We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - BUT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Classic Motel

Classic Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Classic Motel to your Saves list
Classic Motel
2429 Gold Coast Hwy | (cnr William St), Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value - BUT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Can’t disagree with all the positive comments preceding; clean cheap etc. Perfect for what we wanted, attending a friend’s birthday party and this was within walking distance. Big positives for motel of this cost was free Wi-Fi and a number of free Foxtel channels.
However a few words of caution, whilst clean and tidy a number of items were in a marginal state of repair– stool fell apart when moved, bathroom door would not close, power points appeared overloaded and similar.
Also be prepared for the staff, a mixture of Bates Motel and Deliverance. We had an issue when the sound on our TV failed (about 7pm), went to reception and reported and was met with the response “so you expect me to fix it” and then became antagonistic when I said of course. Note he did come down and pulled and pushed a few connection and fixed it – I would expect more good luck than anything.
I would repeat, good value and if you are just looking for a bed. Notwithstanding the negatives above we would differently consider staying there again for the same circumstances.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as a stopover on the way to Bribie Island.
Disappointed room not ready at appointed check in time after long hot drive.
Managers very nice and friendly.
Room dark and small. Very basically equipped with jug and fridge.
Out of the hustle and bustle of Surfers but short drive only to all attractions of Gold Coast.
Plenty of Restaurants including Sizzler and Pancakes on the Rocks within walking distance.
Pool was great, only small but clean.
BBQ for guest use in Pool area.
To access from South you have to turn right off main highway as cannot turn into street due to Pedestrian barriers and travel along narrow back lane before turning left back toward main road.
Traffic noise from Highway did not bother us and we were there peak holiday time.
Air con noisy, but always are in Motels, at least it had air con !!!!!
Overall, basic, but cheaper option good for short stays.
Would use it again.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms at the end away from Office may be larger but not sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. When we arrived at 6pm Billy greeted me with excellent service. He was so friendly and asked if we needed anything just ask. The room was great for 2 adults and 2 kids. Great value $120 a night. Could not have asked for better service. Thanks Billy. The only thing is the curtain is thin an lets the outside light in a bit. Had a couple of great nights sleep and felt very refreshed for the long drive home. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived here late on a very rainy night after checking out of a filthy motel in Palm Beach. The gentleman was very helpful late at night - The room was average and the vents in the bathroom need a good clean as do the carpets - overall good place for a stopover.
Cheers

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Positive: Mermaid Beach is a nice Gold Coast location for a quieter holiday, being a little out of the main action but still a short bus ride or slightly longer walk to Broad Beach of Surfers. This motel is about five minutes walk from any shops or eating places, but these include convenience stores, several restaurants and bars. For groceries it is worth going a little further to the supermarket at Pacific Fair. The rooms are a decent size, with air conditioning and fans, and the bathrooms are very clean. There is a small pool available for guest use. The beach is about five minutes walk away. Wifi is free but the signal was pretty poor in the room we were in, but usable.
Negative: The rooms are minimally equipped, more in line with a hotel room, offering tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge only. The rooms are quite dark and a little dingy feeling, although perfectly clean. This motel is on the main Gold Coast Highway and there is a reasonable level of road noise. While this establishment was one of the cheaper we could find when we booked it was still quite expensive for the facilities it offered. It is a very basic motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewantin, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our second stay at the Classic Motel was just as good as the first. As I don't drive, a full day on the Goldy plus the hike to & from the Sunshine Coast is a bit much so this is perfect for when we need a bed whilst going down to the theme parks etc. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. A real pleasure to stay here again. We will continue to stay here for our one night stop overs :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked a room at Classic Motel via Booking.com from UK as we are to spend 6 weeks travelling around in Australia. We needed a place to stay to shake off the jet leg and Classic Motel was just what we needed. We liked the price and the impeccable service we received from the managers. The room was vey clean. We could park our rental car just outside our motel room door. We will definitely stay here again before we fly back to the UK.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Classic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Motel

Address: 2429 Gold Coast Hwy | (cnr William St), Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Classic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Motel Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classic Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.