We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sea World Resort to your Saves list
Sea World Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
RED HOT SALE
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Main Beach
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We've stayed here 3 times and know what to expect, so we love it. It is expensive for the level of accommodation, but not ridiculous if you package it up with the theme park entry. For us, it's all about how happy the kids are....and this place is great for kids with its splash playground! Having a car is a must if you don't want to eat in the Hotel's expensive restaurant all the time; there are some good family eateries just up the road. Rooms are nice, service good, but the access to Sea World is the best part of this Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    629
    298
    104
    73
See reviews for
1,191
106
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Three of us recently stayed here on an excellent internet deal. Found reception on check a little underwhelming, with the receptionist informing us our room wouldn't be ready till 2pm to come back then. When I looked at my watch it was 1.56pm. Four minutes later I then went back to reception and was informed that our room was now ready!! Room was great, big and clean with a bathroom that looked like it had recently been renovated. We were on the ground floor which I liked and our room overlooked the seaway, so great view. Unfortunately there are no cooking facilities in the room so your only option for meals is in the resort. Like most resorts it had limited options and whilst food was ok, service was hit and miss. Saturday night dinner was good with pretty good service but breakfast the next day was not. We waited over an hour and half for pancakes and toast. We got a good deal for the weekend so pretty happy but if we had paid school holidayprices I would have been annoyed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here for 5 nights in the Bay Wing and we loved it.
The room was lovely and clean, the colours were bright, fresh and it was very relaxing in there.
The only thing I would have liked to have had was a clothes airer/washing line outside as we had 4 beach towels and swimmers to try and dry every day.

All the staff we met were amazingly friendly and helpful.

The food was a bit expensive but i was delicious, there were no complaints from my kids or partner.

The kids had a ball in the pool. Thee lifeguards were always very vigilant. My kids are strong swimmers but its always nice to know there's an extra set of eyes on them.
We were out during most of the day and we missed out on the Spongebob playground opening hours. We did get to see the Spongebob Splash Bash light show and it was definately a highlight for adults and kids alike.

To get a break from the kids on the 4th night of our stay we pu them into the kids club.
They had such an amazing time they both begged to go back the next night. It was $47 a night for both my kids (including dinner) and it was absolutely worth it. We happily paid for them to go in the next night. Stephan is great with the kids!

Overall we loved our stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my husband and two children, what an amazing family fun resort. Not only do you get entry to the Seaworld Park but the Resort itself is full of family fun things to do. The pool is lovely and large, the spa is in need of a refurb but the Sponge Bob Water Park they have created is awesome and every night there is a spongebob disco in the water with lots of lights and music, the kids go wild for it. The room itself was very clean and nice but keep in mind that that's all it is, there is not kitchenette and you do have to eat out quite a bit. The shoreline restaurant is great for buffet meals and really has some delicious meals but it maybe better and more cost effective to eat out somewhere else other than within the Resort. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a fun family holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Rebecca C,
Thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you recommend us for a fun family holiday.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My cousin and I stayed here with our two sons after finding a deal on Cudo which seemed to be really great. When we first arrived the porter was very friendly and helpful as was the young man at reception. Reception is beautiful and is probably what has been refurbished in the resort. Walking down to our room it reminded me of a cheap B grade hotel they use in the movies where all the prostitutes stay and work. My cousin likened it more to a prison. Very old and tired looking. The rooms were nice and clean, servicing of the rooms could not be faulted. The beds were lovely and very comfortable.
For a family resort this establishment does not come up to standard. The playgrounds are pathetic, the games room is absolutely pathetic. I have stayed in apartments in Surfers where the facilities for children are absolutely magnificent. The restaurants are so overpriced and expensive, if you do not have a hire car you will be spending alot of money on food here. The spongebob splashback water park was okay however not open all of the time? Pools were average, nothing special. The receptionist failed to inform us that we could also access Sea worlds water park for free through the back of the resorts water park. We were told this on day 4. Kids club was very expensive and there was nothing exciting that made me want to put my son in there.
In regards to service, the service in the resort teetered from great to terrible rude and arrogant. My cousin asked a couple of workers at the front where the japanese restaurant is and he rolled his eyes and said "at the japanese restaurant" and did a finger point in the direction of the restaurant. Sometimes you just got the total ignore while workers had their own private conversation whilst serving you. Other workers who were more easily flustered gave you a stressed rushed service instead. Overall customer service needs a major overhaul.
Great being so close to Seaworld.
If I had to pay full price to stay at this hotel I would have been very very peed off. Average holiday and I would not recommend it to any friends or family and we wont be returning.
To the management, go to the USA and get some training on how customer service these people excel at it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We find your comments regarding our Resort very upsetting to hear. It is sad that you compare us to a cheap B grade hotel where prostitutes stay and work!
We have over 300,000 guests who stay with us each year and the majority of these have a wonderful guest experience at Sea World Resort & Water Park. We will always be the first to admit when we fail to deliver on product or service. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and I hope that when people read your feedback they will continue to read all of the positive ones below. My apologies if we did not live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved our stay at this resort and loved how close it was to the theme park. The pool area was fantastic for my 3 year old. The room was perfect and very well maintained. I would highly recommend this resort for families

Room Tip: all rooms see to be good, although we didn't face the pool we had a room facing the theme park w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear lisa338,
Another great recommendation, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great location being attached to seaworld its always going to be popular. It seems weird that if you book a room with 2 adults and 2 kids they give you two double beds?? The facility claims to have been refurbished but a lot of it still looks like it is in the 70's.

The cost of eating and drinkng anything at the hotel is extreme, $7 for a light beer (more than Heron Island which I went to in the same week which is 80km of the coast). We did opt for the buffet one night and it was very good with a large selection.

So to summarise the kids wont be disappointed, if you come prepared with drinks and food you may make it out with your credit card still intact......... Just hang on to the kids when you walk through the gift shop to get in Seaworld though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
On booking our room descriptions are made very clear. The majority of our rooms do have two beds which seems to suit most families. We do however offer many different options, these can be seen on our website or via our Reservations Department. They will be more than happy to discuss these and find the best option for your family group. It is good to hear that you enjoyed our buffet and that your children enjoyed being so close to Sea World, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Main Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea World Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.