We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a rip off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wet 'n' Wild Water World

Wet 'n' Wild Water World
Pacific Motorway, Oxenford, Queensland 4210, Australia
+61 7 5556 1610
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$74*
and up
Gold Coast Theme Park Pass: Movie World, Sea...
Ranked #3 of 4 Attractions in Oxenford
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Water Parks, Amusement Parks
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Whatever you don't go. We paid a huge amount of money to stand in queues all day. Arrived at 10, left at 3 and managed a total of 2 rides. I expected to queue - maybe 40 minutes for the really popular rides, but this was over an hour for EVERY ride. tried to get in the wave pool but with so many other people i didn't feel it was possible to watch the children (all competent swimmers) and know that they were ok. The queues for rides extended well past shady areas so you just stand there baking in the relentless sun. To make it worse, some people have priority tickets and can go straight to the front of the queue. try explaining that to children that have been patient beyond their years and disappointed beyond any reasonable expectation. We had intended staying all day but having spent the day queuing to ride, really didn't feel like we had the patience to queue to get out of that car park. We cut our losses and enjoyed the beach..for free!. Truly disgusted. It is obvious that the only interest here is in selling tickets, as there can not be any hope of giving visitors a good day when so many people have been let in. I am appalled to see that last night they are still advertising. Be warned. The experience is nothing like the add. Don't waste your money.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    284
    139
    75
    85
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“People are going to be seriously ill tonight from heat exposure at this overcrowded venue”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This day was so ridiculous it was almost laughable. $250 for myself, husband and child. I managed one ride-for a total of 2 hours lining up in the scorching sun. My husband and child aborted several waiting attempts and had no rides in the end. The other 5 kids and one adult we went with had a total of 6 rides between them all day-so disappointing! We lined up with no hats, thongs, water, or sunglasses (because they are not permitted on rides) in full sunlight with no shade. We are regular beachgoers and yet still feel quite ill from sun exposure tonight-I hate to think how people from less sunny places must have faired. I asked security for a drinking fountain and they were unsure whether there was one. Want to buy water? Line up for 30 mins in the scorching sun-perfect! The least the venue could do is provide accessible drinking fountains, some shade for the ridiculously long lines, and the occasional squirt with a hose for the heat exhausted people waiting waiting waiting. A total waste of a day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hell on Earth”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place is a badly controlled zoo. The management should be ashamed of themselves. To start with, it opens before the advertised time so any decent spots in shade are taken if you arrive at the advertised time. They clearly let far too many people in the park and don't care about the experience once you are in, they just want your money. People dump their gear on any available space on the floor as there is not enough covered space. Unless you want to wait up to 90 minutes for a 5-10 second ride, you are much better off going to the beach. There is no shade while you are lining up either. The food is expensive and you have to line up 30-40 minutes for that as well. Unless you want to punish you and your family, avoid this place like the plague.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst day ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just got back from the worst experience of life. Where to start. Had to park illegally when we arrived at 11am the entire car park was in over flow mode. Had to wait in inline to buy tickets for an hour. Once in side the crowds where enormous, how and why do they allow so many in this place. Lunch que for burgers and chips was 40 minutes. The wave pool must have had 300 people in. Had to wait in line to go on a ride for 90 MINUTES, decided to get a fast pass ( another $60) for the family still had to contend with a 20 minute wait. Went to go on another ride and then the heavens opened up and they shut everything down. By this stage it's 3 pm, it took another 90 minutes to leave the car park due to the mass exodus. Seriously give this place a miss in the school holidays its just a nightmare that will haunt you.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Experience - avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had been looking forward to this visit for sometime but came away vowing never to go again. It started as a hot sunny day and quickly became apparent that the park was filling up, the problem being that it didn't stop. By about midday we were waiting for 90 minutes to get on to a often very short ride. The park was very, very packed and it became difficult to move around, hard to get food and drink and find staff to help. When we did find staff the weren't too much help anyway.

Then we had a storm. All the rides were closed promptly as they should have been and I guess staff returned to the staff room. But we couldn't be sure as when I wanted some information on what was happening, I couldn't find anyone. We did have a couple of announcements over a PA system that sounded like it had been acquired second hand from a railway. In the end we gave up and headed to the car park with everyone else only to spend an hour getting out. There was absolutely no management of the car park and no visable staff to provide any information.

A truly terrible day and one that will be hard to forget for all the wrong reasons.

avoid

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wet 'n' Wild Water World also viewed

 
Coomera, Gold Coast
Coomera, Gold Coast
 

Been to Wet 'n' Wild Water World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wet 'n' Wild Water World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.