We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you see is not what you always get” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift On The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Spindrift On The Beach to your Saves list
Spindrift On The Beach
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   37 Albatross Ave, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What you see is not what you always get”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Booked a 3 day break for my wife and I,Booked what was described as a OCEANVIEW 2b/r unit.
complete with displayed photo showing views to the north and south and most importantly the OCEAN.(looked fantastic)
We are pensioners both in our late 70s and were really looking forward to our little break
We collected our keys from the safe and went to our designated room.
This was not the room I had seen advertised on the net.
To my left the only view was a dirty black covered asbestos roof followed by more roofs so you
could not see any view towards Surfers Paradise,
See to the South towards Burleigh heads entailed leaning over the balcony and hoping you were
not going to upset your neighbour when you poked your head around.
I requested a different room (this had to be relayed to the manager by phone as it appeared we
were now operating out of hrs (Time 2.30pm approx.) reply came "cannot do anything at the moment I will see you at reception in the morning at 9 am) end of conversation, over 19hrs to wait to be told what.????
We informed Tina who was the telephone backup that we were not going to stay the night and
would seek alternative accommodation elsewhere and speak to management the following morn
I contacted the hotel manager the following morn.
His reply was You ordered a Oceanview 2 bedroom and that is what you got
When I pointed out that the room I had been shown on the net clearly showed a A/C unit on the
wall he replied "how do you know that is a air conditioner we do not advertise A/c"
I replied because it is clearly shown in the photograph that you have displayed on your site.
there appeared to be a pause so I jumped in and asked about a refund.
There will not be a refund
This manager had all the replies off pat,leaving no doubt that he was well rehearsed in this area
of complaints.
I informed him that we would have to go to a dispute resolution with my bank,
His reply "yeah do that"
I have since found out that he was only a matter of metres away from where I was during the
attempt to get a room change,but he decided to have me and my wife wait over 19hrs so he
could tell me the following morning whatever it was you could not tell me there and then.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Unfortunately this is sad day for the integrity of review system. Mr Bond booked online believing he had booked an Oceanfront apartment and despite our best efforts to clearly show he had in fact booked an Oceanview "All with magnificent oceanviews" and the fact he was actually in one of the Oceanview apartment with picture as advertised online and didn't have an Oceanfront we could move him too, he became impossible to rationalize with and treated our staff with utmost contempt. He did not stay the night nor was he charged. We do not advertise air conditioning and for the life of me cannot find a photo showing air conditioning. Very upsetting thanks Mr Bond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    27
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Spindrift On The Beach is an excellent, mainly self-serve, apartment block with very helpful, friendly staff. Fronting onto Knobby Beach (which has its own Surf Club), the Spindrift is only two blocks from Knobby Beach Shopping Area (30+ shops and restaurants) which provides a variety of eating options from breakfast to dinner. It has good, internal-access, secure, underground parking for one car for each apartment and buses to all parts of the Gold Coast are catchable at the Shopping Area. The room rates were excellent value for money. I shall have no hesitation re-booking there on my next visit and shall be strongly recommending the Spindrift to family, friends and colleagues visiting the Gold Coast in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms high up on the North side maximise sun and views (including of the beach).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The 'free' Wifi was frustrating - only one device could logon at any one time; the signal was very weak (Room 316); devices kept getting disconnected; each time a device was disconnected we needed to go through the whole login process again to re-connect; there was also a quota based on number of days (though we didn't exceed it). We generally found Internet connections in Australia to be 'primitive' and expensive. In Asia, most hotels provide free unlimited Wifi.

Otherwise, great views, great location - surf breaking on our doorstep literally (but too cold for me), kids loved the beachfront and (winter) cool soft sand, nice to be close to cute shops on the main road, nice neighbourhood - love the feel, enjoyed our time at the surf life-saving club (free membership for hotel guests), convenient basement carpark, close to big surf/skate gear shop - Local Knowledge.

We stayed a week but our unit was never cleaned - wasn't it supposed to be a service apt?

We would return. We are prepared to suffer the terrible Internet connections. Would definitely return to this neighbourhood - away from noisy Surfers but close to amenities at Broadbeach. Hope owners improve the Wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hi Dawn,
Thank you for your email and I will definitely pass on your feedback to owners who currently pay for the complimentary wireless in the building for guests. I confirm there is only a limit on download usage but no time frame or time limit and can last guests weeks/months and is offered and ideal for checking email and surfing the net. Unfortunately downloading large files like video etc will use up complimentary wireless very quickly. Dawn I have also checked your booking and confirm no service is undertaken on stays of 7 nights or less as we are fully self contained and not serviced apartments. However if guest does stay 8 or more nights we do supply fresh linen around the middle of the stay e.g 14 nights a guest will receive fresh lien on the 7th day. Thanks for staying and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The location is perfect, on the beach with views over the ocean and towards surfer,s paradise. The apartment on the third floor was very spacious and nicely furnished, very clean. The kitchen had everything you would need for cooking meals. The reception is very friendly and darren goes out of his way to help you. It is very good value for money and we loved it so much that we will come back.
Can recommend highly.

