We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty towels and rude staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pallas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pallas Hotel to your Saves list
Pallas Hotel
Laganas 29092, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 81 Hotels in Laganas
1 review
“dirty towels and rude staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

this hotel was terrible. the maids didnt wash any of our towels. the staff were rude and we struggled to get our passports back. the hotel was too far from the beach. a cat died infront of our hotel and we got chased by a dog. they have no first aid at all. in general it was just dangerous and not clean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    67
    34
    16
    11
See reviews for
21
74
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Our 2 weeks at the Pallas was fantastic couldn't have picked a better hotel especially after hearing about other hotels. We got to know the owners as they are very friendly especially Babas and Vivien. Food was great too. Not so much choice that food was left to dry out it was kept freshly topped up. Drink selection at the bar was great too, however many drinks were watered down (like the strip), so stick to beer, ouzo or wine if you want to get pissed. Both Dimitris and kirsty looked after us very well. If you want to keep pedro the security sweet then feed him crisps. Pallas makes a good hotel for all show respect and be polite you will get looked after and have a wicked hols in laganas. Chris and Cat

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I start with the good things,I have spent 7 nights with my husband there in 2012, I have been in Greece 4 and 5 star hotels aswell,I didn't felt the difference, the foods and the room service was excellent just like in 4 star, this hotel I think a small family buisness, the atmosphere was always good, and the staff was mostly very kind. The hotel is a bit far from the beach. The night life and the prices was fair enough. only one thing is, this hotel specially for the english people..:-)

Room Tip: ground floor rooms the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went as a group of 12 lads from 24th June - 1st July feeling fairly apprehensive given the reviews mentioning contempt for 18-30s groups. All but 2 of us were all inclusive (without all inclusive, the bar is very expensive) and the food was good enough, I personally ate breakfast once and was happy with the fact a full English was available. Lunch is sort of snack food but it was ample and tasted good. Dinner was tasty if a bit repetitive but as most of us were trying to load up on carbs to absorb some of the alcohol, having chips, potatoes, pasta and rice available every day plus 2 meats or a meat and a fish was probably a good thing. We were shocked to discover that they wash up their disposable plastic cups which drinks are received in but it was never really a major issue, it just seemed odd.

Kirsty the afternoon/night time bar person was the standout member of staff for us, she was full of Zante related advice and plenty of banter. Pedro the night time manager was alright with us as long as we weren't being noisy and even then as long as we turned our music off and talked quieter he was satisfied. Harry is one of owners who you won't see much of but strike up a conversation with him and you won't be disappointed, he was well humoured and clearly enjoyed life. Dimitrius the day time bar person was alright as soon as we stopped giving drinks to our non-all-inclusive friends and as long as you were polite to him, he was polite to you. The receptionist was alright when I locked my keys in my room and the cleaner was safe, if a woman of few words.

We paid for air conditioning which wasn't that unreasonable for a week and the amount we used it, the rooms would have been untenable without it. We could have done with more instructions on how to work it though, its not the easiest thing. The beds were comfy and there were duvets and extra pillows available if we needed. There were roosters outside on a morning making noise when we got in but I don't think they impaired my sleep. Don't get sunburn though because the shower is mental, it's like being hit by a hailstorm. We took pictures of the room expecting to be hit by loads of fines by the end of the holiday but anything that they can wash off you won't get charged for and they seem to know or not care about the condition of fixtures and fittings.

Had a class time at this hotel and whilst we wouldn't come back to Zante because we've been and done what we wanted to do there I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to 18-30s groups despite it's 10 minute walk to the strip and previous reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Me, my boyfriend, my sister and her boyfriend have just come back from our holiday in Greece after staying there for 10day from the 20th of June. We chose this holiday as it had the best of everything good night life and brilliant day trips and as this was what we were looking for we chose a hotel that wasn't to close to the strip that you could hear the music all night but not to far that we had to catch a taxi every night. Upon arrival we where amazed at how pretty the Hotel looked as we entered we were met by the night guard (pedro) who never spoke just passed us are keys and sat back down. We got to our room which was small but still nice and overlooked the pool. Everything seemed as if it was going to be brilliant. We were met by our rep from Thomas cook called Emily who made our day trips fantastic. The hotel was clean which was amazing considering that there was very little staff. The food was very nice for the first 2 days after which it then got repetitive as it never changed and if you were all inclusive you were tied to the hotel as breakfast is serviced at 8-10 lunch at 12-2 and tea at 7-9 so you don't really get enough time to go out in the morning when it was at its coolest. The bar has an amazing view of the pool and rooms as well as a good atmosphere how ever the "fissy" drinks were flat some spirits were watered down so much you could tell as well as some guests told us they thought so too. Most of the staff were very friendly apart from the hotel owners who were very judgemental and made us feel very on edge during our stay. The other problems I had we're that the bed is very hard and for someone with a bad back anyway this was very Painful to sleep on, the shower was broken and to small to actually use properly, I requested more pillows but got them 3 days later. The swimming pool was nice however could do with being bigger. I would defiantly come to Zante again but not to this hotel until they sort themselves out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Pallas hotel 20th June - 27th June, I travelled with 5 other girls aged 21-23 and we have an amazing time!

