We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family holiday at Sea World Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sea World Resort to your Saves list
Sea World Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Theme Parks Save 30%
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Main Beach
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday at Sea World Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My family won 3 nights at the Sea World resort, courtesy of the Cairns Airport. I looked on tripadvisor before we came and was a little nervous as many people had written negative reivews. How anyone could write a negative review about this resort is beyond me. They must be fusspots of the year. Yes it is "out of the way" but if you're going to spend a few days at the Seaworld theme park, it's just sooooo convenient being able to come home when the children get wet playing and change clothes. The children eat breakfast in the restaurant for their ages, so you pay $8 for an 8yo. We did hire a car for approx $45 a day as airport transfers were going to cost us over $50 each way from the Gold Coast airport, so that allowed us to drive to Movie World and have some dinner at other parts of the Gold Coast. Really really really family friendly. We would definitely PAY to come here again! Great rooms, dry your beach towels on the balcony, wifi, only "complaint" is one day they gave us 3 towels, not 4. Other than that, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Nicole T,
Thank you for your review. Congratulations on winning your stay here at the Resort! It's wonderful to hear that you would like to bring your family back to stay with us. Apologies for not replacing all of your towels as mentioned above.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    445
    242
    84
    60
See reviews for
846
93
3
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

After reading some of the reviews it was much better than we expected. How anyone can give Sea World resort a negative comment is beyond us. We had the most fantastic time and the kids (10 & 8) had a ball in the water park and at the 8pm water park light show. We did the 5 night CUDO deal and upgraded to a Studio with kitchenette so we could have breakfast on a budget before our big days at the theme parks. We also made our own lunches to take with us. We used the restaurants in the evening and found them to be quite cost effective with plenty of variety. One highlight you shouldn't miss is the early morning Dolphin show catered for resort guests only. The staff were friendly throughout and couldn't do enough for us. I'm amazed at some of the negative responses because we could not fault Sea World resort. We'll be back next year without doubt.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden wing which had a marina outlook and a small childrens park. It was very peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Ian D,
Thank you so much for your review. It is so good to hear about your wonderful guest experience with us. Our Cudo deal does prove very popular! We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed 4 nights.Check in quick and pleasant. Rooms OK, not fantastic, need a decent clean around the edges, nice comfortable bed. On returning home at 9pm 1 day to find no one had serviced our room, we went down to reception, and they sent someone up with clean towels, no apology either, very poor service.
Kids area is great, this is the attraction to stay here, nothing else. Food very expensive, $30 for breakfast, far too expensive. No deals on in January they told us, so we ate offsite for all meals. When we booked over the phone in November we were told there are always deals on, so someone is wrong. For that, they didn't get our $$$
If you have a car, there are local restaurants less than 5 minutes down the road, much cheaper. As this resort is along way from town, you do need a car, though we did see a bus stop not far away, not sure on service though. We stayed 4 nights here then moved into town for another 4 nights, which I would suggest doing.
Characters do come into lobby each morning which is great.
Good to be able to go by monorail into the Seaworld Park next door, I would suggest they let guests staying here, entry into the park at least half to 1 hour before public. From our room we could see the staff over there start early, so it's not as if they are not there. Would be nice.
Not to go on rides etc. just to get in.

Room Tip: Depending if you want a lot of noise or not, get room close or furtherest away from pool area. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I booked a twin double room (not renovated) for one night for two adults and two children as part of the stay and play deal. The room was perfectly adequate for a one night stay, I would upgrade to a larger renovated room for an extended stay. We used the meal deal for dinner (seafood buffet) and breakfast. This was great value as the buffet was great quality; fresh seafood including oysters and bugs. Breakfast was good, the kids loved the pancake machines. The real value here was the inclusion of two days access to sea world with the room price! It worked out to cheaper to stay at the resort with sea world access than to purchase tickets alone! Our stay was dampened (literally) by horrid weather from the ex cyclone, however we still saw great sea lion and dolphin shows, enjoyed the polar bears and got some rides in. The piano man in the lobby on Saturday night was fantastic. The kids were a little disappointed that the resorts water park was closed but we still enjoyed our stay. All in all it was a great value and enjoyable stay as a family visiting sea world.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Mell77,
That certainly was a terrible weekend of weather and I am sorry that you had to experience it during your holiday, it must have been very frustrating. Thank you for your kind comments about our Resort. We hope that you get the chance to return during sunnier times to experience the facilities in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was a great place to stay for the family as it was tied in with the Sea World Park, the room was pretty nice, not the best though, but the view from our balcony out to the water park/pool and the sea was amazing! The room was clean and comfortable, but outside where the walk area was leading out to the reception seemed dark and damp and dirty looking. However the staff was great and the dress up characters waiting in the lobby was a great greeting and farewell when we left.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear brendanbob,
Thank you for your post. We are pleased to hear that your family enjoyed their time at our Resort and meeting the Nickelodeon characters in the Lobby. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We bought one of the GrabOne deals from NZ which included 5 nights for 2 adults and 2 children in a resort superior rooms. We arrived quite late at night and the receptionist was fabulous at greeting us, explaining how the package deal worked and giving our tired kids a special Sea World Polar Bear to cheer them up.

