. There's also a small pool out front. Overall, a good place for families and/or those who appreciate the beach without getting trapped into a beach party.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the ground floor and others up a flight of stairs. I imagine they're all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us this month. We aim to offer affordable budget clean and comfortable accommodation for everyone.
The beach at the end of the street is most inviting to everyone and such a short walk.
We look forward to your future return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, QLD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The stay was let down not by the water stains on the roof or the toilet that leaked water when you flush or the 1990 special TV. It was waking in the morning to find a long random hair on my neck that belonged to neither myself or my wife. This could likely be from whoever made the bed and didn't tie their hair up but it also could have been from unclean sheets soiled from another cheap skate. Do yourself the favor spend the extra. Also the highway is very noisy at night.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are sorry that your experience was not as you thought it might be.
We encourage all guests to report anything such as marks on the roof as we may have been able to rectify by organising a tradesman at the time. Also our laundry comes from a laundry facility on the gold coast, and at rare times it can have a problem as it is industrial and not quality checked as it leaves so our apoligies that in this case the hair was not observed prior to your arrival.
The traffic noise is minimal except for during the major holiday season DEC/JAN and this is something we have no control of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed there on the 12th December, on the spur of the moment and were very pleased with both the quality of the property and the service we received. Our room was clean, comfortable and above the standard we expected for the price we paid. Remember you are on the highway so there is a little noise but no worse than any property in a similar location. I would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.
Our new coffee and juice bar is now trading from 5.30am daily except christmas day sorry we didnt get it open for your stay but maybe on your return visit you will be able to sample the beautiful choices available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed 5th Nov and were worried after reading previous recent reviews, but were very pleasantly surprised with how big and clean our room was and the king bed so comfortable. There was no noise from the room they are converting to a coffee shop as most of work seems completed and we certainly look forward to returning when it is up and running as great location on way to beach. Staff couldnt have been friendlier so very happy with stay.

Room Tip: rooms on ground floor better if you dont like climbing a few stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review, we at all times strive to offer all guests a comfortable and pleasant stay,.
We are certainly looking forward to your return and hope you enjoy our new coffee shop when operating very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

this place is a dump, me my husband and three kids booked in for 1 night,carpet was discusting hole in bathroom wall, shower mouldy and grotty, batroom door didnt stay closed, beds were hard,drunks in room next door, walked in stayed for ten minutes and left. didnt care about not getting money refunded, wouldnt even let my horse stay there for a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Some guest expectations can be higher at time of booking either by the type of room or the motel itself. We are a budget motel and our rooms are clean and comfortable and if that is not the case when you check in please let us know so that we can fix the problem. Other guests enjoying their afternoon time when you arrive may be misunderstood. We do not allow excessive noise at any time as to disrupt other guests nor do we allow any guests to be disruptive with their behaviour to others when bought to our attention,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Worst motel ever stayed in was there for six days with my disabled wife and 5other adults had construction going on in room next to ours at 7am in morning every day unit was dirty smoke detector wasn't on roof was in cupboard just laying there staff arrogant if your thinking of motel on Gold Coast steer clear of this one carpets dirty rusted fridge just unclean all round asked for fresh towels to be told we would get some Tuesday we got there sat shocking experiance

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We value all responses, as most of our regular returning guests are aware we do have some renovations under way and this can be a little disruptive to some guests but we only allow work to take place after the regulatory time start and finish time.
This has caused some surfaces to be disturbed temporarily which we apologize to all our guests.
Our policy is please bring any issues to management attention immediately so it can be dealt with so if there is something not working let us know and if you find an issue such as the smoke detector in this case let the office know so that it can be rectified.
Please check websites for our linen change policies, as all staff are happy to assist all guests at any time. 24 hours management in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel

Address: 2395 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel is a family owned motel in the heart of the Gold Coast region situated approx half an hour from the Gold Coast Domestic/International Airport and within a short 5 min drive to Surfers Paradise. Approx 50 metres from the Mermaid Beach with many great restaurants within walking distance and public transport is easy to catch with bus stops only metres from the entrance. Theme parks are within easy access via public transport or we can arrange shuttle pick up. Local supermarkets nearby for your shopping needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel Gold Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.