We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about this place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Queensland 4215, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Main Beach
norwich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Overall we enjoyed are stay but this hotel falls short from being a 5 star resort.

The lobby & cocktail bar is nothing short of stunning. The rooms have been refreshed rather than refurbished.

Staff were generally friendly & eager to please.

We booked a lagoon view room. This was a waste of money. The upgraded room includes a slither of space with 2 cheap plastic chairs with a view of a run down lagoon.

Breakfast was tasty with a good selection. Service was terrible. No explanation of how it worked & what was included. We were never asked if we wanted tea & coffee. We always had to ask.

The seafood Buffett was great. Service was excellent.

The location is wonderful. On the beach & a few minutes walk to the marina.



  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Senior Contributor

We appreciate your choosing Sheraton Mirage for your recent visit to the Gold Coast, and your post sharing your insights and impressions of our beautiful resort. Please accept our sincere apologies though for your extremely poor service experience at breakfast in Terraces. This type of lapse is unacceptable, and our F&B Management team is addressing this immediately with our team in the restaurant, together with sharing your positive comments regarding the seafood buffet and the service extended on that occasion.

Many thanks again for your post and gift of feedback, and for coming to stay.

Warm wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    219
    57
    19
    14
See reviews for
162
249
27
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This resort is as close to the beach as it gets on Gold Coast. But the beach here is not as wide (expansive) as the beach further south, where most of the residences are located. And, due to recent cyclones the sand bank to the sea is quite steep. As for the hotel itself, it feels a bit dated. Being a premier brand hotel, it could upgrade the facilities in the room a bit. The buffet restaurant is good though, but the drinks prices at the pool bar are exorbitant! Although I paid extra for a sea view room, the hotel is quite low for me to actually see the sea. All I could see were the top of the sun umbrellas around the pool. All in all, just about an average hotel, for this price.

Room Tip: You may have to walk quite a distance to get to the rooms on the wings. So, if that's a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Perry

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mirage for your business trip to the Gold Coast. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your insights and impressions on our resort, which I can advise has undergone a full renovation, completed last year.

We hope you will return for another stay when you are next travelling our way.

Warm regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed the one night but it was well worth it. Stayed in the ocean view premium which was everything i'd expect, great view, modern decor and of course he sweetsleeper bed (always know your going to sleep well at a sheraton). Only criticism of the room was i thought the bathroom was a little small (but the spa bath did take up a fair chuck of it). Went for a swim in the pool which was thankfully warmer in than out at 29 degrees. Only thing to fault on the exterior would be the lagoon is looking a bit tired. Buffett breakfast was awesome and well worth it (and i usually steer away from hotel breakfasts) but could eat that one eveyday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear GMC

Thank you for reviewing your one night stay on TripAdvisor. We are glad this brief visit was an enjoyable and comfortable one in our very popular Ocean Premium accommodation, and that you really enjoyed the Terraces Buffet Breakfast. Chef Ewald and his team particularly liked that!

I’m pleased to advise also that an upgrade to our lagoons is planned. We very much regret their current condition.

We look forward to your return when you are next looking for a beachfront getaway on the Gold Coast.

Warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic hotel - easy to get to rooms, beautifully kept pool area with loads of lounges or just walk another 20 metres and you are at the patrolled private beach area. Long walking path as well if you want exercise or you can walk along the beach. Service is fantastic. Lets face it, things go wrong but they are quick to fix, nice about it and everyone is friendly. Its very 'classy' for want of a better word and yet kids and adults are all welcome. I highly recommend this as a must go to at least once destination....and then you'll find yourself saving to go again!
I have stayed on Business, with my partner and last trip we took his kids. They were 'gobsmacked' at it all and we all loved every minute. :)

Room Tip: They are all good - just advise if you have an elder relative or small child to get a room closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Susan

Thank you for your valued support, and for recently posting a review on your Sheraton Mirage stay in January. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are delighted that you continue to enjoy our facilities and our service.

Please come back soon!

Warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited the Sheraton over the Easter break with the wish to relax and get some sun. Our wish was granted, with excellent weather and a resort that, while being on the Gold Coast, is out of the hype and very peaceful. Early morning walks on the beach, swimming and relaxing at the pool meant that we had a lovely holiday. While the facilities are a little old in some areas, the staff were attentive and very welcoming. With the Marina Mirage over the road and its' own beach frontage there probably isnt any better alternative on the Coast.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Contributor

We all enjoyed and appreciated your description of our resort as “peaceful luxury”, and are delighted you had such a lovely relaxing stay over the Easter break, traditionally a very popular and special time of year here at Sheraton Mirage.

Looking forward to the opportunity and pleasure of welcoming you back when you are next planning a Gold Coast visit.

Warmest regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is amazing! Staff were very understanding and ensured our expectations were met.

We were initially given a room facing the pool (and ocean), but given school holidays there were lots of activities in the pool and rather noisy. Voiced our concern to the front desk staff and they quickly arranged an alternative for us, which was perfect.

The location is great, just a bridge over to Marina Mirage Shopping Centre and a whole range of restaurants.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you don't like noise, request a room NOT facing the pool. I found the South Wing more conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Prisca

Thank you for your review and your description of our hotel as “amazing”. We all loved that!

We appreciate you taking the time to post on your Sheraton Mirage experience, and look forward to welcoming you both back when you are next heading our way.

Warm wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed just one night. The resort looks really tired, the decretive pools are looking old, the paint has peeled of the bottom so it looks dirty.
The rooms have just been updated, but not very good, cheap and nasty.
The towels were cheap and very small, not sheraton quality, more like what you wood expect at a formula one hotel.
There was no Platinum Starwood recognition at all.
I would not stay there again.
The breakfast was good, the only plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Contributor

Thank you for posting your stay reviews directly onto our website, and on TripAdvisor. Your thoughts and impressions on our resort are appreciated, and I am pleased to advise that a lagoon upgrade – which I agree is well overdue – is planned for the near future.

It is completely unacceptable for you not to be recognised for your strong support of Starwood, and once again, I sincerely apologise for this inexcusable lack of recognition.

When you are next visiting the Coast we do hope you might re-consider your return, as we would certainly welcome the opportunity to turn around your impression of our resort.

Warm wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa

Address: 71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Queensland 4215, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by sparkling lagoons and tropical gardens. The Gold Coast's only five star resort to offer an absolute beachfront location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Hotel Main Beach
Sheraton Mirage Resort And Spa
Sheraton Main Beach
Main Beach Sheraton
Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.