We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Versace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Versace to your Saves list
Palazzo Versace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sea World Dr. | PO Box 137, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST RATE GUARANTEED
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Main Beach
Adelaide
1 review
“A perfect weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

From the moment we arrived we felt really welcome. The staff, from reception to house-keeping were amazingly friendly, warm and couldn't do enough for us. We had a fantastic room overlooking the pool, the buffett breakfasts were beautiful and everything was spotlessly clean. We could not fault anything at the Versace. Beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Front Office Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
I have passed your comments on to our staff, as they, like myself are very proud of both our hotel and our service. We are grateful for your feedback and letting us know that we did a great job! Thanks again, Dina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    226
    108
    55
    53
See reviews for
170
505
31
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

With the Versace name, you'd expect this hotel to be a pleasant place to stay and you won't be disappointed. The surrounding are serene and stylish, with generally attentive staff. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable, with typical Versace styling touches like etched glass features and plenty of marble. Not all rooms have a balcony, but it's something worth specifying if you can, especially if it's a room overlooking the amazing pool with sand entry.
The La Medusa ballroom is elegant with an utterly amazing carpets - not great for dancing but it sure is beautiful!
At night, there are tea light candles everywhere which give the bar a soft, relaxed ambience. At times drink service by the pool can be a little slow, but I was so relaxed I didn't really care. The location is good - away from downtown Surfers, while still being next to the marina and walking distance from SeaWorld. Naturally, Palazzo Versace is a touch more expensive than some neighbouring hotels, but it would be worth the expense for a couple on a short break (or long one!).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Front Office Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, October 30, 2010
Dear Bugmatic,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have had some unseasonably heavy rain in the last month, so it is fantastic that your sunny break was unaffected! We look forward to welcoming you back. See you soon, Dina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

This is no cheap stay but if you want to relax and spoil yourself this is the place to go. The service was very good- not sophisticated - but it was easy relaxed service that always aimed to please...and succeeded. I prefer more laid back service than stuffy service so thought the service was great. The food was good but not excellent but the service,views and location made up for that. Having read a couple of the negative reviews I can understand some people maybe expecting more, but I think it pays to match expectations with where you are not against other experiences. I have just come from 2 weeks in Italy and it is impossible to compare hotels on the same basis. I loved it here and would come back. I chose this hotel to relax, lie by the pool and be pampered! It succeeded.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Front Office Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Hi Pruej,
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that we were able to make your stay both enjoyable and relaxing. We look forwarding to welcoming you back to Palazzo Versace! Regards Dina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We are staying here in a 2 bedroom rooftop condo at AUD1600 per night, having hoped for a top notch experience. We have used Trip Advisor many times previously to choose our hotels, and have decided that now is the time to give something back!

Definitely NOT a luxury experience. The hotel is dated and tired. There are no 'extra' touches that warrant the $1600 per night tariff. The rooftop space is bare, stark and not at all a luxury experience. We did not spend more than 30 seconds here- the jacuzzi did not work (despite having been interrupted by a workman who came to "check" the spa within 1hour of our arrival) and the outdoor furniture is tacky, dated and tired. Yes, it is Versace branded but it is lavender and green. Need I say more.

Il Barocco restaurant is satisfactory for a buffet dinner, but approximates the quality of a standard hotel seafood buffet. Vanitas is quite good, but the degustation menu is overwhelmed by an excess of unoriginal Asian flavours, which are commonplace in larger cities like Sydney. The sommelier is outstanding and knowledgeable, however.

The whole building is showing signs of ageing. There are cracks in the exterior architecture. The pool that is the view of the marina side of the building (which the more expensive condos overlook) is dirty and tired.

We requested a late check out due to the fact that I am here to attend a medical conference at the Gold Coast Convention Centre and my boyfriend is stuck at the hotel. Despite the exorbitant rate we are paying, they want to charge us for every hour extra we stay. Difficult to understand.

Compared to the ocean view condo that we stayed in at the truly exquisite Qualia for $1500 per night and the entry level suite we are due to stay at the Emirates Wolgan Valley resort for $1470 per night (all meals included!), the Palazzo Versace value for money and 'luxury' standard is difficult to understand.

However, unfortunately it appears to be the best the Gold Coast can offer. If you MUST come here (like me, for work) then the Palazzo Versace is a necessary evil (I don't think they're is much better available). But if you are looking for somewhere luxurious to stay in Australia, look at the true 5 and 6 star resorts like Wolgan Valley or Qualia.

