We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD BUT CLEAN” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Active Stays Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Active Stays Motel to your Saves list
Active Stays Motel
2481 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OLD BUT CLEAN”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

we also purchesed a Scoopon voucher as did all the other people in these reviews.
for $125 we got 2 nights accom breakfast and bottle of wine cheese platter and 4 x vouches for activities

The Motel was old but very clean (i didn't look for a bit of dust in the cornor as someone else did) the room is small but is only for sleeping its not made to spend the whole day there.

the vouches for putt putt were good and no trouble with them

its close to the restraunts, local shops and to the beach which we walked there often

the only thing i have to complain about is the noise from the highway at night time, but nothing can really be done about it.

I can not comment on breakfast as we had prior breakfast engagements so did not take them up on the offer

if your looking for somewhere cheap and clean to sleep, active stays is quite good.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    9
    3
    26
See reviews for
7
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Well, we're another Scoopon sucker. This place is terrible. Their photos are misleading, cheese platter a JOKE and we need to go find a chiropractor because we endured the worst sleep ever thanks to their quality mattresses. The air con doesn't function properly and all we got was a lousy bed in a tiny room. We're going home early, so much for a nice weekend away...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We purchased two SCOOPON vouchers for this hotel, and decided to use them after a a very hard year as a well deserved break.
The way the accomodation was advertised on SCOOPON was so different to the reality.
We had booked two rooms and were told that as our daughter had her own room this would be a twin room, there was no inter leading door it was separate.
On arrival the cheese platter was a joke, served on a small plastic plate very different to how it was advertised.
The room was dingy, not fresh, didn't feel clean and the shower and toilet was terrible. We checked out half an hour after arriving. We paid $250.00 for this deal, for the same price we could have stayed at an upmarket resort. Will never be taken in by vouchers again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

had the joy of staying at this motel using a scoopon voucher,was clean and comfy and very handy to all gold coast attractions would def be staying again staff were nice and helpful,some cooking facilities would of been handy but its is surronded by restaurants so was able to find eateries easy

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011 via mobile

Purchase 2 nights accommodation via a Scoopon Deal marketing Active Stays as some sort of retreat. Such a horrible motel we chevked out early. Rooms are SMALL and dusty, no security doors when located in a dodgey- looking area (XXX shop & Hooters across the road), conyinental breakfast was cornflakes, fruit cup and stale bread, poor TV reception, smoking neigjbours in a supposedly "fully non smoking" facility, nasty pug dog in grass area growling at my kids on bed belongs to their cleaner! Everything in room was old from TV to cheap stool in room to the broken sliding door to ensuite. "wine & cheese platter" on arrival was a joke including the mouldy looking olives. Was so horrible!!! Everyone should stay away. Only dtay if u are deperate for accommodation!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Active Stays Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Active Stays Motel

Address: 2481 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Active Stays provides budget accommodation for runners, cyclists, surfers, life savers or anyone else looking to participate or spectate in the wide range of sports and activities available on the Gold Coast. Offering exceptional value, our rooms are priced on the basis of the earlier you book, the less you pay and periods of high demand such as school holidays cost more than less popular periods. We have 19 clean, comfortable, air-conditioned rooms only 300 metres from Mermaid Beach and are close to major shopping, sporting and entertainment venues. Active Stays is fully non-smoking and we have a limited number of pet-friendly and family rooms. Guest parking, continental breakfast & WiFi internet are all available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Active Stays Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Active Stays Motel Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Active Stays Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.