We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GO ELSEWHERE !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Turtle Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Mermaid Beach
sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GO ELSEWHERE !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

If you have to pay upfront don't stay here,the apartments are privately owned and management run,once you have paid and have a problem you will not get your money refunded.
We booked in April 2008,we went to stay in Feb.2009,(Having stayed here in Nov 1994)the apartments were supposed to be being refurbished ,so we thought we would get one ,no chance ,what we did get was ..brown stains on the carpet, a dirty filthy couch ,lime encrusted electric kettle,a table lamp with its shade ripped off ,hidden in the wardrobe,curtains too short in the bedroom and two dead flies in the fridge.
When we complained to the Assistant Manager she said,we could have a free service on the room.this was not much better.we told her we were leaving and wanted a refund(this was after the first night out of seven ,we only stayed that night because of our evening arrival time).
The Assistant Manager told us the money was in a trust fund belonging to the owners of the apartments, and would not get a refund,we left anyway.
We have reported the resort to the Fair Trading department and the star rating body in Melbourne.This is definitely not 4.5 star accommodation.....

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTSManager, Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2009
Always disappointed to hear we appear to have fallen short of our guest expectations. I would always welcome feedback and appreciate the opportunity to respond.
Sands Turtle Beach Resort was built in 2001, now being an eight year old product. We have very supportive owners with most having already refurbished their investment apartments. All apartment carpets and sofas were replaced in 2008. Our new web site has 360 degree photos of our apartments. We also have 10% of our apartment stock at an Executive Level which provides a corporate environment within a family focussed resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    180
    93
    44
    37
See reviews for
383
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We stayed at the Turtle Beach resort with friends.
The Turtle Beach resort is on the opposite side of the Gold Coast Highway to the beach meaning you have to cross a very busy road in order to get to the beach. Also about a 5 min drive to Pacific Fair and 10 mins to Central Surfers Paradise.
Overall the resort had great pools, a movie theatre, mini golf and was low rise. The Resort is set in huge lushious and well kept grounds with plenty of trees and shrubs.
The staff seemed good and the food in the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We had a two bedroom unit on the 3rd floor (stair access only). Room was ok. Cooking utensils not cleaned. The pools were cleaned and maintained everyday and kid friendly. There are two restaurants at the resort - would recommend the pizza very nice. Public transport right out the front, however as its on the highway it gets very busy, particulary if you are wanting to go to the beach which is 5-10 minute walk. Beach is very clean and suitable for families. Our biggest disappointment was that our room was broken into and some belongings were stolen. Management seemed very helpful in the beginning however that all stopped once we returned back to Victoria.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTSManager, Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2009
The Gold Coast provides the idyllic environment to holiday; the sun, the sand and a world of entertainment. Unfortunately, there is a criminal element that does exist and holiday makers are targeted. Sands Turtle Beach Resort welcomed the support of its Body Corporate with the install of an electronic proximity lock system throughout the apartments and common areas in September 2008. They also provide the funds for onsite security outside of reception hours. Whilst a deterrent, we continue to make all attempts to ensure guests remain alert and secure valuables, lock doors and windows and keep personal items out of sight. It is unfortunate to hear that, despite all efforts, our guests are still impacted by criminal activity. We do offer support on the property and would continue to assist police with any enquiry. We are, however, not in a position to cover for lost guest property and would highly recommend all guests ensure their travel insurance is current and that they bring only essential valuables with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a 2-bedroom apartment for the 1st week in April. Weather not great while we were there, rained a lot, but still warm. The room was clean and showed very little signs of wear. The lounge chairs were replaced with new cushions while we were there as were the bedspreads. Very nice, good quality ones that will wear well. We were impressed with the security (you need to carry your keycard everywhere so you can access room, stairwells, gates, etc). Never heard any traffic noise though sitting on the balcony at night you could hear neighbours and people walking past so not quiet then but this was not a biggie.
We had one meal at the Rainforest Cafe and enjoyed it. Friendly staff and lovely fresh food, You could tell it was cooked fresh on the premises and not just reheated and served up to you.
Internet was a little expensive but we often ate breakfast at the MacDonalds close by in Broadbeach and they had free wifi.
The size of the resort surprised me. I had not expected it to be quite so large, but we quickly found our way around.
Also had a couple of meals at the Pizza place on site and this was very nice and good value for money.

Friendly people at both the on-site convenience store and reception. Ivan, the security guy who gave us our key when we checked in after reception had closed was lovely and happy to answer all questions. He gave very good concise directions as to how to find our room which given the size of the resort and the fact it was in the dark was appreciated!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adeliade
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

This place was very good value for money. Nice self contained appartments with a nice cafe and pizza bar. You also could use many of the BBQ's on hand and enjoy mini golf or a swim in many of the pools on the location. We really enjoyed ourselves. Despite many young kids running around the place we had a nice quiet room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Our Family have 2 Adults & 3 children under 10 have just returned from a 2 week stay at The Sands - Turtle Beach resort , I am pleased that I did not read to much into some of the " not so great reviews ", The resort is " FANTASTIC " nice apartments , great Pools very helpful satff and most importantly very children friendly and secure , swipe card access required on all gates etc.

The Location was great on the gold Coast Highway 10 mins to Surfers and as many restrauants as you wanted all along the Hight recommended for a cheap meal is the "Souvlaki Hut " Opposite " the resort in and row of various shops Baskin Robbins , Sushi , little shop for shopping essentials , as the Hotel Conveince store is very expensive.

All in All a Fantastic time was had by us and we can't wait to visit again.

Thanks Turtle Beach.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

Really i think that turtle beach should undersell on the internet, because it totally killed my impressions of what i was going to receive when i got there....
so called 4.5 star resort!
From my experience at turtle beach resort the day we arrived in reception we were greeted by some of the most unfriendly & unhelpfull staff who could not care less about the business and its guests (they were more worried about their upcomming weekend). Arriving after 2pm it took us 35 mins to get in the room from reception which was a complete joke! to say the least. When we finaly got to the room after the mass of stairs to which there is no lift in the whole resort (beware!!) - We found the room to be only half cleaned, both bathrooms were not so clean as one would think & the stains on the carpets made the furniture look good!! Cooking utencils/cutlery looked as though they had not been washed/cleaned or checked for months. However we did manage to make the most of a shonky appartment i understand that these place are furnished by the individual owners and each to their own with style, but this unit had no charm what so ever! I would advise other travelers to stay away from sands Turtle beach resort.
definatley not a 4.5 star rating.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a 10 acre sub-tropical oasis, located at Mermaid Beach on Queensland’s famous Gold Coast. Truly a home away from home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments. From the moment you are welcomed in the tropical setting of our open-air reception area, you know your family is in for a new level of holiday fun. Imagine you and your family enjoying lagoons and lap pools, pool slide, floodlit tennis courts, a putt-putt course, children’s playgrounds, fitness room, arcade games rooms, a resort mini cinema and several dining options. Other facilities include 9 complimentary BBQ’s, private airport and theme park shuttle buses, a fully equipped tour desk and the Club Turtle Kids Club. Over past years, Turtle Beach Resort has won state and nationwide awards: Top 4-Star and Over Resort and Top 10 Family Resorts in Australia, Holidays with Kids; Deluxe Accommodation finalist, Tourism Australia Awards; Deluxe Accommodation winner, Tourism QLD Awards; Winner Certificate of Excellence Award 2012, Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.