We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation at its best with my Pooch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Coast Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tropical Coast Retreat to your Saves list
Tropical Coast Retreat
249 Duranbah Road | Kingscliff, Duranbah, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duranbah
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation at its best with my Pooch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Tropical Coast Retreat was my first holiday away with my new family member Pepper the Pooch and it was amazing. I thought it would be difficult with the dog but the retreats beautifully manicured grounds are so large he had plenty of space to run and I was able to secure him safely when I went out for dinner etc. Beaches are so close by and the pool is resort style - loved it and so peaceful. Will definitely be back and recommend to all my friends. Thanks Veronica and Rick for making my first holiday a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Only three suites and all are great choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
So good you had a good first experience with your pooch and that he enjoyed to grounds and the beach also the dam, what fun, thanks for you positive comments, Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Just a quick note to Thankyou for our lovely stay with you at Duranbah - it was very relaxing. The suite was perfect for our little family - the shower was amazing & the starlit spa as well as the rainforest bubbles were a dream. We especially liked the freedom for the dogs to be with us wherever we relaxed. Loved the al fresco massage also!!

The dog thrower is for your guests to enjoy the beautiful paddocks & exercise their puppies right on their own doorstep - this is a dream for any dog owner who lives on a normal house block! The other toys you loaned to us when we arrived. Thankyou!
We have passed on your website to 3 friends so far - all well behaved dog owners!
We will definately see you in the future, I am sure!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you, its always nice to make our guests holiday a good experience, look forward to seeing you again, Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Rooms were spacious, hosts very welcoming. A beautiful part of Oz, will definately be returning.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
So nice to have a golfer happy to use the golf course, we do take time to look after it and its a bonus when you get a vote of appreciation for your efforts, many thanks, hope to see you back soon, Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

The Retreat is situated on the end of an easterly spine off Duranbah Ridge – there is virtually no freeway noise as the freeway is in the valley on the western side of the ridge.

There are 3 units – the Pacific & Hinterland View units back onto each other and have a connecting door, the other unit is next to the owners’ house & we were told it is slightly smaller than the other 2 units. We stayed in the Hinterland View suite.

Positives:
• If you are in to spas, you would love this place as there is a spa in each unit, one by the pool and a large 3-4 person spa in each unit, one by the pool and a large 3-4 person spa with a roof over it, in a rainforest setting;
• There is aircon in the living area & a fan in the bedroom of each unit;
• There is a covered area with BBQ, table & chairs attached to each of the Hinterland & Pacific View suites;
• If you want to take your dogs, the Pacific View suite would be perfect as it is surrounded by a small fenced grassy area. The owners don’t mind pets in this unit but charge an extra cleaning fee;
• There is a short 4 hole golf course – clubs & balls provided;
• The pool is a good size;
• The hosts, Veronica & Rick, provided good tips on places to visit & restaurants to try;
• The property is only about 10 mins to Kingscliff or Tumbulgum & about 15 mins drive to Murwillumbah;
• The bed was very comfortable;
• There was a nightlight in the bathroom.

Negatives:
• If you expect a roomy unit for the tariff charged – you may be disappointed. The Hinterland View unit was, in our opinion, pokey. The Queen bed only just fitted into the bedroom with bedside drawers on each side. The built-in wardrobe was tiny.We could only partially unpack our suitcases and there was no-where to store them but the living room floor. Note that the Pacific View suite bed (king), bedroom & bathroom were bigger – living room same size.
• There were no iron and ironing board in either unit. We had to use our hosts – the same applies to the washing machine & dryer.
• Other than the sheets on the bed, there was only a microfiber blanket or doona. I would have expected a Cotton blanket (in summer) for the price.
• There was only a bar fridge – too small if you really want to self cater for more than a couple of days.
• The Hinterland View suite had no view – it was surrounded by bushes or privacy planking – so we felt the name was deceptive;
• The pool was not heated and always had a creepy crawler cleaner with attached hose, in it all the time;
• The wall and/or door between the Hinterland & Pacific View suites was too thin – we could hear almost every word our loud-ish neighbours were saying;
• There is a sofa bed in each of the Hinterland & Pacific View suites – we wouldn’t contemplate a 3rd person (where would you put their clothes?),unless a small child, because, as previously mentioned, we felt the units were too small.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
From the owner:
Thank you for your comments and suggestions regarding our property. As we take great pride in our efforts to make our guests' stay as comfortable and happy as possible, we regard your comments very seriously. We are committed to making sure our guests' needs in EVERY aspect of their stay, may that be tour advice, activities, dietary needs or comforts, are met.
We would have appreciated the opportunity to have discussed and resolved any issues with you at the time of your stay so that you too could have left with a totally positive holiday experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Just a beautiful place. A somewhat hidden treasure. Combination of resort, tropical paradise, bush and rainforest settings along with some casual/fun golf if you like. Great pool spa and sauna as well. definately will stay again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
So good that I have finally worked our how to do this successfully, many thanks for your comments and as you stayed in 2009, our gardens and rainforest are now unbelivable, really come on, you will be quite surprised I am sure, many thanks, Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Coast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Coast Retreat

Address: 249 Duranbah Road | Kingscliff, Duranbah, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Duranbah
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duranbah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Coast Retreat is a 35 acre Hinterland property in Australia, 15 mins from the Gold Coast Airport, coastal beaches, Coolangatta,Byron Bay and Kingscliff. 3 Luxury self contained, self catering suites with King or Queen spa en-suites, a 15 mtr pool, 4 hole golf course, rainforest sauna and theraputic spa in the Rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tropical Coast Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Coast Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.