We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for self catering families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Turtle Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Mermaid Beach
Hawkes Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good for self catering families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroomed superior apartment on the 2nd floor, spacious but a bit outdated. Great kitchen well equipped with full oven and microwave, ideal for making your own meals.
BBQ area's are scattered around the resort although we didn't use one!

Room cleanliness was disappointing with two beer bottles full of fag ends left on the balcony from the last occupant. Why they let people smoke at a family resort baffles me! Soap only no toiletries, but everything else is provided, a single use of dishwash, coffee/tea, and laundry powder. The apartments are only serviced after 9 days of staying so it was nice to have a washing machine and drier to wash towels etc. Beware though you have to hire beach/pool towels at a cost of $5 per towel.

Our kids loved the kids pool and spent many an hour going down the slide. The resort was relatively quiet being the end of August and outside of school holidays. We didn't use the other pools.

We used the secure underground car park which was great. The surrounding grounds were well kept and tidy. We played one game of mini putt which was good fun working your way around the resort. We didn't use the tennis courts, cinema or kids club.

We had takeaways from the Woodfired Pizza restaurant which is onsite and they were delicious and great value.

Staff at reception were extremely friendly and very helpful. Overall we enjoyed our stay and felt it was good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Willbi
Thank you for your great review on your stay at Turtle Beach Resort. We are certainly geared to the self-catering market and I am pleased to see that we met your expectations.
We are gradually upgrading our apartments to remove the out-dated cane furniture. As a strata titled property we require individual owner approval for each apartment which can sometimes be a long process. Next time you stay with us, try a Superior Room and you will notice a more modern feel.
I have notified our Housekeeping Department regarding the cleanliness of your room on arrival so as to ensure our standards are maintained at a higher level; I apologies for this oversight. To further expand on your comments regarding the mid stay servicing – if you stay 9 nights, your service will occur on day 4 or 5 not after the 9th night. If you stay 11 nights, your service will be on night 5 or 6. Regardless of length of stay, your apartment will always be serviced a minimum of every 7 days.
Thanks again for your great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    180
    93
    44
    37
See reviews for
385
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Apartment was spacious and great for family. Children's play pool was closed for maintenance for most of the holiday with only a very small area appropriate for toddlers. Other pools which (including main featured kids pool) with water slide too deep. Pizza restaurant was great and pizza delicious. Overall this would be great for older kids, ours are 2 and 4 years of age. Kids club not available to younger ones. Room cleanliness was disappointing with objects from last occupant still in the apartment. Not cleaned well during mid holiday clean. Staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. Overall we really enjoyed our stay but will go back when our kids are a bit older so we can enjoy all the facilities.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the third floor overlooking a pool with balcony at front and rear with harbour vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear 432Karen
Thanks for your review.
We will certainly keep an eye out for you in a few years’ time.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 7 nights in a ground floor superior 2 bd apartment.
Apartment was spacious but extremely dark and noisy ( every time someone came up the stairs or peed in the toilet we could hear it)
Place needed a good clean and update. Reported cleaning issues to reception who said that they would send housekeeping up, this never happened.
1 towel each for a week, only 1 bar if soap per bathroom. Beds were so hard that we ended up folding out the couch and sleeping on that.
Wouldn't recommend staying here if u have little babies.. Trying to bring things up stairs is a nightmare. Games room is underneath the complex in car park area.. Way too dangerous to let the kids go off and play.
2 Pools were closed and we weren't notified. Restaurant was barely open, when we did go down there for a meal we were told that they were closing (7pm on sat night) because it was quiet. Waited in cafe for over 30 mins to order, ended up leaving, seems cook was serving as well as cooking and many people, like us, took business elsewhere. Free Wi fi worked sometimes depending on the day.
The resort was Too far to walk to the beach and not really close to anything unless you have a car. Would never stay here again. There are much better accommodation options out there for the same price. This place was tacky and crowded. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Ebonyjt
We are extremely appreciative that you have taken the time to review your stay with us and I am happy to respond.
