We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaky start but overall a relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast to your Saves list
Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Queensland 4215, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Up to 50% Off!
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Shaky start but overall a relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have stayed here over 20 times and love the location and the renovation is great. Our first night dinner at The Oyster Bar was adequate in terms of food but the two staff allocated to wait on tables, one of whom normally worked poolside, were not able to provide 5 star service. It was a disappointing start to our 5 day stay but following the provision of feedback there was a sincere apology and two free cocktails. Another two free liquers on the last night when cocktails took 30 minutes to get to us so the service overall while friendly was not up to scratch and it wasn't simply a matter of Easter crowds. The standards of the hotel dining seemed to have slipped a bit as well but the stay was relaxing and enjoyable. Will certainly go back but would consider eating elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Anything that you can see the sea from
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Ross

Thank you for the time you have taken to post another TripAdvisor review on our resort, together with providing feedback via our on line survey and whilst you were in residence. This is very kind of you and as a valued and regular supporter, your impressions and insights are especially appreciated.

We regret and sincerely apologise for the service lapses you encountered on your most recent visit, and naturally were very concerned to read your comments on our dining standards. Peter Elakis (our Executive Assistant Manager who spoke with you during your stay) is undertaking further follow up with our Executive Chef and with the Food and Beverage team, and we hope you will give our restaurants and bars another chance in the future.

More positively, I am delighted that overall this visit was a relaxing and enjoyable break over Easter.

Ross, we look forward to your return, and thank you both again for your loyalty to our resort, and to Starwood.

With warm regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    260
    72
    25
    14
See reviews for
199
304
29
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

i stayed here a few years back and was so happy to see that the rooms and hotel had been refurbished...amazing facilities, resort pool that back onto the beach, we stayed in a beautiful suite overlooking the gardens and service was great...only downfall was we were unable to check in till after 5pm but overall had a great experiance

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Carlie

Thank you for returning to our resort for your January visit to the Gold Coast, and for taking the time to recently review your experience.

It was wonderful to know that you so enjoyed your return and this family visit. We are very sorry though for the delay in getting you into your accommodation. That sort of delay is most unusual with our guaranteed check in time being 3.00pm.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you all back when you are next planning a trip up to the amazing Gold Coast.

Warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I was tempted to give the resort 4 stars, rather than 5, due to our room (3054 - spa suite) not being quite up to a 5 star standard but everything else was so brilliant that I felt it more than compensated. The room was still beautiful but the carpet (the stripy part) was stained and the bathroom needs a definite overhaul, as it looked unlcean in parts but it was only the tiles being scuffed etc from age. The furniture was beautiful and our outlook quite nice considering it looked over the road. The gardens masked it. The noise from traffic was barely noticeable so the room is well insulated.

Be aware that the aircon is movement sensored so that when you are out of your room for more than 30 minutes, it will revert to a set temp of 24.5. This made returning to our room in the middle of the day a little uncomfortable for a while, particularly in the bathroom.

The pool bar service was excellent and the pool was hearted perfectly. Room service food and service was also faultless, as were concierge staff and front desk. This resort is beautiful and deserves its 5 star rating.

Room Tip: If you book a spa room, ask for one looking over the resort grounds or with a beach view. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Dar

Thank you for your detailed and insightful review of your most recent stay here at Sheraton Mirage. We appreciate the feedback you have provided regarding your room for this visit, and apologise for the stained carpet. This has been followed up with our Executive Housekeeper, as has your comments regarding the bathroom. We are glad that overall you continue to enjoy the additional space and features of our Spa Studio accommodation, and thank you again for this specific gift of feedback on your accommodation.

Your continuing support of our resort is appreciated, and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again in the hopefully not too distant future.

With warmest wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I loved this resort. The photos do not do the pool area justice and the beach is literally behind the pool area! Great service only complaint was minor that our drink order was forgotten by poolside. I love the location, the lobby is stunning and the decorations. Enjoyed it and i will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Nicki

Thank you for staying with us here at Sheraton Mirage earlier this month, and for sharing your experience via your first Trip Advisor review!

We are truly blessed with the best location on the Coast, and we’re delighted you enjoyed the resort. So sorry though for your poolside drink order which was forgotten.

Looking forward to your return, and we hope that will be sooner rather than later.

Warm wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights after a 12 hour drive and our other accommodation booked turned out to be a nightmare. The manager on duty was just fantastic it was after 8 at night and we where all very tired. There was nothing about our stay here that we didn't like. The staff are very friendly. The resort is very clean and I couldn't fault it. The beds are amazingly comfortable. The ocean view was spectacular. We would wake up early and walk along the beach. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear TA Senior Contributor

Our Manager on Duty was very proud to read your lovely feedback on the assistance extended to you after your very long drive. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, and especially for those special comments on your arrival experience.

We’re delighted you enjoyed our beautiful resort so much, and we all look forward to your return.

With warm regards from our Sheraton Mirage team

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

wow we will be back
this resort has clean rooms and best location
breakfast food buffet is excellent
room service also
pool menu excellent

over all we loved it so peaceful and relaxing
shops across the rood was good also

Room Tip: all good best rooms closer to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Top Contributor

Our team was both delighted and very proud to read your description of the service extended for your stay here at Sheraton Mirage with your family.

Thank you for choosing our resort for this visit to Australia and the Gold Coast, and for sharing your experience via your review and all those wonderful photos.

Looking forward to your next visit…and wishing you all the very best in the meantime.

With warm regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night and we absolutely loved it. Very handy to Sea world and there is a cluster of restaurants across the bridge (which is connected to the hotel). Dirext access to beach makes it very handy for my son.

Wonderful experience and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Mama

Thank you for your review of your stay here at Sheraton Mirage.

Media Five (now DBI Design) designed an amazing entry for our beautiful resort back in 1987, and it has been impressing our guests and patrons ever since. We are so fortunate, as it truly is the perfect Lobby to take advantage of the amazing ocean view.

We are delighted you will return, and are so pleased you enjoyed your time in residence.

Warmest wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Queensland 4215, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by sparkling lagoons and tropical gardens. The Gold Coast's only five star resort to offer an absolute beachfront location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Hotel Main Beach
Sheraton Mirage Resort And Spa
Sheraton Main Beach
Main Beach Sheraton
Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast Main Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.