We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ionis Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ionis Art Hotel to your Saves list
Ionis Art Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 21 | Laganas Bay, Laganas 29092, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I went with my best friend in september. when we arrived we were greeted by the rep and she told us to get ready and join the bar crawl, and that she would see us the next day. The events which she sold were amazing, i would recommend the full moon party! and if you get the chance grab a ticket for the ultimate party. It was the bet night by far!
The hotel was very clean, the travel rep was really nice! Hotel staff were nice enough, mind security is strict but as long as you're polite and keep the noise down they were lovely. The breakfast which you pay for is basically just toast(which you will miss anyway as you'll be sleeping off your hangover) so bring extra money for a fry up!
If you are planning to 'pull' there is a cost to pay, i believe its 30 euros to bring someone back to your hotel room! drinks at the bar are a bit over priced, its like 5 euros for a drink, but the barman is lovely. There is a shop like next door to the hotel to get your pre drinks, although you cannot bring your own water or alcohol near the pool. There are a few tobacco shops around, one which was open 24/7 so however drunk you were you could still stumble in and get them!
The location is brilliant. Sizzle is just over the road!so didnt walk far at all in the evenings as you are in the centre! although once you are in your room you couldnt hear anything from outside! The pizza and chicken place outside the hotel were nice, you get discount cards for like 30% off after midnight. but overall, its a mint holiday and if you want the party then this is the hotel to go to!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    56
    22
    22
    15
See reviews for
2
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

me and four other friends stayed at this hotel in summer and the hotel and location itself are lovely. The hotel manager was very rude towards me & my friends singling us out shouting saying that we was making a lot of noise in this 'twentys' hotel, we woke up the next morning with our rep telling us that the lady in the next room was trying to get us kicked out for making to much noise, so we got a written FINAL warning for something we didn't even know was happening, the manager told us we had been dragged up and was very rude to us. If it wasn't for the twentys reps we would of happily had left that hotel and not gone back! the door in our hotel room aswell was dodgy it seemed so frail like it was going to snap and it did one day when we was closing the doors and we had a fine of 30 euros which yes it broke when we was in the room but we also said it seems rather delicate, we had to pay 30 euros on arrival which we was not informed about (each) and ontop of that we paid a additional 70 euros for the aircon and the fridge (which should be included in a self catering hotel) so on arrival they took 180 euros of us all, be aware of this if you planning on going with minimal money. The hotel itself is clean and apart from the manager and security at night the staff are excellent and are a credit to the hotel but overall I wouldn't be coming back to this hotel any time soon. if you don't want young people in the hotel partying maybe it should re-think its location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My sister and I (18 & 21) stayed here for 2 weeks from 23rd August to the 6th September. The hotel is in the perfect location if you want to be in the centre of everything. At first we weren't sure about staying right on the strip because we weren't planning on going clubbing every night, but we were glad we did because everything was just right there if we wanted it so it made things easier.

When you arrive and go to your room you have to pay a 30 euro damage deposit, they give you a form where you have to check everything in your room for any damage. I made sure to be very thorough as i read reviews saying they'll try to charge you for everything.
We paid 70 euros a week for aircon, fridge and safe, which is pricey but worth getting. The aircon automatically turns off when you open the balcony door to be 'eco friendly'. I just found this annoying as we like having the doors open and going in and out but then the room gets too hot.

When we checked in we were told that after one week we would have to change rooms, we were not happy about this as it meant that we would have to spend time packing up all of our luggage and moving, it was just a major inconvenience. We weren't apologised to for this at all by the reception staff, and when we complained at reception we were told off and spoken to very rudely, there was an older lady working there that seemed like she was in charge, I don't know what her name was but she was very rude to us. If there was an apology or something to make up for the inconvenience of moving then I wouldn't have been so bothered, but I have never and would never expect to have to move rooms half way through a holiday. There was nothing we could do so in the end we agreed to move, but I said we weren't going through the hassle of filling the damage form out again so they had someone do it for us. It turned out the room we moved to was a nicer bigger room.

To begin with we were on the top floor with a view of the strip which was good we like just looking out at everything going on. I wasn't kept up at night by noise so the sound proofing must have been good. There are ipod docks in the room which was great to have music on while getting ready. The rooms are kept nice and clean and are a good size. Be careful with the showers because ours leaked out everywhere. In the second room when we emptied the bath the water came up out of the drain and flooded the bathroom floor. We called reception and were told it was just 'common sense' that you would empty the bath bit by bit!

After we checked in we had our welcome meeting with the reps which was basically a sales pitch for parties. We weren't really interested in these as they are overpriced and they go out really early, we prefered to do our own thing. We did book the full moon beach party for 20 euros which was okay.

The hotel is kept very clean and the pool area is very nice, plenty of sunbeds for everyone. The pool is clean and a decent size and there were lilos for anybody to use which was great. Music is played by the pool which is not too loud just for a good atmosphere.

The breakfast was good enough, continental with toast/ham/eggs/cereal/orange juice. It finished at 10 o'clock which I thought was quite early. Us and alot of other people didn't make it for breakfast most days.

The pool bar is great they serve nice food all day. The bar staff are amazing they are so friendly and work really hard. Zak the barman is great he was always having a laugh and a chat with us and making sure we were having a good time, asking us about our holiday and recommending things to do. He's a really nice guy and looked after us :) His fruity cocktails were the best!