Definitely not an exclusive or luxury resort. Once they catch up with the luxury eco-resorts that are cropping up around Australia, perhaps they will be competitive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Front Office Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us how we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. We certainly take your criticism very seriously, and I'm dismayed to hear that your overall impression wasn't as favorable as we would like.
I am sorry that our condominium décor is not to your taste. While several aesthetic elements, synonymous of Versace such as the Medusa and the Greek key appear in both areas, the condos are specifically decorated in a vastly different style to the main hotel. Within the hotel for example, we have used photographic artwork depicting Gianni’s early collections featuring many of the 80’s “super models”. In the condos however, the collection of frames depict Gianni’s designs for the opera and ballet companies in La Scala opera house in Paris and Rome. We do readily admit that our property is 10 years old, however we are currently in the process of upgrading the cabanas in the condo’s outdoor area to the current collection that you may have seen around the lagoon pool.
I agree that Qualia is an amazing property one that I have stayed at several times, the view and island surroundings are sublime. We at Palazzo Versace have tried very hard to create an environment of serenity where beauty abounds within the coastal city where we are based. The Gold Coast is renowned as a diversity of a destination which can be scenic and peaceful as much as it is fast paced and active, however we can also appreciate that it is not everyone's cup of tea.
Our signature dining restaurant, Vanitas does have several Asian fusion, as well as other International inspired dishes on our al a carte menu that we believe, make up the definition of modern Australian cuisine. Our Degustation Menu is changed each six weeks in order to reach our goal of providing a contemporary menu and perfectly-matched wines combined with exemplary service. Please rest assured that I have passed your comments on to our Executive Chef to ensure our standards are always maintained to the highest level.
Should you return to the Gold Coast, and happen to book again with us please let me know, as I would love to try to make your next stay the luxurious respite you were looking for. I do hope you'll let us know if you have any other concerns, and once again thank you very much for your feedback.
Dina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed here for our wedding night and while the staff were friendly they offered just 2 chocolates as a complimentary gift.
We were given a room out on the side in the corner which had a stunning view of a restaurant kitchen and some tables, so we could never have our curtains open.
The rooms are nice, but for this price we expected A LOT more.
The food is very good, and the pool area nice, but I would much prefer to pay money to stay at a nice hotel in a great location rather than stay here just because its the Versace.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We were really looking forward to stay at Palazzo Versace. In the end we were highly disappointed. Hotels normally offer early check-in but they gave the room 2 hours late i.e. at 4 pm and then also the room was not 100% ready. For this delay they offered us free drinks but still one cant be waiting for 4 hours for a room. The service we received at the hotel was not of very high quality. The staff were not at all friendly starting right from the reception. Valet service was too slow. They all seem to be arrogant. Breakfast taste and spread was bad! I would not recommend anybody to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We were highly disappointed on our recent stay at Palazzo Versace. We did not receive the service that a hotel of this calibre should be providing. We thought this would be an enjoyable celebration but it ended up being a disappointment in all areas of customer service. It started from the arrogant service at Front Desk where we were not appropriately greeted and to top it off, the guests behind us were served and greeted before us, with no acknowledgement or apology given. Check-out was just as shocking as we were served with staff with no customer service skills whatsoever! I am sure we would have recieved more customer service skills from a 3 star hotel! The only staff that we found contributed positively to the hotel was a concierge of Indian descent and the valet parking staff. Overall the hotel can do with alot more customer service training from the other 5 star hotels in the area, which we currently visit on an annual basis. I would never stay at this hotel again and find it highly overpriced for the service (or short of service) that we received.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVGC, Front Office Manager at Palazzo Versace, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
I am most grateful to you for bringing these matters to our attention as it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to constantly monitor and improve our hotel operation more closely.
I have addressed your feelings and experience with our team. We believe that our enthusiasm, coupled with the friendly, personalised, and flawless service will be the foundation of our guests’ unique experience. Every fiber of our culture is based on this premise and when I read otherwise, it is shared with the entire staff. Our Front Office staff are an extension of me and if they let you down, I let you down.
You maybe wondering about our positive reviews, these too are shared and those mentioned are recognised. But we want all our guests to have an amazing experience, if one does not, then we missed our goal. Goals are important. My personal one is for you to allow us the opportunity to extend to you the true Palazzo Versace service that we strive to achieve as a five star establishment. . Please contact me. Dina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Versace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Versace

Address: Sea World Dr. | PO Box 137, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Versace 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and the Gold Coast Broadwater, Palazzo Versace Gold Coast is ‘a destination within a destination’. A waterfront setting, spectacular architecture, Italian furnishings, extraordinary service and an ambience of pure glamour. Palazzo Versace is everything you would expect from the world’s first fully fashion-branded hotel; home to three award winning restaurants, famed day spa, Fitness & Wellbeing Centre, private marina, Versace Boutique and access to Australia’s first Water Salon poolside cabana experience. Housing 200 light-filled rooms in timeless craftsmanship accessorised by Bespoke Versace furnishing and a ‘Juliet’ balcony inviting the Gold Coast sunshine and azure skies to pour in.With a glorious sub-tropical climate; cosmopolitan approach to life; and the beauty of a Renaissance palace, Palazzo Versace creates the perfect holiday and the ultimate escapism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Versace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Versace Main Beach
Palazzo Versace Hotel Main Beach
Hotel Versace
Palazzo Versace Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Versace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.