We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giving T&W a second chance” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tedder and Woodroffe

Tedder and Woodroffe
Shop 19-21 Tedder Avenue, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia
+61 7 5532 4539
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 53 Restaurants in Main Beach
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Giving T&W a second chance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After a poor experience last time, we decided to go back to T&W for breakfast. The main problem is the service. It is like being there in amateur hour. You barely notice the food when it eventually arrives. No one noticed the dog lying under a nearby table and it took 37 minutes for my juice to arrive. We won't be going back

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    19
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely place, reasonable breakfast...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We tried T & W for our 2nd brekky on Tedder Ave, after dining at Domani's the morning before. The decor & furnishings are very inviting & offer a relaxing feel. The menu looked good & prices reasonable. Service was attentive & pleasant. Drinks, then the meals, arrived shortly after ordering.

Have to say, we were a little disappointed with the meals when they arrived. Fried eggs arrived as poached eggs; pancakes were the size of pikelets!!; icecream with the pancakes was almost non-existent (like they'd just shaken off the excess icecream from the spoon after a scoop)!! The meals were a little on the small side, which reduced the value for money aspect, & when comparing to size/value from Domani's.

But, certainly a pleasant restaurant, loved the decor & would give it another go, perhaps for dinner one day.

*Loved the fresh juices served in jars! Very quirky!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We are locals at Main Beach but do not go out much to eat. We chose T & W for our annual New Year's lunch this year with friends and are pleased to report that we had a lovely day. The decor is relaxing, our table was great, the service was definitely up to scratch and the food just lovely. We enjoyed the experience so much we are heading back today for lunch again with more friends!
Well done T&W.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice spot, reasonable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stopped for a quick lunch on a hot day after a long beach walk. Found a nice spot under a ceiling fan. Service was good and the decor and atmosphere fine. Ordered a selection of small dishes to share between three of us. All good - although have to say that the Caesar Salad was very much on the small side for nineteen bucks. Good selection of cool beers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had high tea here recently which we purchased inexpensively from a 'deals' website. As such, I can't fault the value. We received a very nice bottle of champagne and selection of sweet and savoury goodies to share amongst the four of us. While we certainly polished off the sparkling, we didn't quite manage to get through all the food, so it's unlikely you'll go hungry here!

The decor at T&W is stylish and understated, with inviting chairs and lovely big timber tables reminiscent of driftwood. The restaurant has a lovely airy feel about it, and was almost empty when we arrived, so we were a little disappointed to be crammed in next to one of the only other occupied tables. We ended up having to shift the table to allow the diners behind us to get in and out. More customers did show up eventually, but not enough to warrant the squish in my eyes.

When you arrive at this beautiful restaurant, you immediately expect something special, and while the food was tasty and abundant, I wouldn't call it amazing in any way, which is disappointing. Coupled with some frankly pretty casual service, our experience stopped short of being something to write home about. That said, I would give them another chance though, to try the a la carte menu as the dishes being eaten around us all looked pretty damn good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tedder and Woodroffe also viewed

Main Beach, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 
Main Beach, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Tedder and Woodroffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tedder and Woodroffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.