We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation at Reasonable Prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Meriton on Main Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Meriton on Main Beach to your Saves list
The Meriton on Main Beach
29 Woodroffe Avenue, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation at Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

My husband and I have stayed in these apartments on a number of occassions and never have any complaints. All the apartments both 2 bedroom and 3 have been lovely. We especially love the apartments overlooking the Broadwater just perfect for gazing at with a glass of wine. Greg and Ian the caretakers are fantastic and nothing is ever too much trouble for them. The facilities are fantastic and their prices very reasonable. I would recommend these apartments to anyone wanting a great time on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011 via mobile

We keep comming back. The views over the Broadwater from the large sweeping balconies are amazing. We love looking for the showboat everynight while having drinks in the balcony and discuss which restaurant will we choose in Tedder.
Walking to Surfers on the beach...coffee in Tedder...a beer at the Surf Club...dinner in Tedder or the Yacht Club...life doesn't get better than this.
The Meriton is so well located...we don't even need the car.

We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed at the Meriton with friends and our teenage girls. What a gorgeous spot. Only two blocks from the beach, with different lovely views from every room. Beautiful grounds and amenities. The girls loved the indoor pool and spa after coming back from the beach. Fabulously central for amazing restaurants and coffee shops. Will definitely stay here again - thankyou!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in 3 bedroom. Lovely big unit. Very nicely decorated and great furniture. Great views both towards the ocean and out over the Spit and river. Only downside was the light blinds in main bedroom which meant waking up to sunshine at 4.30am. Other bedrooms had black blinds which were fine. Great location and beautiful grounds with indoor and outdoor pool and tennis court. Close to Tedder Ave and the restaurants. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed at the Meriton in November - our second visit. I have three daughters aged 24, 18 and 17 and we all liked it so much we were happy to return. We have stayed in other properties in Main Beach before but this is the one that we will keep coming back to.

The Meriton is family operated and Ian, Bev and Greg are all great to deal with, very helpful and welcoming. They keep the property immaculate, the grounds, gardens and facilities are all very well maintained. They are also happy to book tickets for the theme parks for you and have a wide range of tourist information at the front desk.

The apartments themselves are clean and well appointed, with magnificent views. We stayed in a 2 bedroom self contained apartment, while not luxury accommodation it was perfect for us. We had amazing views of the beach, Southport and Main Beach and the river. Evenings on the balcony are beautiful with cool coastal breezes.

The Meriton has all the usual facilities, including two undercover barbeques in garden settings, both an indoor and an outdoor pool, spa, sauna, a limited amount of gym equipment and a tennis court.

Tedder Avenue, the main strip in Main Beach, is literally metres away but unlike Surfers Paradise this area is quiet and clean. Tedder Ave consists mostly of restaurants and a few boutiques, while not cheap it is nice to just wander down at night and enjoy the surroundings. We had a great meal at Tooleys, the corner bar/restaurant one night. The local surf club is also just down the road. If you need groceries you will find better value at the supermarkets in Australia Fair and Surfers Paradise.

The beach is about 200 metres away and an adjacent walking trail which runs for about 15 kilometres, it takes you up to Southport and back down to Surfers.

If you're looking for clubs and nightlife you can head to Surfers, which is about five minutes away, there are plenty of taxis and public transport. Sea World is just down the road at Southport.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Meriton on Main Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meriton on Main Beach

Address: 29 Woodroffe Avenue, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated off Main Beach's famous Tedder Avenue, The Meriton on Main Beach offers holiday apartments to comfortably accomodate yourself and your family's stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Meriton on Main Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meriton On Main Beach Gold Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meriton on Main Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.