We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Beach Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Murray Bridge, South Australia, Australia
1 review
“Enjoyable Holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Turtle Beach Resort for 7 nights in May 2013, our unit 203 was on the ground floor which was nice with 3 children, however we found the unit to be quite smelly with alot of the curtains having mould on the back of them, also the dishwasher did not work from the time we got there and was not fixed by the time we left and all the beds need replacing badly as they were very uncomfortable. I was lucky enough to see 2 of the other units in the complex & found them to be alot more light, bright & modern than ours so fel a little disappointed with the one we were in. Having said all of that I found all staff members (especially Craig I think his name was on reception & Ivan (security) that helped us to our room to be exceptionally helpful & friendly and would not hesitate to stay at the resort for our next holiday, the gardens & grounds were immaculate & the pizzas were to die for, as for the cafe chef she too was excellent but the staff helping her were not. I look forward to my next holiday there but will make sure i ask for a different apartment next time! Oh & the guy that drives the transfer bus needs to smile more!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Shani
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback and will do our best to address any areas you felt were not up to scratch. May was a very wet month on the Gold Coast and as a result of this and some very high occupancies in our ground floor apartments, our housekeeping staff have advised that there was some difficulties with ensuring that the lower floor apartments were given enough time to air adequately. Being on the ground floor, these apartments also receive less sun that the higher floors due to the lush vegetation on the property, which is why you will have noticed some of the higher floors were lighter and brighter. I have advised our maintenance team of the problems you had with the bedding. Bedding can sometimes be a personal preference, however we will have it checked and if it requires replacement then we will be happy to advise the owner of the apartment. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, I will be sure that they are forwarded on. We look forward to welcoming you back next time, and please feel free to request a particular room or area of the Resort and we will do our best to assist you.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    241
    108
    45
    41
See reviews for
494
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and I found it to be quite central to all locations especially with a bus stop out the front. The room was clean and very roomy but I found the furniture in the lounge room to be uncomfortable really needs updating.
The rest of the unit though was modern. We really did not get time to take full advantage of all of the facilities as we were out a lot but did find it to be very private and secure.
However the stairs posed a problem with our luggage.
The staff at reception were very friendly however the staff at the rainforest cafe was a different story.
We went there 3 days in a row for breaky and the girls that were serving all 3 days had no hustle in their step , did not work well under pressure and were uninterested in the customer they were actually painful to watch, and this was a different girl every day with the same attitude. The lady chef was fantastic multi tasking and doing the girls jobs for them! I do believe the actual accommodation is worth the money with everything you need either on the complex or nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Hollyk109
Thank you for staying at Turtle Beach Resort and for taking the time to review our property.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree that our location is definitely a positive and we work to ensure our security is optimal. In regards to your comments about the room furniture, we are constantly upgrading our apartments and at the moment are replacing lounges with new modern leather ones. It is an ongoing process and requires individual apartment owner approval; however comments such as yours can assist us in speeding up this process. I have passed on your comments, both positive and negative, to our Food and Beverage Manager for his review. Our new chefs are certainly leading the way with their attitudes and skill level and it is disappointing to hear that on your visits to the restaurants, the floor staff did show a similar attitude.
Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed for a total of 8 nights. Rooms are a bit dated. Mould on the walls in the main bedroom, curtains in the kids room faded and mouldy. Apartment was stale smelling and needed to be aired every time we came back. Cracks in the tiles in the on-suite shower. Up and down the stairs was annoying, access cards had to be carried at all times otherwise you couldn't get anywhere. Pools nice but the spas were so pumped up with chlorine especially the adult spa, it was overpowering and we had to get out after a few minutes. Stairwells extremely noisy, neighbours kids played in them and it was like a herd of elephants was in your room. Games room has access from the car park which is quite dangerous. The resort is also located too far from the theme parks. Suggest staying around Southport if you are coming to the Gold Coast for that purpose. On a positive note the staff are friendly and there was a nice welcome pack of eggs, bacon, cereal, milk when we arrived.

Room Tip: Request ground floor room.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Jodie C, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our property. Whilst we understand that we will not always hit the mark, we appreciate the opportunity you have given us to check our procedures. I hope you were able to mention your room faults on check out so that we could address them; with nearly 300 apartments we recognise that some things may be inadvertently missed and appreciate feedback. I agree, that it can be an inconvenience carrying access cards at the Resort, however the security of our guests is of utmost importance and with so many children around, we need to ensure that this remain a priority.
Unfortunately we are unable to monitor children in the stairwells and look to parental guidance in this regard.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the chlorine levels in the pools. As a result of these types of comments, we are currently looking at the viability of introducing a non-chlorine system to our pools. We hope that this will also allow those with allergies and asthma issues to feel more at ease.
Compared to other larger cities, a 30-40 minute drive to theme parks from our Resort will seem only a short jump, and with our direct shuttle bus service, we have found that travel times need not be a struggle for our guests. Our location delivers the best of both worlds, being so close to a myriad of other attractions, and we hope that our guests come to the Gold Coast for more than just the theme parks.
I appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and would look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Melanie Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Last weekend, the 11th and 12th of May, we stayed in a two bedroom apartment at Turtle Beach Resort.

