We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashmore Palms Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ashmore Palms Holiday Village to your Saves list
Ashmore Palms Holiday Village
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   71 Hinde Street, Ashmore, Queensland 4214, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Ashmore B&B and Inns
perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We checked into a palm cottage ( myself and my son) for a two night stay. The cottage was clean and contained everything you would need for self catering. The reception staff were extremely pleasant and check in and out was a breeze. I liked the pool. It was close to theme parks and shops, fast food etc. The only thing I didn't like was that the location of our cottage was near to the caged birds and they were extremely noisy in the morning, I was woken at 630 am. Next day I used the overhead fan and that was successful in blocking out all noise which was great. Overall it was a pleasant enough stay.

Room Tip: Away from the birds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHV4214, Public Relations Manager at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear PerthHolidaylover, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your Gold Coast holiday at Ashmore Palms. It was great to hear that you and your son mostly enjoyed your holiday with us. In regard to Ashmore Palms’ exotic parrots, they are a much valued attraction in the Village. However, we appreciate that guests on holidays may want to sleep when the beautiful birds are beginning their day. May we suggest you request a cabin situated away from the birds for your next visit. We hope you will consider staying Ashmore Palms again for your next Gold Coast holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    55
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
317
17
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week in September after booking via the website direct. The price offered was excellent for what was advertised. We booked a 3 bedroom Classic Family Villa, that from the picture looked clean, well kept and what we wanted. Communication was excellent from the staff throughout the process before we arrived.
Upon arrival check in was simple and the information pack provided was excellent.
We found our villa with ease, however upon opening the door the overpowering scent diminished any joy we had on getting inside (we believe this fragrance is sprayed over the very grubby couches).
The villa was tidy with ample sitting area, bedrooms with robes, functional bathroom and separate toilet. It certainly did not reflect the picture of the classic villa on the website and initially we believed that we had been given a budget villa in error.
My husband checked whether an error had been made, only to be told that some villas were renovated and some were not but that we had been given an unrenovated classic villa. We later realised that whilst the villa initially appeared cleaned, it was not.
The toilet had mould marks on both walls, there were cobwebs surrounding the television and dirt/dust around the walls. The couches were dirty, and had an odour that we assume the cleaners try to cover with the strong fragrance we encountered upon entry.
The pool area in the village is 5 star, however the toilets around the pool were worse than those we have seen in Bali. It is sad that additional care was not taken to keep them clean during the day.
The 2 playgrounds look well kept and our children enjoyed playing on them.
The activities for the children in the mornings are fantastic and the building they were held in is new and clean with a sitting area outside and a large screen television. The washing facilities were good with plenty of washing lines. However, pegs could be offered for sale in the store rather than suggesting it was odd that we did not have any.
There are a few BBQ's around the village, sadly these are not free which we thought a little odd given that there are numerous signs around the park advising that facilities are for guests only so there would be no outside users of the BBQ's.
As you travel further into the village (past the new and renovated accommodations) the place starts to look like a long term/permanent caravan park with quite a few looking poor and in need of repair. This was the section of the village that we were in.
The location is good if you want to drive everywhere. There are things within walking distance, but they are supermarkets and fast food and the roads to walk along are not pleasant as it is an industrial area. There is a rear entrance for walking through to the shopping complex however we were advised that it was not suitable for a pram and so did not attempt to use it.
The checkout process was seamless and the key bond was returned without fuss. We did complete the comment card and made these observations.
The post card we received from the village a few days after returning home was a nice touch, but in future it may be prudent to read a leaving guests comment card before sending it.
Would we stay here again? Probably not.

Room Tip: Closer to the entrance appear to be better than those at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHV4214, Owner at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. It is through such feedback that we can improve our service. My husband and I have read your comments on Trip Advisor carefully and we are pleased about the compliments from you for our facilities and we are disappointed and take full responsibility for the parts that didn’t please you.
Our Classic Family Villas are a popular choice with families and we strive to ensure that the cabin facilities and cleanliness is of a high standard. When your husband enquired and was told that your cabin was probably an unrestored cabin, that information was wrong. It is a Classic Family Villa.
You have made some valid comments regarding the cabin and pool toilets and we have passed these onto our team to ensure that these concerns do not happen again. We would have liked to assist you upon arrival so we could have dealt with your concerns then.
We have stepped up the inspections and cleaning of our pool toilets to be more frequent now.
Each cabin has pegs in the cabin for guests to use at no cost, so we do not understand why there weren’t any in your cabin. As well, we offer pegs for sale.
In regards to the BBQ’s, we charge a very nominal fee to assist with the adult supervision of the area and to ensure that the BBQ area is a safe environment for all family members and to prevent misuse of the barbecues which were being tampered with and turned on needlessly by children. Consider also that all our many other activities are totally free.
It was pleasing to read that the check-in, check-out and communication provided by our team were seamless and with no fuss. Our children’s activities are a special part of what we offer to our families and we are delighted that during your week stay with us, your children enjoyed themselves.
Once again, we respect and appreciate your feedback. We take it seriously and we hope that in the future you may stay with us again and have a better experience of our Village. Please identify yourselves to us on your next visit.
Frank and Maria Illich, Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently stayed in a Palm Cottage for 3 nights. I think what first surprised us was that it is at the end of a road in an industrial area, we thought we were in the wrong area - despite having the GPS. Maybe a sign at the beginning of Hinde Street would be helpful? And depending on the way you turn onto Hinde Street, the roundabout could be dangerous, especially in rush hour.