Room Tip: If possible book an oceanfront room on a higher level the view is absolutely wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel has a great location right on the beach, view fantastic, good security getting in the lift as you need a $125 (if you lose it) tag to swipe. Close to the Nobbys Beach Surf Club and other eateries etc. However the room is very average, the fittings, furniture etc. The back door onto the patio says ensure you lock as there are cat burglars but the lock doesn't work you need to juggle the security screen lock for awhile to get it to lock. The kitchen has a sign saying you must clean everything and pack it away before leaving otherwise a $30 charge will go onto your account. Which was funny as the place was not cleaned to an level that you would expect the drinking glasses had been washed but there was remnants of juice dried in, under the coffee table dirty even some sort of bead there and a lot of other areas you could tell the cleaner does not do. Oh and the bed is hard. Should be cheaper in price as location isn't everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, I have brought your review to the attention of our housekeeping staff to ensure this doesn't happen again. We certainly try our best to ensure any issue small or large are rectified and always really appreciate guests letting us straight away so we can rectify the problem immediately rather than finding our later in a review. We like guests to be safe and secure hence our excellent security record and we do our best to remind them of this. If the issue with the lock was brought to our attention we would have fixed or helped out straight away, unfortunately as I'm not sure when you stayed or apartment you stayed in this does make it allot harder. We do ask all guests to respect and leave rooms in a clean and tidy condition unfortunately this is not always the case so we along with the majority of apartment buildings help remind guests of this by making them aware of an additional cleaning charge. For a 3.5 star property on the beach I do believe we offer excellent value
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were pleased to be able to check in early. Our apartment on the 5th floor (room 22) initially looked nice but that soon changed. Although the kitchen was well equipped, the fridge was wonky (one foot propped up) and the kettle shabby and needed replacing. Some of the walls needed attention with painting, cleaning and corrosion and overloading of the multibox behind the TV was a worry. There was only one small blow heater to heat the whole apartment and coffee(?) slops up the wardrobe doors in the main bedroom. Toiletries consisted of one bar of soap for each of the two bathrooms and ONE small tube of shampoo for three people. The biggest issue for us was that the window in the second bedroom (where our young child was to sleep) had about a 1cm gap around much of it meaning it was cold, noisy from the sea, not security safe but most of all the latch was wobbly and loose as the part it closes over was missing. As it could easily open and there were no security stays, the wide open window was unacceptable. The junior owner said he could move us to another room the next day as there was no free rooms that day. Then the senior owner arrived to look at the window and said nobody had ever complained before (see review by reg2ride opposite); he didn't see what the fuss was about but said he would get someone to seal the window up. His demeanour was abrupt, angry, rude and quite aggressive. He became quite challenging and when we said we might check out early (we had booked a week), his opinion was basically 'please yourself we don't care what you do' and said we would have to give one day's notice. Having worked in the tourism industry in Australia, New Zealand and the UK, we found this quite unbelievable and totally unprofessional. Also, there were loads of spider webs behind the single beds headboards in our child's room. On reporting this to reception at the same time as the window, the cleaner was sent up - a rather abrupt looking man who muttered under his breath ... "cobwebs, cheeky bast***s". We managed to find another 'beautiful' apartment so checked out the same day even though we had to pay for that night that we weren't staying - a costly experience as were charged the daily rate, therefore A$440 for actually only one night's stay. This was a real shame as the holiday was for a special occasion and it certainly put a sour note in our holiday. The pool and spa looked nice - right on the beach - what a shame we didn't get to try it out!

Room Tip: If you are a 'walk-in' carefully inspect the room. If you are booking from afar/over the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, sorry if you were unsatisfied with your stay. As discussed the small issue with the window was arranged straight away to be fixed the same day (Saturday) you reported while I had also offered to move you however you confirmed you had already found cheaper accommodation at Burlegh Heads. Both housekeeping and maintenace were sent in the meantime to inspect the apartment for spider webs and assess windows to show we are proactive when issues are brought to our attention. It was confirmed in your presence that no spider webs were found and no other issues were reported except now on Tripadvisor which is regretful because if there is ever additional problems then we certainly would have attended to these and hope it is not because you were charge the full rate based on only staying one night. As explained this is because we had given you a rate based on 1 weeks stay and in line with what we advertise for a 1 night stay $250. We did re-let the apartment on Monday to REG2RIDE who confirmed window was fixed and had a great stay in the same apartment. Complimentary starter toiletries are provided in both bathrooms and sorry if you felt this was insufficient or not what you were expecting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived early , everything was straight forward , the apartment was clean, The Kitchen had anything that one could possibly want from a cake slice to a measuring cup it was clean. The view was wonderful and it was very sleep inducing to hear the ocean.
We were pleasantly surprised to find that the pool was not only heated but actually hot in the spa area. I liked the fact that I was able to keep our hire car securely under the building and not out on the street.
The next door Surf life saving club was 2 doors up. Shops and restaurants are about 5 mins walk
Spindrift is value for money you can't in our experience go wrong and we totally recommend it to you.

Room Tip: You will get what you pay for , if you ask for absolute beach front that's what you will get , i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift On The Beach

Address: 37 Albatross Ave, Mermaid Beach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spindrift On The Beach…..any closer and you’re in the water! Absolute Beachfront! No roads to cross! No noisy traffic! Sit on your balcony and watch the whales go by! (June to November). Soak in the pool or spa and gaze out to sea. designated bike and walking track past door from Burleigh Heads to Surfers Paradise and Miles of Surf,Sand,Sun and Fun. Beachfront heated pool, Beachfront BBQ area and Safe Parolled beach directly out the front. Next to Nobby's Beach Surf Life Saving Club with restaurant & Bar (Guest receive free membership)Wlk to Nobby's Beach shopping Village with Cafes, Restaurants, Shops and public transport. Free Tour Desk Service. 2km to Major Shopping Centre of and Broadbeach Convention Centre. 30 minutes to theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spindrift On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift On The Beach Gold Coast/Mermaid Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.