We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domanis

Domanis
Shop 4, 18 Tedder Ave, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia
(07) 5571 0091
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 53 Restaurants in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Domani's Restaurant | Cafe | Bar | Tapas was established 1993. Domani's alfresco restaurant and bar is a centerpiece of the Gold Coast's premier dining strip.
BNE, AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We find this restaurant consistently good with a friendly efficient staff and the meals always great with variety and tasty temptations.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks for your continued patronage and your kind review! We are pleased to hear you enjoy your visits with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    67
    22
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“best breakfast on the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We love Domani's "early riser breakfast" it stands alone as the best breakfast on the coast, eggs any way, bacon, sausages, hash brown, tomatoe, baked beans and toast. They also make a fabulous Coffee. The staff are always lovely, there are plenty of newspapers. It's where the locals go for a great brekkie.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks so much for posting your thoughtful review! It's comments like yours that make it all worthwhile for our staff, as they strive to make everyone feel looked after and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you at Domani's again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

creme brulee martinis for dessert!!!...heavenly
friendly staff and lovely setting looking at the trees along Tedder Av

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review, it's really lovely to hear you enjoyed Domani's service and atmosphere.. And yes we think our creme brulee martinis are a bit special too!
On behalf of the entire team at Domani's, we look forward to seeing you at Domani's again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just a pass”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Tedder Ave restaurants charge like the finest in Sydney but just don't have the style, quality or the real passion of top restaurants. This restaurant caters for the locals who appear to accept overpriced food with little technique. Are there chefs in Tedder or just cooks?
The slow cooked lamb had zero flavour and the barramundi was dry (at lunch it was half price but so?). Wine ridiculously overpriced but this seems to be accepted around here.
I suggest the Tedder Ave restaurateurs get down to The Fish House at Burleigh Heads, for example, to savour quality food, well presented and beautifully cooked. OK, expensive but not more than the Tedder mob. And it is CLASS.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks for your review, we're glad you took the time to share your thoughts. We do hope you brought up any issues with your meal in house to ensure that they could be rectified while you were dining with us, as we strive to ensure meals and service are of high quality. We'll pass on your comments, with thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Service was, strange. We are accustom to eating out and know what to expect, however we were seated and then had to wait a considerable amount of time for the menu as well as had to ask if we can order drinks or should we go to the counter and purchase ourselves. Then we ordered drinks and the entrees arrived prior to the drinks. Drinks arrived and then we waited a considerable amount of time for the main. The meals were great but the service can be improved to have your patrons have a more enjoyable experience. Especially those that have young children, we came early to be in and out before 630pm, so being quieter this should have meant that there was no reason for "strange" service. We did eat at other venues in GC and no one had service like this.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph018, Owner at Domanis, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your meals at Domani's, but sorry to hear you felt service on the evening was a bit haphazard. We do hope you brought this up with floor staff or management when they checked in on you while you were dining with us, as we pride ourselves on friendly, helpful service and try to ensure any issues are rectified on the spot to allow all customers enjoy their dining experience to the fullest. We hope you'll give Domani's another visit, and look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domanis also viewed

Main Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Domanis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domanis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.