We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment style accommodation at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsurfer Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windsurfer Resort to your Saves list
Windsurfer Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   452 Marine Parade, Biggera Waters, Queensland 4216, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct- 5% Off!!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Apartment style accommodation at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

My husband and I spent 7 nights at this resort for our honeymoon and enjoyed every minute! We stayed in an executive 1 bedroom apartment. It had everything you need from the kitchenette that is fully equipt and the bathroom with a washing machine and dryer! A large lcd tv was great with many foxtel channels on those days you just wanna relax! We had a small balcony which looked out over the broadwater which was a nice place to chill with a glass of wine! Peter and Kim the owners of this resort are very accommodating and are happy to book tours and buses to the theme parks for you! The pool and spa area is very good, it was exceptional for us as we were the only mad ones out their using the facilities as it was raining all the time!! It is not too far to walk to the local IGA, about 15 minutes and we even did this at night and felt very safe as it is mainly residential! There is a good Mexican restaurant in the plaza that the IGA is located called the Pickled Cactus fantastic food, great atmosphere, and very reasonable prices! The bus stop for all the transport to the Gold Coast etc is only a 5 - 10 minute walk away in Labrador! Casino is just a little bus trip away and at the main bar there, they make awesome cocktails at good prices! When we did venture into Surfers Paradise, we thanked our lucky stars we stayed at the Windsurfer out of the craziness of Surfers!! Surfers when not used to crazy places, felt a little intimidating and we felt very uneasy but upon saying that we did go there on New Years Eve day!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    21
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
32
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

we were late for check in, as plane was delayed, but that was no problem. Peter checked us in and we were all go. We had come for a wedding, my sister and her family thought they had booked in but found that they hadn't. Peter and Kim moved things around so they could stay.This was awesome. I was to do the flower arrangements for my nephews wedding, while talking to Kim about it, she said i could help my self to the flowers in their gardens. Have no problem with having to buy the soap, toilet rolls or anything else.....whats 60c or $1 gonna do. Would cost u more to drive to the shops and get them. This way u used what u wanted and nothing was wasted. Enjoyed my morning talks with Peter and Kim, was really great,luved that i could go for a walk evry morning. And about the beach across the road, nothing wrong with it. Our grandchildren came downfrom Brisbane for the day and really luved it. I would dearly love to return again and stay longer. I say a big UPS to Peter and Kim you guys or the bomb, and as we would say it here in Aotearoa MEAN MAORI MEAN!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nortampton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Stayed in a room on the first floor. The room itself was nicely furnished with modern furniture and well equiped - large flat screen TV, washer and drier. Spotlessly clean.

Thought the apartment itself was smaller than I expected, but ok for 2 of us. It seemed rather dark inside. The balcony was rather disappointing, it was set back from the one above, so we didn't get sun there. Underground secure parking was handy, with lift to inside.

The pool area was lovely. Smallish pool which was a sun trap in the morning, great terrace, with jacuzzi that was a sun trap in the afternoon.

Biggera Waters was really nice, much quieter than Surfer Paradise. Nice walk along the sea front. Few nice restaurants. Windsurfers is situated away from the main resort centre so it takes a good 15 minutes to walk to the restaurants. There is a supermarket but again a 15/20 minute walk.

A short car ride from the complex was Harbour Town which was a large shopping centre, which was well worth a trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Our family recently spent 10 days at the Windsurfer apartments staying in one of the family apartments. When I spoke with the Receptionist to make a reservation she explained that the apartments are clean and comfortable but not the flashest on the Gold Coast. Her honesty is very refreshing. The cost was a bonus for travelers with champagne taste and a beer budget! The apartment was more than comfortable with everything we needed for 2 adults and 2 kids. The location is fantastic. Calm water beach across the road, playgrounds and bus stops approxm 6 min walk along the beach or the foreshore. Buses are convenient and reasonably priced - Surfers Paradise is approx $5 per adult and takes 40 minutes with plenty to see on the journey. Travelling to the various theme parks is also very easy from Biggera Waters. Overall our holiday was very enjoyable, stress free and relaxing. The hotel managers are kind and helpful. We would certainly recommend Windsurfer as a great place for a reasonably priced holiday. We were given the opportunity of looking at one of the newly renovated 2 bedroom apartments - gorgeous. Keep up the good work with the renovation program.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Generally, the experience that our party had at the resort was generally pleasant; the check in process took little time and without much hassle, and the receptionist was quite friendly and helpful when approached for travel information.

For a small town like Gold Coast, I would say that the location was quite a distance away from the main centre Surfers Paradise. It took us about 10-15 minutes to arrive to the hotel from the town centre, and about 35-45 minutes away to the airport depending on traffic conditions. I've stayed in motels in more convenient locations whose price do not vary much from this resort. One plus point - the resort was located 3 minutes away from the large shopping centre Harbour Town.

