We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bar in Australia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cambus Wallace

The Cambus Wallace
4/2237 Gold Coast Hway | Nobby Beach, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia
+61 7 5575 3420
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 75 Restaurants in Mermaid Beach
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Cambus Wallace set sail from mid winter Glastonbury, Scotland 1894. Carrying a payload of fine Scotch, Beer and explosives she set sail on her Maiden voyage destined for the Queensland Gold mines. She would Never make it. After an arduous 3 months at sea, The CW finally made it into Queensland waters. It was here tradgedy struck. On Sept 3 at 3.30 am in a cyclonic storm, she ran aground the shores of Stradbroke Island, spilling her cargo into the Pacific and taking the lives of five crew with her. The Wreck now rests due east of Jumpinpin bar.
Lille, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best bar in Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I've been traveling around, having a glass here and there, and this bar in Nobby beach is my best pick ! Hidden tiny place, once you push the door, you won't be disappointed: awesome style, great selection of drinks, from a pricey rum to a classic beer (they got little creature, one of my favorite beer) with a good food menu (tapas style, not expensive), this place is the kind of bar you wanna make your local. Great staff as well !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sibiu
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Its a nice bar, looks very private with the doors closed but its very cosy inside.
Great for going out with a group of friends. Music was ok but not loud at all.
It has a 'european' look and vibe.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best on the Coast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been here a few times, and every time I have come in the staff are so nice! the food and drinks are amazing and the overall vibe is just awesome! I had to plan my partners surprise party here and they were nothing but accommodating and just wanted to help where they could. Ended up having the best night and I recommend this place to everyone I know! Love it <3

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must visit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great mix of people, great selection of drinks and food to die for!! The Cambus Wallace is the kind of venue that has been missing from the Gold Coast and i'll definitely make my local.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Funky Wine Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I love Cambus Wallace, it's a unique bar at Nobby Beach. The staff are friendly. You need to visit this bar if you're on the coast to experience this unique part of paradise.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cambus Wallace also viewed

Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast
Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast
 
Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to The Cambus Wallace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cambus Wallace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.