We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic if you love queuing.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wet 'n' Wild Water World

Wet 'n' Wild Water World
Pacific Motorway, Oxenford, Queensland 4210, Australia
+61 7 5556 1610
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$74*
and up
Gold Coast Theme Park Pass: Movie World, Sea...
Ranked #3 of 4 Attractions in Oxenford
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Water Parks, Amusement Parks
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic if you love queuing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Was there in peak time so was extremely busy. Have been a couple of times in the past and really enjoyed my visits. This time there were a few changes that made a big difference.
The express tickets (or whatever you want to call them) that allow you to jump the queue at an extra cost are a complete insult to everyone in the park. First of all you pay alot to get into the park and then you find that you have to wait while the queue jumpers go in front. The rides dont go any faster and you find that the poor mans queue just doent move. You think that you have a 40 minute wait but end up waiting an hour and a half. Grossly unfair system to squeeze an extra few bucks out of people.
Next they have cut the staff so much you have one person looking after up to 4 rides the result is that they move painfully slowly.
I know that I was there at peak season but come on! In 6 hours we got on 4 rides, that is a lot of dollars per ride.
With the queue jumping system and the lack of staff I have no inclination to go back again.

Oh and forgot to mention if you have young children dont expect to ride on a slide with them. You must go down first leaving your tiny child alone in an exremely crowded and unusual environment and hope that they will follow you down while you wait at the bottom of the ride. If your little one doent come down for any reason I guess you have lost them! Oh well - obviously traumatic damage doesnt come under health and safety. Just thought I would mention as no one will tell you until you have waited in a queue for 2 hours and you have developed trench foot from standing in a pool of water for so long.

Apart from the above have a great time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    284
    139
    75
    85
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome slides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Really good waterpark with lots and lots of variety of slides, the cost is rather expensive and I wouldn't purchase it without the month pass to WB Movie World and Seaworld. At least if you get those for that little bit extra it's not so expensive. There's lots to do here, enough to spend a full day. Some slides suit the thrillseekers and some for the people who don't like to be scared. Definatley worth a visit. A go on the Flowrider costs extra mind you.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Looking tired and worn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to wet n wild, our last being about about 3 years ago. I must say, apart from the Aqua Loop and the Kamikaze nothing much has changed. The place is looking dated and could really use a lick of paint and a spruce up. The kids enjoyed the day but I was really disappointed. The queue's were annoying, particularly when you get to the top of a ride and find only one slide out of two is working! Whether this is a conscious decision by management to save money on staff I'm unsure but the queuing time could have halved simply by putting a few extra staff on to increase capacity - we managed only 2 rides in our first 2 hours at the park! The queuing for an expensive lunch item is also terrible. A better system needs to be investigated.
As a new south Welshman - jamberoo recreation park was looking better than wet n wild and it is supposed to be the original and best! Do yourself a favour - if you're on he Gold Coast and keen to take the kids to a water park .... Go to Dreamworld/White Water World. It has the benefit of two parks in one and I believe the rides are better and certainly more modern.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Longest waits of all parks, dirty bathrooms.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We have been to all the other gold coast theme parks. This one is the worst. Firstly the wait times are for everything. Queue down through the carpark on arrival. With only half the slides open the queues were 30-40mins. Secondly the cleanliness is appalling. The toilet blocks were dirty, and all slide equipment slimy and mouldy. We will NEVER come back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Manage your expectations and you will be fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Please note that this is a relatively old park
Having said that if you manage your expectations you will be fine
The park has many attractions but lacks a single's line and/or charging more for having an express line.
The probability that you will have fu will depend on (1) your child's age and (2) what time of the year ie how many time you will spend in the queues.

Food prices are extremely expensive.
Tip - get out of the park, cross the road, go to a McDonald's and come back for more

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wet 'n' Wild Water World also viewed

 
Coomera, Gold Coast
Coomera, Gold Coast
 

Been to Wet 'n' Wild Water World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wet 'n' Wild Water World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.