The cabin we had was clean and a small well equipped kitchen. Dining table for 4 and a small livingroom. TV was on top of the desk - desk had a chair to it, so if anybody wanted to sit at the desk, they would block the tv.

The main bedroom had a queen bed, but the room was small...too small to put our 1 suitcase in the room and to still have room to walk around the bed...so...it stayed in the livingroom. The other bedroom had a single bed and bunk beds, which was good for our daughter - if we had more than the 1 child, it would have been tight.

We found that the cabin needed updating, it was definitely dated.

The grounds themselves are nice. 1 kids pool and 1 bigger pool. A $50 refundable key deposit is paid on arrival.

Staff was friendly and very helpful when we asked about places to shop and eat.

The park offers shuttle buses on certain days to Surfers Paradise Markets and to the shopping centre. They also have activities on for the kids etc.

Sea World approximately 15 minute drive. Movie World approximately 20-25 minutes. Surfers Paradise about 20 minutes.

Can not say for sure whether we would stay here again, I tend to think not. If we did, we would look at a Macaw Mansion and would hope that it would be bigger and more updated. I don't think the cabin was worth the inflated rate (school holidays) we paid. We paid less in other accommodations on this trip that was less and was 4-5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHV4214, Owner at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear wifeofanaussie,
Thank you for your review of your Ashmore Palms holiday. We always appreciate hearing about our guests’ holiday experiences to assist us with future planning and development of the Village. In regard to your comment about better street signage, there is a good sign pointing to Ashmore Palms at the beginning of Hinde street. It is very expensive and it is not possible to put up any more signage.
We wished we had the opportunity to address the suitability of your choice of cabin style while you were staying with us. We may have been able to provide a more suitable alternative. As you are aware, there are four other Ashmore Palms’ cabin styles larger than the ‘middle-of-the-range’ Palm Cottage. At Ashmore Palms’, there is an ongoing cabin maintenance and refurbishment program in place.
If you are able to holiday outside of the September/October Peak and Summer Peak holiday seasons, you will find our rates competitive. We hope that you will consider staying with us again sometime to experience the kind of Gold Coast holiday many others write about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

It really is all that you could want. Two pools, great kids activities in the morning and close to everything. Little things that make the difference - like stroller hire, book exchange. great place have already recommended to all my friends. Only negative would be large sporting group taking over the pool one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHV4214, Public Relations Manager at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Claire,
Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing Ashmore Palms for your Gold Coast holiday. We apologise for the large group in the pool area on one day. You pay us the ultimate compliment by recommending us to all of your family and friends. We really appreciate your time taken to write a review and look forward to seeing you and your family back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for close to a week but would have loved to stay longer. The resort is fantastic, far enough away from the hustle and bustle but only a short drive to all the surfers attractions. Our cabin was lovely, very clean and had everything we needed. The pool area and playgrounds were a big highlight for the kids. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHV4214, Public Relations Manager at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Shellinkin,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family had a great time at Ashmore Palms and we look forward to seeing you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoral
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was a wonderful place to go and have a holiday, it was away from the hustle and bustle yet a close drive to everything we wanted.the room we had was perfect,everything was provided, it was clean and very well maintained.the staff were very helpful and friendly and always had a smile and a hello to give. every morning there was something to take the kids to, which was great and made my daughter really enjoy her holiday. We would highly recommend family's to put Ashmore palms on their next holiday wish list. Loved it and we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHV4214, Public Relations Manager at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Mary,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write some lovely words about your Gold Coast family holiday at Ashmore Palms. We are always pleased to hear when we meet and exceed our guest’s expectations, particularly when the kids' have a great time! It is very kind of you to recommend Ashmore Palms' to the TripAdvisor travel community. We really appreciate it! Can’t wait to see you and your family back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We are planning our next trip up. So close to the theme parks and with wonderful facilities and animals. So much to so you don't need to leave. Yet close enough to everything if you did. Beaches, shops and theme parks at your doorstep.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHV4214, Public Relations Manager at Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Simone,
Thank you for your great review and for choosing Ashmore Palms for your Gold Coast holiday destination. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and look forward to seeing you and your family here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashmore Palms Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmore Palms Holiday Village

Address: 71 Hinde Street, Ashmore, Queensland 4214, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Ashmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ashmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashmore Palms Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashmore Palms Holiday Village is a family owned and operated holiday village, nestled on almost 15 acres of lush, tropical landscaping on Australia's Gold Coast in Queensland. The Village provides a relaxed, yet central holiday setting. Conveniently located close to the major theme parks and Surfers Paradise, the award-winning village offers a range of self-contained holiday cabin accommodation, popular with families, couples, groups and business travelers. Ashmore Palms has extensive family-friendly facilities and offers free children's activities.Next time you holiday on the Gold Coast, make Ashmore Palms your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ashmore Palms Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashmore Palms Holiday Village Hotel Ashmore
Palms Holiday Village Ashmore
Palms Holiday Village Hotel Ashmore
Ashmore Palms Holiday Village Gold Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashmore Palms Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.