We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS HOTEL IS BRILLIANT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laganas, Laganas 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Laganas
HEREFORD UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THIS HOTEL IS BRILLIANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is brilliant good food, lovely friendly hotel staff and very clean they could not do enough for you so helpful. Rooms are clean and have plenty of room and are comfortable just love the place going back next year for shore. If you are looking for a friendly family hotel this is the one, near to all the nightlife, and the beach, but fare away not to be disturbed, it is very family friendly and has a good choice of food and drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    76
    38
    12
    16
See reviews for
90
140
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just returned from a week, all inclusive at this hotel. Stayed 18 - 25 October, which is out of season for Zakynthos and this is one of the only hotels still open in Laganas. It's never a 5 star hotel but worth the 5 star reviews if you want a small, intimate stay in a family run, family friendly hotel. We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 adults an 18 year old and a 4 year old; it was perfect for us. Had to laugh that the bathroom window opened onto the shared walkway and so anyone over about 5' 6" could see me on the loo if I forgot to shut the thing! There wasn't a single meal I could complain about and the service was great. I have two complaints: 1. the swimming pool never gets the sun so it's freezing! However, the beach is less than a 5 minute walk away, which was great for us. 2. The amount of flies that seemed to only congregate around the TV area - they need to invest in an ultraviolet light to get rid of them - highly annoying. Hospitality of George, Vassily, Miri and George's wife (sorry I forgot your name) was brilliant and best I've experienced in a long while; I travel abroad a lot, mostly all incl and this was great for a very good value for money weeks winter break; I'd definitely go back. Do not stay at this hotel if you want intimacy; it's small so you have to be social with the other guests! We loved it and met some great folks.

Room Tip: We had an end room and consequently a large balcony; it was above the bar though so no good if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After reading the reviews on here, my partner and I were looking forward to a weeks stay at the Zante Plaza. Unfortunately on arrival we realised straight away this hotel isn't worth the 5 star reviews its been given! We paid over the odds for what can only be described as a 2-3 star hotel.

We arrived in the afternoon of October 7th and were told we were able to stay in a Superior room for no extra charge, we were then taken to a seperate building just several metres up the road. We were extremely unhappy with the room as we had paid for a pool view and not the "pond" we were stuck with (which was vurging on green with leaves and bugs floating in it - clearly unusable!) we complained that we would rather stay in the main building (which had the restaurant, bar, main pool etc) and we were moved to another room imediately. The room was very basic but perfect for what we needed. The Maid's came everyday and provided us with clean towels and left the place spotless. There was always plenty of hot water. Kitchen facilities and a hair dryer were provided.

The pool area was kept clean and tidy although the grass could have done with a cut, but I put this down to us staying in October and they were winding down for the season.

The reason this hotel is recieving 5 star reviews from other guests is purely due to the amazing family running it who cannot do enough for you and no request is too much trouble - unless you're asking the albanian lady (whose name I cannot remember) who was very rude and abrupt everytime we had dealings with her. I would have gone as far as to make a complaint if it wasn't for the fact she was handling our food! Aside from this parituclar lady everybody else working at the hotel are more than happy to help, absolutely great customer service..even Mari who cannot speak a word of English but still managed to accomodate our needs - great man! The family - George, Fasili and everyone else are brilliant and the entertainment provided by Fasili on kareoke night is top notch!

The food available off of the all day menu was lovely but I cannot say the same for the buffet. Being all inclusive guests we were provided with a breakfast buffet which I would go as far as saying was inedible and we did not eat breakfast for the remainder of the week! The dinner buffet was not so bad but very random mixes of dishes! I would not advise anybody to stay all inclusive in this hotel as the food is not up to scratch and the alcohol seems to be watered down. However, I think this hotel would be a great base if you came mid-season and ventured out each night but unfortunately everything had closed down by October and we were limited.

This is a very mixed review as I have tried to decribe honestley what we were met with. All in all the positives out-weighed the negatives and we had a lovely week - just a few things the hotel needs to work on and it would be perfecto!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here on the 25th of July till the 1st of August! It was amazing, 9 Girls all 18. We had such a good time. The location was brilliant, 30 seconds from the main strip and to be surprisingly you didn't hear any noise from the strip at all! I didn't make breakfast once but from what my friend said it was good. But it didn't mean i went hungry, there was a snack menu to choose from and then the lunch menu which had no end of food on! The dinners was good and tired new things. Ask and they will get the karaoke machine out which was so much fun. Everyone was so lovely all the staff especially Lola at the bar! The pool was nice. The rooms were basic but they had enough space, there was 3 in a room and we had 3 single beds then a double bed. Just be careful of the shower because it tends to go every where and flood the bath room! The maid were lovely, we just carried on sleeping when they came in and they didnt mind what they saw in your room! We loved Zante so much and the hotel! Thank you so much it was the best time of out lifeee! Room 206, 212, 218 Thank you to george and all of his family. Just watch out for scary mary of a night! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Well where do we start? This hotel is a little gem and is the best we have stayed in on our travels abroad. The family that run this hotel are its greatest asset and we can not thank them enough for making our stay a truly memorable experiance so thank you George, Yoda and Vasilis. The hotel is small but this gives you that personal touch that you do not get in the big complex hotels and nothing is too much trouble you only have to ask.