We were welcomed with warmth, and were able to check into our accommodation early which was great. It was also excellent that our request to stay in a room near our family members was considered and we were put in the room across the hall from them. This was extremely convenient and we appreciated the attention to our request.
Despite the rainy weekend, our children enjoyed the use of the great pools and slide, plus the great Mini-Golf course dotted around the resort.

On Saturday we endeavoured to eat at the Cafe - however, it was very busy, the line was long, and it looked as though the person cooking was also the person serving - so, we went elsewhere.

On Sunday morning, before we were due to check out, we decided to try the Cafe again and have breakfast. This turned out to be a mistake. We ordered our food just before 9:30am, giving us enough time to eat and check out. There were four of us and we ordered 2 kids pancake stacks, one big breakfast and one mixed grill, plus a coffee. The coffee came out after about 10 minutes which was good, and we assumed the food wouldn't be too far behind.

After waiting 45 minutes until 10:15, I enquired with the wait staff as to how long our meals would be. We have two children, 5 and 7, who were getting very restless and hungry!!

Five minutes later, one of the pancake stacks arrived, with no explanation as to why it was so late. We then had to wait a further 10 minutes before getting the rest of our food - again with no explanation or apology.

After waiting almost an hour for food (and the coffee long since drunk) I was terribly disappointed to find the pancakes burnt - almost to the point of being inedible. Furthermore, my scrambled eggs were microwaved! The mixed grill wasn't much better.

I was angry that we had waited so long with no apology or explanation, that our food was sub-standard (to the point that my older child couldn't eat a lot of her meal) and that to add insult to injury we had to pay over $50 for this experience.

It was a terrible and disappointing end to a weekend that had been so nice up until that point.

I mentioned this to the reception staff at check out, and she was most apologetic. She told me that she hoped it wouldn't put us off staying there again. I said it wouldn't, but after consideration I doubt we will be staying at Turtle Beach Resort again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, Food and Beverage Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Simone, please see following a response forwarded by the Food and Beverage Manager, Phil Pollock, for publication.

I am very disappointed you had a poor experience in the Rainforest Café on Sunday as we have excellent chefs, wait staff and food. As mentioned to you in email immediately following your contacting me it is our intention to give every guest a wonderful experience from the time you arrive through to your departure. I have spoken with the chef on duty last Sunday and she does not recall any complaint regarding burnt pancakes, as she would have remade them instantly for you.

Please accept my sincere apology and be assured of our commitment to offering exceptional service to every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights, Awesome place to stay, kids had a blast, service great, room 233 was nice and clean with plenty of room for the family. Beach is a 2min walk and right next to shops, restaurants etc. will definately be returning cant wait! Highly recommended for a place to relax with the family.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Thc41yf, Thanks so much for a wonderful review on our property. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great resort if you have families and great apartments, three pools, tennis courts and crazy golf, 9 bbq areas fantastic!! You do not need to higher a car as you can walk to a large shopping complex. Beach 5 min walk from Turtle beach. Kids eat free on two nights at the resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear 107claire, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort on another occasion.
Kind regards
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed with our two children in early April and had a great time.The multiple pools insured we always had lots of choices where we or the kids wanted to be. The water slide was a real winner with the children.The woodfired pizza was fantastic , really quick and a good location as we could watch the kids in the pool from the table.Our room was a nice size and really handy to have a washing machine and drier.We would differnitely come back here. Our son also left some books behind and the staff went out of their way to find them and get them back to us.Its nice and close to Pacific Fair for shopping and has a store on site which is really great.The kids also really liked the mini golf and the cinema overall great family resort to keep the kids easily entertained or to relax in between theme parks.

Room Tip: We liked out top floor apartment but if you dont like stairs you may want to book a ground floor apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear mlsoak, Thank you for your 5 star review!! You have definitely highlighted some of the best features at our Resort and we hope to be able to welcome you back again. Kind regards Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a 10 acre sub-tropical oasis, located at Mermaid Beach on Queensland’s famous Gold Coast. Truly a home away from home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments. From the moment you are welcomed in the tropical setting of our open-air reception area, you know your family is in for a new level of holiday fun. Imagine you and your family enjoying lagoons and lap pools, pool slide, floodlit tennis courts, a putt-putt course, children’s playgrounds, fitness room, arcade games rooms, a resort mini cinema and several dining options. Other facilities include 9 complimentary BBQ’s, private airport and theme park shuttle buses, a fully equipped tour desk and the Club Turtle Kids Club. Over past years, Turtle Beach Resort has won state and nationwide awards: Top 4-Star and Over Resort and Top 10 Family Resorts in Australia, Holidays with Kids; Deluxe Accommodation finalist, Tourism Australia Awards; Deluxe Accommodation winner, Tourism QLD Awards; Winner Certificate of Excellence Award 2012, Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.