We were quite disappointed with our room on first appearance. It was in the garden wing, right at the back of the complex and far away from the water park. The room was VERY dated and tired, but it was lovely and clean - we know that they are mid renovations so hopefully the new updated rooms are fabulous! Our room had two large beds in it so the kids shared one bed and us the other, if your kids are larger than toddlers I would recommend getting a larger room - we were quite squashed, but seeing as we really were only in the room for sleeping it wasnt an issue!! The next morning the kids were super excited to discover that we had a childrens playground right outside our door so we quickly turned our disappointment in location around to being perfect for the kids!

FOOD OPTIONS!
Warning if you are on a budget - eating onsite is not at all cheap....in fact very much the opposite, but if you are only looking to stay onsite then you have some choices.

Part of our deal including breakfast at the Shoreline Restaurant - highly recommend if you get the option include this in your package as the breakfast is amaing - full range of fresh, continental and cooked foods and also if you like the asian styled breakfasts they cater for that as well....food heaven! We also had a few of the evening meals in the restaurant, we werent as impressed with the evening foods but it is fantastic for options and letting the kids choose exactly what they would like to eat. You must book ahead of time though as on two of the nights we were there private functions were happening and it was crazy busy.

The lounge lobby was AWFUL, the staff were grumpy and very unaccomodating. In one instance our food order went "missing" so after the kids finally lost the plot waiting we asked where is was and were told oh I must have forgotten.....no apology, and no alternative provided. Then when I asked for a refund for the food we havent recieved the staff member made such a big deal about it. Needless to say if you want anything beyond a coffee, go to one of the other cafes!!

The Waterfall Cafe was great, the staff were great company, very entertaining and made our lunches poolside a great experience. If you like cocktails DEFINITELY ask them to make you a straberry daiquiri !!

The food highlight for us was eating at the Japanese onsite restaurant, the food was exceptional, so fresh, great tasting and the staff so friendly and accomodating of two young children. Highly recommend the Hatsuhana Japanese Restaurant, if we go again we will try the Teppinyaki - it looked fabulous.

Seaworld....we loved that from the resort you had access to Sea World each day, you got to see the dolphin trainers show before the park opened and it made the journey so much easier for the kids.

Highlight from the kids: Definitely the water park at the resort and the exclusive resort water park inside Seaworld - they loved the slides and big water bucket, loved the spongebob sprinklers. Ms 6 year old thought the best was the night light show at night. Where else can you stay up till 8pm at night and go running around a water park in your togs dancing and singing to Spongebob music. Ms 4 year olds highlght was getting to see Dora, Diego, Spongebob and Sandy Cheeks each morning at 9am in the resort lobby.

Highly recommend Seaworld resort for a family experience. World recommend that you have a car so you arent confined to the resort though - it is costly !!

Room Tip: If with younger children, get a room near the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Rooms where clean and up to date beds where comfortable they had the air conditioner on for us when we arrived great access to sea world will be back for sure pool area was great nice big pool and kids play area didn't get a chance to eat there

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Main Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With direct monorail access to Sea World, Sea World Resort is the ultimate theme park holiday destination. Located on the Broadwater, guests will enjoy 4.5 star facilities and friendly service all within easy access to famous Gold Coast beaches and shopping. Sea World Resort is the only hotel in Australia where guests will receive an exclusive Dolphin presentation, free when they stay two nights or more. The Dolphin Discovery presentation is set in the spectacular Dolphin Cove theatre and will provide guests with an insight into the amazing world of the Dolphin while they witness a sneak peek of a Dolphin training session, all before the park opens. Nickelodeon is now at Sea World Resort & Water Park! Join everyone’s favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing ‘SpongeBob SplashBash’, open poolside year round. Kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. There are hours of good times waiting, including a soaking from a giant spray bucket. Plus dance and delight at the spectacular musical water fountain with a stunning LED light show nightly. Kids can meet a Nickelodeon star every morning in the lobby at 9am. Parents bring along your camera for a snap of your little one with the star of the day or our photographer will take one for you which you can purchase from the Resort Shop later in the day. The Water Park is a giant recreational splash zone featuring a large kid friendly lagoon pool and a mammoth plunge. Entry to the Water Park is included free for all guests staying at the resort. The Water Park area provides private cabanas for hire. Please note that our resort Water Park is a seasonal attraction and will only operate during the warmer seasons. The resort features 405 rooms with most that can accommodate up to 4 guests. All rooms have a balcony or patio outlook and offer garden, pool or Broadwater views. In addition to 4 restaurants and 2 bar areas (including modern seafood buffet and Japanese cuisine) the resort offers a host of seasonal watersports, a popular evening Kids Club (kids 4 1/2 to 12 yrs) plus massage and beauty and a gymnasium. Stay, play and splash at Sea World Resort & Water Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea World Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.