We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach to your Saves list
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach
2595 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
1 review
“Great value with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Modern interiors, great locality & friendly staff, even though I some how managed to reverse over their sign and crumple the pole, which was integral to the structure of the sign.
Enjoyed the stay and will return with replacement poles and spare witches hats.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
25
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Tropicana doesn't look like much when you pull into the carpark but its rooms are modern, clean and pleasant. The staff were courteous and warm. Its location was ideal for trips to the beach (away from the fuss of Surfers) and very close to public transport. There was very little noise from the highway in the room I stayed in and though each room faces onto the motor-court, the rooms are private. I will return next time I need a place to stay over night.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway would be better in terms of avoiding traffic noise. It was convenient be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

we stayed in a more expensive hotel the night before ,we had to pay for parking and internet ,we loved tropicana it was cheap and close to everything with modern rooms .we know where to come next time.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwicatz, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you sincerely for your review - we try very hard to keep our property looking good, and we appreiacte all feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I stopped by here late one night having ended up in the Gold Coast a night earlier than planned. It looked like an ok place to sleep, so I checked in. It was right across the road from the Pacific Fair shopping centre, and the light rail runs just in front of the motel.

There is free parking in the motel carpark (just outside the rooms) so that was handy. Casino is just a short walk away, as are a few restaurants for a bite. Broadbeach central area is a very short drive (2-3 mins), or a long stroll (20-25 mins).

Rooms are surprisingly clean and bright, and looks like it was refurbished fairly recently. Room also comes with a microwave, kettle, and some basic cutlery and crockery. Really not too bad for $80.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review, and apologies that we fell short on the service aspect. Come again sometime and let us show what we can do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We recently had a weekend at this hotel. The service was friendly and helpful. The rooms adequate and clean, it is very conveniently located to Casino, Pacific Fair and Draculas. We drove in parked and were able to walk to everything we wanted. There is also light rail station across the road which runs up to Surfers, Southport and the Uni. The rates were very reasonable. The only issue is the traffic noise due to it's position and layout.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review. We're sorry you found the traffic a problem, seems some do and some don't. If you come again, ask us about a quiet room, we have some regulars who think some rooms are quieter than others - we haven't slept in all the rooms, but we do live on the premises in the part nearest to the highway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We booked into the Tropicana for three nights following our return from Kuala Lumpur to the Gold Coast airport. We had no trouble catching a bus from the airport to close to the motel for a pittance compared to a taxi. The new Cold Coast light rail station at Broadbeach South is quite close to this motel. A patrolled beach is within easy walking distance and there are a couple of reasonable cafes with good coffee nearby. This is an old motel but the room were in (3) had been 100% refurbished and was as new. The only very slight drawback was that we requested twin beds which meant there was little room for the other furniture. A single double bed would give more space. We booked well ahead got a good rate. Wi Fi is free for the first day and I think something like $6 day after that.
We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hello
Thank you taking the time to review which so helps us in keeping abreast of or customers requirements.
Sorry you don't like the twin beds - that is actually the only room we have with twin beds - all others have a queen sized bed, or we have 2 rooms with a queen and a single (obviously bigger rooms)
so perhaps choose one of those if you come again.
Thank you for taking the time to review.
Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerveyBay Qld
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed here whilst on business at nearby Pacific Fair. We didn't want to have to drive to the venue after 4 hours driving already and were delighted to find such reasonable accommodation. Also close enough to walk to restaurants and Casino. An added bonus was the new Gold Coast tram across the road -- a great way to hop into Surfers.Our room had modern decor and was very clean with plenty of storage should you need it. Modern super clean bathroom with a big shower. It was surprisingly v. quiet and with a friendly helpful manager what more do you need?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwicatz, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you Teliai for your lovely review - you'll make the man bigheaded!!
Lovely to meet you and hope we see you again soon.
Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach

Address: 2595 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicana Motel is Completely Refurbished,All rooms have a Microwave,Toaster,Tea,Coffee facilities,Reverse Cycle Air-con.Across the Highway from Pacific Fair Shopping Centre,Short walk to Jupiters Casino,Dracula`s,Convention Centre,and Broadbeach Shopping and Dining Centre. FOXTEL available FREE in all rooms with a wide screen TV. Beach is 200metres walk away. WIFI free for first 100mb. Laundry service available - pls check with Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach Gold Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.