Our Executive Housekeeper and Reception Manager have both been sent your review for follow up, as the lack of response to your cleaning issues is certainly not acceptable and requires further action. As the Resort is not categorised as serviced style of apartment, we do not supply all of the amenities you would find in a such an apartment complex or a hotel, allowing us to reduce prices slightly to our consumers, and by providing washing machines, dryers and clothes airers in each apartment, guests are able to launder their towelling each day if they wish.
We are lucky enough to have four separate pool areas, so the emergency closure of one during a time of low occupancy we did not believe would impact on our guests, but I apologise if you felt it was an inconvenience. Due to the nature of the work and the time frame given, we were not able to contact all of our guests in time for their arrival.
During times of low occupancies our Restaurants may alter their trading hours at the last minute; however our café is open every day at a minimum for breakfast and lunch, with our Pizzeria open each evening. There are also some fabulous restaurants and cafes less than one block walking distance that offer great alternatives to our guests.
I would certainly recommend the option of guaranteeing a ground floor apartment when travelling with small children as we do not have lifts in the complex and when the Reservations Team is made aware of children’s ages we will always attempt to allocate the lowers floors for little ones, so as to make access easier.
I can certainly understand that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and I can only thank you for your honesty and feedback. We are aware that our location does not suit all parties and hope that your next trip away is relaxing and enjoyable.
Thank you again.
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We visited with two primary aged kids and a toddler. It is a great spot with kids, but I can also easily imagine staying here without children, there is a lot of space, the apartments are quiet, and there is even an over 18yo pool and spa pool. It has everything really - putt putt golf courses scattered all throughout the resort, bbqs free to use all over the resort, playgrounds, tennis, and lots of pools and spa pools.
We asked for a ground floor room and were lucky enough to have one overlooking a playground so it was lovely for the kids to be able to wander outside and be easily viewable by us sitting on our patio.
Soap only no toiletries, but everything else is provided, a single use of dishwash, coffee/tea, laundry powder, linen & bathtowels. Bring your own beach towels and extra of dishwash/laundry powder etc, but really there is everything you need - even right down to a folding clothes rack to hang wet swimwear out on. There is plenty of crockery/cutlery etc, even things to use on the bbqs - which is handy as we weren't planning on bbqing, thought we would go out, but with so many bbqs scattered around there is bound to be one near your room and the smell of everyone else bbqing made us decide we needed to too.
Free wifi was a drawcard for us, one of our kids loved the putt putt golf (but wished he'd brought his own tennis racquet when he saw the courts), the other loved the cinema, which plays four movies throughout the day.
The apartment we had (2 bedrooms, sleeps 6) was far larger and nicer than we were expecting for the price we paid. A television in the master bedroom (as well as lounge) was a nice surprise. Beds were comfy, kitchen well equipped, two bathrooms one with a bath and the other with an awesome shower, an incredible amount of storage cupboards all through the apartment. We didn't use the restaurant or cafe on site but if we were staying longer we would have, great idea to not need to leave. There's good yum cha just down the road.
The only downside I can think of is that the shower door in the master ensuite was broken. But that is IT - this resort is really doing it right, a lovely place to stay with a family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sarah
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. You have certainly highlighted some of the best features of the Resort and I am so pleased that you and your family had such a great time.
I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Resort on another occasion.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We recently stayed for 8 nights & were hoping it would be a great place to stay with our 2 kids but it didn't live up to our expectations.

For starters the main kids pool & playground was closed the entire length of our stay (which we just discovered upon arrival). The other pool was so cool we could only be in it for a short while. The limited poolside seating & space made it impossible for us to relax poolside anyway. The second playground is so small it is ridiculous to call it a playground. Despite being a big resort there is barely any free space around the property, so kicking a ball or throwing a frisbee was not an option. Because of the GC Highway divide its also quite a walk to the beach (particularly for a 3 year old).

Our superior 2bdr apartment was ok but not up to what I would expect for 4.5 star. We had ground floor apartment thankfully. As per others comments, this place has stairs everywhere so if you have a pram, the ground floor is a must. Our apartment didn't allow any natural light so we constantly had the lights and even heater on, which I guess would be ok if you stayed in the high of summer, but for us it just made it dark and cold. One set of towels for the entire week was also a bit gross.