The apartment in the resort itself, I would say is a slight upgrade from what you would call a motel. The room is generally clean with standard utilities, appliances and decoration. However I was left unsatisfied by the lack of carpeting in the living 'area'. We arrived during a rainy season and the coldness of the tiles definitely does not help warm us up. The room itself was also quite small, fitting a queen bed rather snugly.

Would I recommend this hotel? As a general answer, I would say try your luck somewhere else. But if you need an apartment where you could comfortably cook and do not mind the cold, need some beach front view (even if it was not a beach for surfing) and are not strapped for cash, you might want to consider this apartment.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

I booked a family apartment at the Windsurfer based on Tripadvisor reviews. Unfortunately, this was one of the few times this great site has steered me wrong.

The apartment is located quite a ways from Surfers' Paradise. It took us about half an hour by bus (and $30) for my family to get to the main beach. Bigerra Waters is quite a ways north of any main tourist area, which may be what some people actually want. I also found that the time it took us to walk to the grocery store (IGA) and restaurants was MUCH greater than what the hotel owners advertise. The hotel is in a primarily residential area and is across the street from "the beach." It's not really a beach but more of an inlet. I didn't see anyone actually near the water here.

My main beef with the place was that our room was HORRIBLY dated. It had the original carpet and curtains (c 1981) in teal, no less, in very old condition. The bedspreads were various shades of 80s mauve and flowered teal (clean, however). The thin, old carpet had not seen a vacuum on the stairs and along the walls for quite a while. I kept my shoes on whenever I walked around. The living room couches seemed clean but were extremely uncomfortable and out-of-style. The beds were comfortable but the room with the two twin beds lacked an air conditioner (only a fan on a stand) and got quite warm. The bathroom shower grout lines were disgusting and dark with mildew. Again, everything in the bathroom was very old-styled and dated.

We also felt that the management tried to nickel and dime us by not providing hand soap, shampoo and only a "starter roll" of toilet paper and one small container of dish soap. Anything more must be purchased from the front desk. Come on, no handsoap?

The outside gardens were lovely as was the (too cold to swim) pool. There was a hot tub as well but the temperature was set at only lightly warm. It could not be turned up. The jets were on a timer that was only accessed by getting out of the hot tub, climbing down the stairs, going around the fence and pushing the button. Not such a big deal except that the timer only allowed a maximum of about 3 minutes before it shut.off.

Our room had a nice balcony with a patio table and chairs. The apartment also had a small, stacked washer and dryer. Make sure you don't try to dry more than half of a regular wash load at a time or it will literally take hours to dry.

I saw photos of the remodeled units. If you get one of these and you are looking for a place far away from the tourist areas you will probably be happy as long as you ration the toilet paper....

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Myself and my partner stayed here for 3 weeks for our honeymoon during October and November 2010, so it was really our home away from home. We enjoyed our stay here so much that we ended up extending it an extra few days. Peter and Kim were such wonderful hosts, they recommended local places and even gave us a congratulatory gift of wine and chocolates on arrival. We stayed in a Broadwater Executive apartment which was on the top floor. The views were spectacular on each of our 3 balconies. The apartment had two levels. Bottom floor was entry/kitchen/dining/lounge/laundry plus two balconies. The top floor was the bedroom/bathroom and a large balcony with a couch and dining setting. The place was just fantastic! We really cannot recommend it enough! We will definitely be back to stay here for many years to come. We were also given a long term rate which made it very affordable to stay here. The resort has both a pool and spa which were great. The beach across the road is great for walks and is a gorgeous view 24/7. We slept with our doors and windows open every night (even though the rooms have Air Con) because the ocean breeze was just beautiful. The secure car park wasnt too hard to park a 4WD like most undercover parks usually are. Windsurfer is definitely one of the best places I've stayed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsurfer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsurfer Resort

Address: 452 Marine Parade, Biggera Waters, Queensland 4216, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Biggera Waters
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsurfer Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes from Surfers Paradise, yet nestled on the shores of the Broadwater in Biggera Waters Windsurfer Resort has all the Gold Coast has to offer within easy reach. Its central location means that you are just 15 minutes to any of the Coasts major tourist attractions. Seaworld to the south, Movieworld, Dreamworld and Wet n Wild to the north and just 50 minutes from Queenslands capital city, Brisbane.From the national parks and state forests to the rolling surf and beaches, there is something for everyone. A casual and relaxed lifestyle is easily achieved with the warm year round climate allowing you to laze around if you feel like doing absolutely nothing. World class attractions and entertainment provide a calendar packed with events such as the Armor All 600 Carnival, Australian Surf Life Saving Championships, to name a few. Whatever your choice, the gold coast has plenty to offer, even the most adventurous holiday maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Windsurfer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsurfer Resort Gold Coast/Biggera Waters

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsurfer Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.