The security guards at the hotel were okay to you if you behaved. They are very strict and take everything so seriously but just make sure you behave and they're great. I felt safer with them there.

The atmosphere at the hotel is great, as it was just me and my sister we weren't planning on going crazy, we're not the kind of girls that would go clubbing every night! But everyone gets on in the hotel and talks to you, we met lots of great people and were persuaded to go out most nights! We got judged if we wanted a night in! We were glad we had 2 weeks as we could spread everything out. I'd recommend Kamikaze for cheap drinks, Zero's is a great club, and Cherry Bay.

We went to the White Party while we were there which was so much fun! Great night. I would also recommend the waterpark, shipwreck beach, and go turtle spotting! We hired our own boat out and went around the island and swimming in the caves, it was a great day!

The strip has loads of great restaurants and all reasonably priced. Alot of the time for lunch we'd get a slice of pizza from Red Castle which was just across the road. Best pizza ever!
The restaurants along the beach were the best, they were much nicer places than on the strip, I would recommend Tasos and Cool Peppers. You can also use their sunbeds on the beach during the day as long as you buy a drink.

All in all we did really like the hotel and it was great value for money, there were things that could be improved on but nothing that would ruin my holiday. It's what you make of it and we had a great time and met some great people! Zante is a beautiful island and I'd definitely recommend going.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our stay in Ionis Art Hotel was unfortunately only 5 days, but it was one of my best holidays!
Hotel is on top location, very clean, with beautiful rooms, all the staff are very friendly, helpful and nice.
Top choice for all visitors in Laganas!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

As this is listed with Thomson as a 2twentys hotel, and as we are early 50's, and having checked the hotel's website, we emailed the hotel to enquire as to how busy the hotel was and the average age of the guests at this time of the year. We received a lovely, positive email back from 'Caroline', and on that basis we booked to travel a week later (on 20th September). What can we say? Everything was perfect; from the arrival check-in speech, to the room, the pool (where we spent most of our time), and of course, the staff; friendly, helpful, always ready to chat (they referred to us as the 'pretty couple', which made us feel fantastic even though we were arguably the oldest couple in the hotel). The music around the pool during the day was great, a real mix of tunes and played at a comfortable volume. As it was virtually the last week of the season, some of the clubs near the hotel had already closed for the winter which meant that the immediate area was pretty quiet, especially by comparison to 'the strip' which was very lively with mainly young revellers enjoying the cheap shots (1 euro) and nightlife, none of which caused us any problem, in fact it was a great source of entertainment to us, especially watching several hundred toga-clad young people in a nearby bar having a great time, dancing on the bar and being entertained by fire-eaters! We probably wouldn't recommend the resort in high-season to people of a similar age to us, especially if you are expecting a quiet, relaxing stroll of an evening, but if you're prepared to accept the resort for what it is, you will have a great time. There is an abundance of restaurants along the strip and, of course, on the beach, all reasonably priced and we couldn't fault the food quality in any of them - we're essentially vegetarian although we do eat fish and we still had plenty of choice. Our favourite probably has to be 'X-Paradiso' though, mainly due to the waiter, he was simply great and made the experience even more enjoyable, and the food was great quality and reasonably priced too. Although 'Scirocco' on the strip was also fantastic and worth a visit (we went twice!). As a bonus, we got engaged whilst in Laganas, so all-in-all, a real dream holiday from start to finish! Would we go back? Yes, but at the same time of the year for the reasons mentioned above.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Arrived 20th Sept for a week and would definitely stay here again. Hotel is lovely, rooms very clean with everything you need. ALL staff are great and very helpful, nothing to much trouble for them. Ideal place to stay for bars and restaurants. Had a great time and thank you to all who made it enjoyable. See you in the near future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed in this hotel. Again, it exceeded my expectations. We arrived here on 20th September and stayed for 1 week, just myself and my friend, Upon arrival the hotel had us noted as returning guests which was great.

Our room was 221 on the second floor. It was a smaller room than the one I had last time but this really did not bother me. Room was in perfect condition. Lovely decor, decent beds, hairdryer, flat screen TV and iPod docking station! Only thing is that the shower in our bathroom wasn't the best. It seemed to of lost its power a bit and our view also looked out on to what we called 'Gypsyville'. However, this didn't phase us.

Staff are brilliant. Always want to go the extra mile. Security guards Nikos and Adonis remembered us on our return too! Zak the bar man is great. Made us feel right at home (however his choice of music is poor haha!). Caroline the hotel manager also remembered us which was really lovely! Such a nice person, we love her hotel!

Although this is a 2wentys hotel we were always prompted to tone the noise levels down a tad when we had been drinking on the strip. We totally respected this!

Pool is brilliant but so cold ha! Loads of Lilos and Rubberrings left around which is good. Lots of sunbeds and also brollys to shade from the sun (when it made an appearance!).

Cannot fault this hotel and I can 100% say I would recommend this to anyone as it is such a great place to stay. I was gutted to leave again! But will try and go back next summer!

Room Tip: chose a room on a higher floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ionis Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionis Art Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 21 | Laganas Bay, Laganas 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ionis Art Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ionis Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ionis Art
Ionis Art Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ionis Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.