We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sea World Resort to your Saves list
Sea World Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Theme Parks Save 30%
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Main Beach
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great resort for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly smiles. Our luggage was taken to our room so we could explore seaworld before check in. Everyday our rooms were cleaned for us with fresh towels and beds made. The restaurants had an awesome range of food. Having a private entrance to seaworld was very convenient. We could come come and go as we pleased! The characters each day put big smiles on our kids face.Had some photos to remember it. The water park with sponge bob and characters was the biggest highlight.Our kids squeeled with delight with all the fun water activities there. The pool there is fantastic! We recommend seaworld resort to others and look foward to visiting there again one day!

Room Tip: They are slightly smaller than i thought but if your kids dont mind sharing a double bed its not tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    447
    242
    84
    60
See reviews for
847
93
3
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The waterpark within the hotel is great although only open durning certain times of day of which we missed due to heading out to see the attractions or sleep times. It would be best to open earlier as most children are up early! The access to Seawoeld was great and we could come and go hassle free all day. The bus to other attractions is very expensive and you are a bit out from everything else. We ended up having to hire a car. Harbour town was close which was good. It wasnt a cheap holiday although i was suprised the goods at the theme parks were well priced. The walls of hotel were thin though and the rooms very basic! It was hard all four of us in one room!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My stepson had his wedding at this hotel and nothing went right from the get go. He and his bride to be and friends checked in two nights before the big day. The reception staff had the incorrect info a long with all friends and family staying all over the hotel, when it was specifically asked that the hotel accommodated all people for this wedding in one wing or very close by. The hotel, back in January agreed whole heartedly to this. It was also agreed by the hotel wedding planner that the son would be in a suitable room for a groom and his wife, in other words a bridal suite after the big day/night. Nope that didn't happen either. When the guests arrived, all was reasonable and proceeded to the wedding area outside and enjoyed a terrific wedding ceremony with one very nervous son and stunning bride.

After the ceremony, we were directed back inside to have a drink whilst the reception room was being prepared - what being prepared your kidding aren't you. No they had been extremely busy for lunch, tough this is a wedding and guests should not have been kept waiting. Professionalism - I don't think so.

When finally the reception room was ready, you had to take a packed lunch to get there. Ridiculous layout, especially for the more mature guests who were struggling to walk, it was quite a distance from reception.

All I can say is the hotel needs a good lick of paint, it is tired and the furniture dated. The staff assistance was so so, very average indeed. But thank goodness for friends and family who made the night for the special couple.

Would I go back, absolutely not. Would I recommend this hotel, no way and I guess that says it all.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear seeparadisetra....a,
Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to read your comments, but all of the arrangements for the day were organised personally with the Bride and Groom. They are the ones that choose the venue and particular location for their special day.
We have in fact received excellent feedback from Jill thanking us for the "most incredible day, I am so happy that we chose Sea World Resort for our big day and everyone at our wedding commented on how well it was run and organised".
However, we never wish for any of guests to leave our Resort disappointed and we apologise if you felt this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great stay at his resort, and we had a good value deal that we got on the website. Service thru the hotel, especially at the reception was excellent, so professional and friendly. The room was spacious, clean, 2 queen sized beds, overlooking the pools and the gold coast ..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Love this resort. Has a great pool and kids water play area. Great restaurants and easy access to SeaWorld. :) rooms are comfortable enough, we have stayed in the suites and standard rooms. Both are what you would expect. Staff are super friendly. There are some good deals that include SeaWorld entry.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great stay at this resort on a theme park deal, which made it very good value.

Service at reception was excellent, very helpful and friendly.

The room which had been recently refurbished, was clean and spacious with two double beds on the ground floor opening onto the children's pool area which was fantastic for our 4 & 6 year old. It was serviced daily.

The areas around the resort were clean, tidy and the grounds were well manicured.

The buffet breakfast was excellent and catered to all. We had one evening meal at The Lobby Bar which was very average but well priced.

The kids loved the SpongeBob Light Show it was just hard trying to keep them awake until 8pm.

The only downside was the paper thin walls, you could hear the TV until 1am of the room one side and someone snoring the other!!!

Apart from that a great resort in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Combining sea world theme park with an adult conference is probably not that great. You are mixed in with thousands (well hundreds) of Japanese tourists and hoards of school groups and tour groups as well aussie families. There are just too many people The mass produced food is very expensive.
The room was clean and OK. But there were only green tea bags (for the Japanese) no shower wash (it was forgotten) and on the second day no face washers. Because of the school groups and late night arrivals sleep was broken was by noisy very loud people who think it is OK to talk, frolic and have domestics at 1.00 am. That's not OK if you are there for a conference.

Room Tip: You will probably have to stay in the most expensive wing to be away from economy groups and rowdy k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Judi B,
It’s disappointing to hear this feedback about the recent conference you attended. We have had lots of big conferencing groups this month and have received wonderful feedback so we were surprised to hear your comments.
In regards to mass produced food, all of our events have menus individually created with the conference organisers and our Resort team to suit numbers, dietary requirements and budgets. English tea and coffee are provided in all rooms, I apologise if there was an oversight from Housekeeping on this occasion and yours was not replenished. Please be assured that I have shared this with our Housekeeping team.
In regards to noise, we would encourage all guests who might be disturbed for whatever reason to bring this to our attention immediately so that we can take action where necessary.
Our venue is chosen by many conference organisers for its unique experiences of combining work with fun and adventure at our parks. Thank you however for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Main Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With direct monorail access to Sea World, Sea World Resort is the ultimate theme park holiday destination. Located on the Broadwater, guests will enjoy 4.5 star facilities and friendly service all within easy access to famous Gold Coast beaches and shopping. Sea World Resort is the only hotel in Australia where guests will receive an exclusive Dolphin presentation, free when they stay two nights or more. The Dolphin Discovery presentation is set in the spectacular Dolphin Cove theatre and will provide guests with an insight into the amazing world of the Dolphin while they witness a sneak peek of a Dolphin training session, all before the park opens. Nickelodeon is now at Sea World Resort & Water Park! Join everyone’s favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing ‘SpongeBob SplashBash’, open poolside year round. Kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. There are hours of good times waiting, including a soaking from a giant spray bucket. Plus dance and delight at the spectacular musical water fountain with a stunning LED light show nightly. Kids can meet a Nickelodeon star every morning in the lobby at 9am. Parents bring along your camera for a snap of your little one with the star of the day or our photographer will take one for you which you can purchase from the Resort Shop later in the day. The Water Park is a giant recreational splash zone featuring a large kid friendly lagoon pool and a mammoth plunge. Entry to the Water Park is included free for all guests staying at the resort. The Water Park area provides private cabanas for hire. Please note that our resort Water Park is a seasonal attraction and will only operate during the warmer seasons. The resort features 405 rooms with most that can accommodate up to 4 guests. All rooms have a balcony or patio outlook and offer garden, pool or Broadwater views. In addition to 4 restaurants and 2 bar areas (including modern seafood buffet and Japanese cuisine) the resort offers a host of seasonal watersports, a popular evening Kids Club (kids 4 1/2 to 12 yrs) plus massage and beauty and a gymnasium. Stay, play and splash at Sea World Resort & Water Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea World Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.