We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea World

Sea World
Seaworld Dr, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia
61 7 5588 2222
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$75*
and up
Gold Coast Theme Park Pass: Movie World, Sea...
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Main Beach
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Aquariums, Amusement Parks
Activities: Swimming with dolphins
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

When I was is San Diego, I didnt go to Sea World so I decied to go this time but not really great. It was ok if you have kids but then again kids like everything. Two polar bears were sleeping.. But dolphin show was great....need to see that for sure...I will try the one in Florida next year.
Once in a life time....it is ok to go....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    637
    328
    159
    89
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My family always enjoy Sea World, especially my 3 yr old grandson and a friend from NZ who had never been before. The polar bears and the sharks are great, but the dolphins and seal show will always be the winners. Is expensive to eat and drink there, but you can take in water bottles

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Really good fun - even for adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

It was over 10yrs since I left went to Seaworld and it was a really nice idea to go again. We had a great day out and it helped that the weather was good. We saw all of the obligatory shows which had plenty of seating for everyone. We did a few rides which we did end up queing for longer than actually riding but the queues did go quick.

Over all and old favourite for young and old and a great day out.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“dissapointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The park is OK but we bought our tickets in Melbourne and should have bought them in Queensland for a fraction of the price...Our biggest disappointment was that we had to pay for our boys to use the water slide...We were told that the hotel had bought the water park so they charged...incidentally it was empty all day. Silly hotel it would have been packed had it been included in the entry price like it used to be...false advertising I feel

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Could be better and Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Recently visited Sea World In October 2011 a bit disappointed with the park this time, visited October 2009 and things have certainly changed. Some venues closed - shops and restaurants, rides and attractions closed up.
Extra payments to ride the Gondola, water park etc.
Food expensive and not enough seating.
Good shows for little children with the Sesame Street Show, seal show a little cheesy.
The Imagine Dolphin show now only goes for 15 minutes, 2 years ago it went for 25-30minutes.
Where are all the Polar Bears there were 2 missing what happened to them? The remaining bear is very lonely and was sleeping for over 5 hours when we visited as we went back to the enclosure on 2 separate occasions to see if he was awake but he was still asleep in the same spot, very sad and lonely.
The latest attraction Penguin encounter is excellent but a little on the small side for the Penguins to live in. They are such striking animals and seem to be cooped up in their enclosures and they just watch the people all day long and walk up and down the enclosure looking at everyone on the outside.
Its good to visit if you have not been there before and very good for little children to see such animals and shows.
I would not worry about visiting again for many years to come.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea World also viewed

 
Southport, Gold Coast
 

Been to Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.