On the plus side, check in and out was a breeze. The tennis courts are in great condition and our apartment was always nice & quiet. The adults pool looks great, a few extra degrees in the pool and spa would have seen us spend more time in there though. There is a public bus stop out the front with regular services to everywhere. Also handy to have convenience shop as well as fruit and butcher shop nearby.

Would like to see the resort encourage recycling, was surprised and disappointed that it didn't.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor apartment if travelling with young kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Kben100
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and especially for letting us know where we have fallen short of your expectations. Your feedback is shared with all of our department heads so that we can be assured of staying on top of our guest requirements.
I apologise that you were disappointed by the closure of one of our Resort pools. Emergency works were required by the council to remove dangerously tilting palm trees in the pool area. Unfortunately we were not given much notice of this work and were only able to contact those guests who had made bookings directly with us and whose contact details were on file. We are however, lucky enough to have 3 other pool areas which all of our guests were able to be accommodated in during this time.
I am pleased to hear that the ground floor apartment suited your needs and I agree, with small children, this can certainly be a good option. Regarding the lack of light in the room, I can understand your comments as we do have wonderful lush gardens throughout the Resort. In summer, the ground floor apartments are a beautifully cool escape from the harsh sun, however if the vegetation was removed during winter unfortunately they would not be so.
As a fully self-contained apartment complex, we do only supply the one set of linen and towelling unless you stay 10 nights or more. The beauty is, however all of our apartments have washing machines and dryers which are very convenient and easy to use and we would certainly encourage all of our guests to make use of these facilities should you require them.
Previous reviewers have mentioned the lack of recycling in the Resort but I am more than happy to respond again. Unfortunately after lengthy trials of recycling in the grounds, it was abandoned due to inconsiderate guests placing general garbage in the recycling bins. The council, as a result were unable to pick up our recycling and it ended up in the general waste. It was the few, spoiling for the majority which is often the case. We will continue to consider the option though as we would certainly like to do our part for the environment.
Kben100, thank you again for your time and we would certainly welcome you back should you wish to stay with us again.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here in a superior 2 bedroom apartment on the top floor, no lifts but preferred the top for to the bottom floors as more privacy. Great place when you have children. Great range of swimming pools, playgrounds and a trampoline. There was mini golf, tennis and a kids club. There were charges for this but it was worth it! The beach was about a 5 minute walk away and cheesecake shop just around the corner to spoil yourself. You didn't even need to leave the resort for the day as there was so much to do. Good idea to get some groceries at a supermarket as there are a few convenience stores around but quite pricy and not much of a range. Quite a few bbq's scattered around the resort as well so that's quite handy. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Upstair rooms more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Lalita L
Great to hear you had such a wonderful stay and we certainly hope to be able to welcome you back again.
Thank you so much for your great review.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed with my husband and 4 year old in a one bedroom apartment. The pull out bed was suitable for my son and 2 tvs in apartment made for easy viewing for us once our son had gone to bed. Great facilities and staff always v approachable at front desk. I wouldn't hesitate recommending to others with families. Resort also large enough to not be dominated by children through out.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hi KatAuckland
Thanks so much for your lovely review.
I am so pleased to hear that one-bedroom apartment suited your family so perfectly and you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a 10 acre sub-tropical oasis, located at Mermaid Beach on Queensland’s famous Gold Coast. Truly a home away from home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments. From the moment you are welcomed in the tropical setting of our open-air reception area, you know your family is in for a new level of holiday fun. Imagine you and your family enjoying lagoons and lap pools, pool slide, floodlit tennis courts, a putt-putt course, children’s playgrounds, fitness room, arcade games rooms, a resort mini cinema and several dining options. Other facilities include 9 complimentary BBQ’s, private airport and theme park shuttle buses, a fully equipped tour desk and the Club Turtle Kids Club. Over past years, Turtle Beach Resort has won state and nationwide awards: Top 4-Star and Over Resort and Top 10 Family Resorts in Australia, Holidays with Kids; Deluxe Accommodation finalist, Tourism Australia Awards; Deluxe Accommodation winner, Tourism QLD Awards; Winner Certificate of Excellence Award 2012, Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.