We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, scenery, & staff - however poor meal quality let it all down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ribs and Rumps Marina Mirage

Ribs and Rumps Marina Mirage
Shop16 | 74 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 53 Restaurants in Main Beach
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tel: 07 5591 1677
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, scenery, & staff - however poor meal quality let it all down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Food was quite bland tasting, and price wasn't best of value. Paid nearly $55 for ribs and half chicken and got 8 dry pork ribs with little 'famous special' sauce and a half of a 'small' chicken that was dry and not overly tasty at all. Was only served with handful of chips, no salad or veggies to complement. I didn't finish the chicken at all it was so horrible, instead leaving hungry and disappointed! My wife ate a grilled chicken breast, which she said had a burnt taste, and also very dry. A side of vegetables was ordered for $8 which was merely a small handful sized serve of what you would get when buying frozen mixed soup or winter veggies from Woolworth's or Coles - for that price I at least expected fresh produce like crispy beans, broccoli, and carrot! These veggies were soft mooshi and lathered in oil!

Overall, The setting is nice and staff very friendly and accommodating, meals served quick and the place looked clean. Perhaps they just had a bad chef or microwaved their meals. Whatever the case its not really a place I would make a point of visiting again unfortunately.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    57
    33
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Usually great... Good apologies when not ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My family often eat at Ribs and Rumps at Marina Mirage. We love the kilogram racks of ribs, especially the lamb. My wife recently had ribs at Tony Roma's in Illinois. She said that Ribs and Rumps ribs are superior to Tony Roma's ribs (usually).
Tonight it was Valentine's Day and half of restaurant staff took sick leave. We booked ahead but the restaurant, which is normally packed, was half empty (quiet).
Despite the fewer number of customers there was a line up at the Maître de's kiosk. Usually the service is sharp and the waiting time from ordering to service is about 15 minutes. Tonight we waited almost an hour and were about to leave (after drawing the attention of a second staff member 15 minutes earlier to ask why the wait was so long) but the ribs got to the table just in time.
The ribs were tough and flavourless.
We complained that the dining experience was far below their usual excellence. The manager, Caron Privet, came over and explained the staff shortage situation. She offered an arrangement regarding payment that kept us happy. Despite the meal being a loser we felt that the manager was very professional. We will be happy to eat there again in future (unless there is a repeat of tonight).
Seriously, the ribs are usually awesome and despite my ravenous appetite I always leave full.
Good save Ribs and Rumps!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great food and Service. So glad we found this place. Late to dinner the place was packed but they found us a table. Staff very polite even though they were extremely busy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

all good service and food very good the only thing very busy but must be good as people really liked it

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ribs & Rumps Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Food, service & staff were fantastic. Kids eat free on particular night (contact Ribs & Rumps when booking). Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ribs and Rumps Marina Mirage also viewed

Main Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Ribs and Rumps Marina Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ribs and Rumps Marina Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.