We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for both adults and kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea World

Sea World
Seaworld Dr, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia
61 7 5588 2222
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$74*
and up
Gold Coast Theme Park Pass: Movie World, Sea...
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Main Beach
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Aquariums, Amusement Parks
Activities: Swimming with dolphins
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun for both adults and kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The shark bay was amazing. Big park to entertain everyone. Wish ticket price were cheaper! Try to search online for price discounts and you could save a lot for big families.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    641
    328
    159
    89
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sea World has changed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Sea World is not what it was. When we last visited there were many rides not working or in need of repair. Other activities are now being charged for inside Sea World. And I can't see what dinosores have to do with the sea. OK for children but can be expensive.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Feed the Rays (if you can afford it!)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I spent the day at Sea World with my teenage brother. The highlight of the day was definitely feeding the rays, although at $9 for 5 pieces of food we couldn't do it much... It's not surprising, but always disappointing to see how high prices are inside theme parks.
Overall it was a good experience, and probably more so with kids or if you haven't seen sea world Orlando. I wasn't awed by it, but I've had great experiences at the Orland park and know how wonderful sea world can be.
We took in all but two shows (we weren't into Dora the explorer ;) and all the animals and were still finished by about 2:30 in the afternoon. It's really easy to get there by public transportation, so we left and grabbed a late lunch back in broadbeach for half the price. Just keep an open mind and remember they are doing their best with the resources they have.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherrybrook, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over rated , pricey and poor advertising.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I disliked the fact that I still had to pay for facilities in Sea World after paying a admission fee.
I dislike the fact that they always want to sell you merchandises.
I dislike the fact that the rides were handful and most of them for age 1-5.
I disliked the stuffs attitude.
I think it is an over priced and over advertised theme park.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time at Sea World - esp Polar Bear Shores”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went to Sea World on a Friday and loved the fact that it wasn't too busy. We got on the rides (Jet Rescue and Sea Viper) very quickly. The shows were really enjoyable - make sure you are near the front and really enthusiastic for the Imagine Dolphin show as you may get to meet a dolphin! The sea lion fish detectives show was amusing, but too full of human silliness - Claude the sealion was a great "showseal"!

The highlight of our visit was the behind the scenes visit to Polar Bear Shores. My partner loves polar bears and couldn't wait to see the only ones in Australia. Behind the scenes you get a talk from one of the educational people (really informative and knew her stuff) as well as a chat from one of the keepers. We were told we'd get to see two of the bears (who weren't on exhibit) but we didn't realise how close we'd get untill we walked out of the admin office and literally came face to face with Hudson! He was only half a metre away (behind bars of course). It was totally awe-inspiring to be so close to such an amazing creature. Things then got better as the keeper had decided to use that time as part of Hudson's conditioning, so he was fed sardines and watermelon whilst being asked to display certain "tricks" e.g. opening up his mouth, putting his paws on the bars etc. I had no idea that the keepers were able to interact so closely with the bears! One amazing "trick" that we saw was the keeper putting some sardines into an empty plastic bottle and poking it through the small holes in the cage. Hudson took the bottle and pulled it through the small opening and gently ripped it open. The true size of the animal was revealed when he was asked to stand on his hindlegs. Huge! The enclosure was amazing and it was humbling to see such a good bond between bear and man. They are really cared for at Sea World and it was great to gain a better perspective on just how the polar bears are looked after. (We didn't see the second bear, Liya, as she was in her den sleeping. Nelson was on exhibit at the time).

NB We went back on the following Monday and timed it just right - Hudson was on exhibit and the keepers were carrying out part of his enrichment programme by throwing toys and a box full of fish into the water. As a result Hudson went for a long swim - it was amazing to see such a huge animal be so graceful. The underwater viewing gallery was brilliant!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea World also viewed

 
Southport, Gold Coast
 

Been to Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.