Food - There's only one bad thing I can point out is if you are all inclusive the food gets very repetitive but if you like pasta chips rice and bread for your tea every night then you wont have a problem. One night we decided to eat out however when we returned they had done a BBQ tea which looked and smelt amazing I think this happens every Friday night. Also please remember if you are all inclusive you can order separate snacks to what they put out everyday, we didn't discover this until our last day when we ordered pizza!

Drinks - obviously we was on holiday to party and wasn't looking forward to just drinking beer or wine like the other reviews say. We was allowed any drinks we asked for Malibu, peach snapps, vodka and shots etc. Kirsty the bar maid is very friendly she is worked off her feet but still manages to keep a smile on her face and serve us cocktails or surprise drinks as she would say :).

Rooms - we was very lucky and had pool view rooms on the top floor, the rooms are very clean and tidy, towels got changed every other day but the cleaner was in every day emptying bins and mopping floors. Yes the shower is small but this is something you get used to its not a big enough problem to give the hotel a bad review! I also defiantly recommend to pay the 50euro for the aircon its well worth it.

Pool - The pool area was gorgeous and cleaned thoroughly every night by the security guard. At 2pm-3pm everyday the Jacuzzi comes on which is nice and relaxing. The whole time we was there, we never saw a shortage of sunbeds and always managed to get 6 together. We found it very relaxing round the pool even though it was full of 18-25 year olds everyone was very respectful and kept the noise down.

Nightlife - I've seen some reviews about the dirt track to the strip, we found it safe walking to the strip at 11 every night but we would never walk down it returning home we always got a taxi just to be on the safe side. I'd say it takes about 5 minutes to get to the top and its usually quiet breezy on a night so it wasn't so bad however I wouldn't recommend it in the day time.

We all agreed that we would return to Pallas hotel it was one of the best weeks of our lives, Thanks to all the staff especially Dimitris and Kirsty for making it a pleasant stay love the girls from Hull xx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

After reading previous reviews me and my boyfriend were very nerveous about going to this hotel. We were there from 17th-24th june as a young couple ages 18 and 19. Upon arrival we were greeted by the thomas cook rep emily who was very welcoming and lovely, she showed us to our room and we were bery pleasently suprised. The hotel was very very clean, the reception area was beautiful and our room was basic but clean. The hotel itself you could see was very well maintained by the little staff they had. We noticed grass was watered everyday, plants and water in pool was testes reguraly. The restraunt looked lovely but we were not all inclusive and only wen down for breakfast once which was nice. The location of the hotel was perfect for us, as a couple we chose to go out for a meal every night and then onto the clubs if we felt like it. Its a ten minute walk to the strip, which can seem alot longer in the heat. Our balcony was looking over the mountains and olive trees, we could hear animals most of the time and found this very amusing. Our towels were changed every other day and room was cleaned every day which i was suprised by as i had read they dont change the towels. We paid for the aircon on the first day fifty euros, was a lot to us but well worth it. We had no problems with the staff in the hotel at all, one man who is on reception over night is not the friendliest of people but hey ho we just humoured him. All in all the hotel made our holiday as amazing as it was. The modern, stylish look of the hotel is very different from all others in laganas. I love everythig about this hotel and would love to return. You will not be dissapointed with the pallas hotel! Unless you are someone who would try to pick out minor faults that arent important. I do understand why older people may complain about the hotel as it was full of people our age, but everyone got along with the older people. Sometimes people need to brighten up and make the best of things, a holiday is what you make it. And the pallas and our positive attitude made it for us. Best week of my life, thankyou pallas!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pallas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pallas Hotel

Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pallas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pallas Hotel Laganas
Pallas Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pallas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.