We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greedy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Crest Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Crest Apartments to your Saves list
The Crest Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   15 Breaker Street, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Emerald, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Greedy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked to stay over the Christmas period 2014 but unfortunately my daughter was run off the road in our car which resulted in injuries to her & our car being written off. When I contacted the Manager to explain my situation, letting her know I did not have transport & would need to cancel she was extremely unsympathetic & was only concerned about the loss of rental income. I was offered to use the room another time but as I explained I live a days drive away & could not guarantee when I would be able to get there, if at all as the accident is under police investigation & will have to go before the courts. In the end they kept my money even though she admitted the room had been let for several days over the time we had booked. After the attitude I received I would not want to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
952SeanB952, Front Office Manager at The Crest Apartments, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We were sorry to hear of the situation you have described to us directly and in your on-line review. However the point must be made that we were certainly not unsympathetic to your circumstances, and that actually out of kindness you were given many options - all of which you declined. All accommodation providers have clear policies and processes in place should a cancellation be required. You cancelled inside of 14 days of your arrival and our cancellation policy states that no refund of deposit should be given. Because of your circumstances we actually deviated away from our policy twice - offering you the opportunity to stay with us again any time in the next year with absolutely no penalty applied to your deposit. We also offered you your full deposit back in the event that we could sell the five nights that you had cancelled. We did not 'admit', but we volunteered the information that we had already sold two of the five nights, and that we were hopeful that at such late notice we may still be able to replace your original booking. In this scenario we would not be financially impacted upon and neither would you.

We wish you and your daughter well during a period that is obviously causing frustration, anger and uncertainty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    20
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
24
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a week here, in a unit on the east corner on the 6th floor. What a wonderfully maintained complex. Gardens are beautiful, pool areas are clean and lovely. Tennis court, gym all clean and in great condition. Even the foyer and lifts are spotless and modern. Our room was a two bedroom with the kitchen and living area facing over the pool to the north. We had a nice view of the ocean and it was quiet and serene. A great balcony too. The bedrooms face the south and Surfers Paradise to the mountains. It is lovely view over Macintosh Park, you can hear the Peacocks calling! However it is a bit noiser with the traffic of buses, rubbish trucks etc. There is lovely flow through ventilation or the air con. Two nice bathrooms, one with a tub! A nice kitchen with a big window and view of the ocean to the east.

The location is lovely, a walk out to the north gate down a quiet Cronin Street, to the Cafe strip on Tedder Avenue. Or walk out the main entrance and you are a block from the waterway to Narrowneck. Bus stops up the street and the new Light Rail system a few blocks to the highway.

We love Main Beach and I think if we ever wanted to live here this would be the building. The Management are friendly, profession and very helpful. Overall a really fabulous complex.

Room Tip: If you choose a room on the east corner, you will get windows on three sides of the unit with fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were extremely satisfied with our recent stay at The Crest. We had a very large Family Reunion in November and on every occasion the reception staff we amazing. They were always accommodating and helpful. We had the Penthouse and also 2 bedroom apartments on the lower floor could not fault anything. The location was perfect as we were very close to the Beach, Tedder Avenue and the Main Beach Tram Station. With 2 pools and Tennis Court there was lots of entertainment for us at the apartments. Nothing was too far and the price was great! All apartments were very clean and modern. The staffs at the Crest are the real asset as they went above and beyond to help our group, not an easy feat to please 22 people but they did it with ease. I recommend The Crest Apartments with 100% satisfaction and we will return and stay here again and again and again :)

Room Tip: The higher the better. The Penthouse has its own private Rooftop Bbq balcony which is huge. Keep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Overall, we were very satisfied with the apartment. It was located in a quiet area away from the main Gold Coast strip, but was still close enough to enable easy access to all attractions. The reception staff were accommodating and helpful.
The only drawback from our point of view was that it would have been helpful to have more complimentary supplies provided (e.g. tea/coffee, condiments, soap, etc.) as well as perhaps a change of towels each couple of days, and also the provision of complimentary beach towels.

Room Tip: The apartment was spacious and comfortable, with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

My husband was playing lawn bowls in the Pan Pacific Master Games at the Southport Bowls Club. My daughter has stayed a couple if times at the Crest Apartments and recommended we stay there. Our one bedroom apartment on Floor 17 was perfect for us. Fantastic views of the beach, the river, mountains and Surfers particularly at night was spectacular. So convenient for public transport especially the new trams, Tedder Ave and the beach just down the road. The staff were friendly and the amenities with pool, tennis court and bar b q areas perfect. Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We stayed at The Crest last night, and frankly was left disappointed. It was fine, if we were paying $160 a night, but for $260 a night it was well below par. We looked straight into other units, air con was very loud (although appreciated being able to self control the temp), was told we HAD to check out at 10:00am, despite the receipt from booking.com stating 10:00am - 11:00am. The unit was clean, however, we were told that before exiting all residents must wash any dishes used AND take down any garbage in the kitchen bin. If we didn't we could expect a $50 fine. Sorry, but for $260, I shouldn't have to empty a few things out of a garbage bin and wash a few cups up. Hotel had wifi but 4 hours use was $18.95. Crazy stuff. Won't be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

My family and I stayed here over the GC600 weekend. Perfect location and the staff were incredibly accommodating, I would recommend staying here for anyone looking for a great holiday, I would certainly come again!

Room Tip: Try to get the Penthouse awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crest Apartments

Address: 15 Breaker Street, Main Beach, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crest Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a selection of Fully Self Contained 1,2 Bedroom Apartments & 3 Bedroom Penthouse Apartments, the Crest Main Beach Apartments are ideally located between the Broadwater and the beach. The Crest Main Beach offers a host of luxury indoor and outdoor facilities including full size tennis, indoor and outdoor pool, sauna, spa, gymnasium and games room for the kids. Our Luxury Apartments offer you an opportunity to stay & take advantage of the Main Beach lifestyle at a price you can afford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Crest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crest Apartments Hotel Main Beach
The Crest Apartments Gold Coast/Main Beach, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.