We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Versace "Motel"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Versace

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Versace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Palazzo Versace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sea World Dr. | PO Box 137, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST RATE GUARANTEED
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Main Beach
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Versace "Motel"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

I decided to stay here for my anniversary hoping for something special (given the price you pay and the brand name). What we found was something completely different. For a supposedly top quality hotel, their quality, and attention to detail was far from adequate. In the bedroom, accessories were largely cheap. Daewoo minibar (cheapest), NEC TV (not flatscreen, cheap brand), Playstation 1 games (but had to pay extra), cheap internet keyboard, Furniture falling apart in places, no cable/international TV (e.g. No CNN), Toilet roll holders falling off the wall, towel hangers not screwed into wall properly, toilet seat on crooked, soap scum in bath tub, world time clock on bedside table (cheap china made one) set to wrong timezone...
The floor layout of the hotel is also annoying, where for upper floors, you must choose your elevator carefully as the left/right wings don't connect. There are no windows in the corridors and most rooms have limited or poor views. Verandas in the superior rooms are about 20cm wide. With the valet parking, keys are simply thrown from person to person and sometimes dropped, so if your keyrings come back with scratches on them don't be surprised. The buffet breakfast was OK, but hygiene in the re-stocking of the fruit was substandard. There was no attention to detail and the sanitary gloves worn to handle the food were also used to clean the benches.
Add to this, that on the morning of checking out, we were given the bill for a different couple all together, including their personal details, meaning that someone else would have recieved our personnal details and detailed bill.
In summary, if you are looking for a room that is falling apart, has cheap facillities, and not much attention to detail, then either stay at Versace, or save your money and get the same service at a motel. Luckily we didn't go here for our honeymoon.

  • Liked — The bed wasn't too uncomfortable
  • Disliked — No attention to detail
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    186
    87
    49
    47
See reviews for
148
438
26
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

A stunning hotel. Have stayed here 4 times and am yet to be disappointed! The last time we stayed was in a Deluxe Broadwater Suite and I felt like a princess! The service at the pool, spa and breakfast buffet was fantastic and everyone tries to make the stay as pleasurable as possible. Don't think twice... Book NOW!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs,england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2007

Stopped off for 5 nights at the above hotel on recent visit to Australia.
From the time you enter the hotel and are greeted by the black tee shirt uniformed staff, you enter the world of Versace which is evident through the furnishings and decor throughout the hotel.
Service etc was excellent, and the restaurants at the hotel were well worth visiting.
Prices are typical of a 5 star hotel, however there are a few bars and good restaurants on the small marina which is situated right next to the hotel which offer excellent food at a cheaper prices.
If you want to be pampered and looked after, you certainly shouldn't be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

I have stayed in many of the great hotels around the world and would say that this was the WORST one ever. The service was non existent from start to finish. I stayed there with my family for four nights and we had really been looking forward to the glamour of it all. On arrival we had to unload our own luggage from the car and were kept waiting in reception for 45 minutes before being greeted or even just aknowledged. We had specifically asked for no smoking rooms and yet we were twice put into obvious smoking rooms before being placed in a suitable room. We ordered room service on the first night and not only was the food vile and cheaply produced, it also gave one of my family food poisoning. Breakfast was a joke. Two mornings we had to QUEUE for 15 minutes before being able to be seated. Ridiculous.
The swimming pool itself was superb but the sun loungers were crammed in so tight there was absolutely no privacy. The Versace looks beautiful from the outside but that is just a facade. I am so upset. I wasted so much money ( that I work damn hard for) on such an awful place. Believe me, 'complementary' toiletries are not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

what an excellent hotel got the chance to stay while in brisbane would love to stay again well worth it even if its just for 1 night

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

The Versace is an amazing hotel there is no doubt about it - but what makes it even more amazing is the service - top notch.

Its a hotel which is a class apart from anything out there in the Gold Coast - nothing even comes close.

The only thing Ill have to say against the hotel is that the regular rooms are a bit too small - so if you can afford it get a superior suite - cause for two people it might get too cramped.

I shifted into a suite after 3 days of arriving cause the hotel was fully booked - the suite was just beautiful.

So great was this hotel that we actually cancelled our trip to melbourne and decided to stay an extra 4 days just enjoyng the hotel.

The food is unbelievable - both the Vie and Vanitas restaurants serve exquisite food and the breakfast buffet at the Il Barocco is also fab.

Shopping at Marina Mirage is good but if you really want you can take a 20 min cab ride to Pacific Fair which is an open air shopping mall which houses everything and has cinemas as well.

The beach is just a 5 min walk away and trust me though the sheraton mirage is right on the beach it just cant compare to the Versace.

The pool is fantastic - it is huge and clean and the best place to spend the day when the sun is out.

In my opinion the Versace is probably one of the best holiday hotels in the world - there is no doubt - if you are deciding where to go chose this place - its awesome.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Size of Room and small Gym
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

This would have to be one of the most superb places we have ever stayed. From arrival to check out everything was just perfect.
Our room had an understated elegance so typical of the Versace brand. Everything has the Versace stamp on it. The furniture, the linen, the cushions, the porcelian, the bathroom products etc. there is even an oil burner for use. I have tried to buy the same oil but just can't seem to find it. The palazzo Versace experience is not like any other. You feel very special and pampered. Our buffet breakfast was wonderful, the choices many and replenished regularly. The staff are all very attentive and friendly. Our room had a European balcony which means just an ornate rail looking to a view- of the gold coast and the pool with gardens.Our King size bed was absolutely huge. The rooms are serviced daily and then "turned down" at night.
The entrance to the Versace is filled with orchid stems during the day and tea light candles at night. Floral arrangements of proteas are stunning. The Hotel restaurants, well worth a visit, are are also very special offering excellent cuisine. Our only hiccoup to an otherwise perfect stay was the frosted bathroom doors- which we are unaccustomed too. On checkout you can book a complimentery guest room to freshen up in prior to departure for the airport. Every element of our stay at this Hotel was fabulous we left feeling very tranquil and special. Definitely will return again.

  • Liked — The ambience and the way they make you feel special
  • Disliked — frosted bathroom doors or no doors
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Versace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Versace

Address: Sea World Dr. | PO Box 137, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Main Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Versace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and the Gold Coast Broadwater, Palazzo Versace Gold Coast is ‘a destination within a destination’. A waterfront setting, spectacular architecture, Italian furnishings, extraordinary service and an ambience of pure glamour. Palazzo Versace is everything you would expect from the world’s first fully fashion-branded hotel; home to three award winning restaurants, famed day spa, Fitness & Wellbeing Centre, private marina, Versace Boutique and access to Australia’s first Water Salon poolside cabana experience. Housing 200 light-filled rooms in timeless craftsmanship accessorised by Bespoke Versace furnishing and a ‘Juliet’ balcony inviting the Gold Coast sunshine and azure skies to pour in.With a glorious sub-tropical climate; cosmopolitan approach to life; and the beauty of a Renaissance palace, Palazzo Versace creates the perfect holiday and the ultimate escapism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Palazzo Versace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Versace Main Beach
Palazzo Versace Hotel Main Beach
Hotel Versace
Palazzo Versace Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Versace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.