We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious dinner for the mind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vanitas

Vanitas
94 Seaworld Dr, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia
07 5509 8000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Main Beach
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: An extraordinary gastronomic encounter perfectly suited to Palazzo Versace, the place for classical, sophisticated fine dining. The epitome of elegance a night at Vanitas provides a luxurious fine dining experience with meticulous attention to detail and impeccable service. The regularly changing a la carte menu offers a diverse range of fresh seafood and succulent meats created by Chef de Cuisine, Paul Froggatt.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Luxurious dinner for the mind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Taste buds will be tantalised, eyes pleased and the whole body euphoric in the way the service, staff and food whisk you away from normal day to day life to a temple dedicated to true gourmania

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    16
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The food was amazing we had the degustation menu with the matching wines never done this before and it was so worth it. The wines went so well with each course and the food was melt in your mouth. I must also mention the service was outstanding I have mobility issues and the staff made me feel very comfortable which doesn't always have. Will definitely go back for something else. Loved it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a great restaurant. Dined here while staying at Palazzo Versace. Superb service and food. We had the degustation. Rates up there with the best fine dining in Australia.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Al carte at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It was just beautiful me and my partner are big eaters but we actually liked this a lot and the chef was lovely because the first course was seafood and my partner does not eat seafood so he send out a beautiful duck broth with i was raving about afterwards for the whole trip!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

ill start by saying I dine out at least 3 time a week and usually enjoy the high end style restaurants but I found this to be very over rated and disturbingly non friendly.
meals are very complicated and tiny, I suppose ok to try once but would I go back for a second go
no.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanitas also viewed

 

Been to Vanitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.