The food is by far the best we have ever had on an all inclusive and is cooked fresh from the menu throughout the day with a buffet style breakfast and evening meal.

The rooms are of a good standard and we have stayed in 5 star accomodation with worse rooms so for the people on here who have moaned about poor decoration and being outdated go and pay top dollar and stop in the suite at the Hilton if you want luxury, at the end of the day you only sleep and shower in your room and we found ours to be more than addequate for these functions.

The staff are excellent and work their socks off to make your holiday enjoyable and for this we thank you Mary, Lola,Thanos and Mari you really are magnificent.

The Facilities were enough for us the pool area was always spotless with plenty of sun loungers, the bar area is clean and tidy with a wide selection of drinks and dining areas are very comfortable.

Entertainment is not every night but this suited us as everywhere else we have been it is just the same thing every night which gets a bit tedious after two weeks. Each week there is Greek night which is a must the Family get everyone involved with dancing , plate smashing etc... And also once a week there is Karaoke night not to be missed just to hear Vasilis aka King of the Karaoke do his rendition of David Bowies Starman you are a legend (Xfactor watch out).

All in all everthing together makes this a holiday to remember even the guest we met were all great people with a mixture of young and old and everyone got on.

We will be back next year so will see you all soon.....

Simon and Jane travelled 24/09/2012-11/10/2012.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Have just returned from staying at this wonderful hotel for a week all inclusive at the end of september and what can I say?
The Rooms: Me and my friends (all aged 21) opted for two superior rooms (they worked out to be about £10 more expensive and well worth the money) we were located in a separate block a short walk from the main building but this was often better as we found to be quieter and more peaceful in the evening when we did want to sleep. The beds were comfy enough, never had any trouble sleeping and didnt hear any noise from the strip despite being literally 30 seconds away! I opted to pay for air con in my room on the first day, it was 35 euros for the week and well worth the money, especially as we arrived in the middle of a heatwave! The bathrooms was spacious and very clean, yes there was no shower rail but if your careful enough the bathroom doesnt flood! Was also the first hotel I have been which had a bathtub! The rooms do have a tv (and a remote) but all the channels were greek, however there is a tv with sky in the reception/bar area which you are welcome to watch.
The food: This is easilly the best all inclusive food i have ever had! Breakfast was the usual you would expect at an all inclusive hotel, cooked perfectly! Lunch was ordered off a menu, which i actually feel is a much better system and the selection of food was vast! You could even order breakfast off the menu if you had missed the buffet! Snacks were available from 10-5:30 and included things like toasties (which were amazing) burgers, chips (with a selection of toppings), hotdogs and more! The dinner buffet was always amazing! Pleanty of choice! The lasagne and chocolate pudding were to die for!! The salad served at the buffet was fresh and tasted absolutely amazing!
The bar: This was the first all inclusive hotel i had beed to which allowed its guests to sit at the bar and all the staff that work at this hotel are amazing! They are always very friendly and cater for guests every need! The all inclusive package includes a selection of about 6 cocktails (including my favourite sex on the beach)
the pool/pool area: This was the first hotel where there was always pleanty of sunbeds to choose from! the pool was lovely and clean, albeit a tad cold but was sometimes refreshing after being out in 33 degrees heat!
The strip: This hotel truly has the perfect location! A short walk to the strip (literally 100m down an alleyway and you are at the best part of the strip) drinks on the strip are incredibly cheap! One bar (argos) offers 2 cocktails and 8 shots each for only 5 euros! (the shots arent incredibly strong but worth the deal) Other places on the strip offer 2 shots and 2 drinks for 5 euros, you can have an amazing time with just a few euros here!
On our second night out we went in fancy dress (i dressed as a peacock) and we ended up in the togas only paint party at rescue (no idea how)
I would also like to point out that all the people out on the strip are there to have a good time, I always felt safe and made loads of friends chatting to people whilst dancing on the bar!
the beach: again this hotel is in the perfect location just a short walk to the beach, the beach near the hotel isnt that amazing but a short walk to the left (if your looking out to sea) you will reach a much quieter and nicer bit of beach! The sea is so clear and there are lots of fish!

To sum up this is the perfect hotel if your looking for a quiet fun night in the hotel or a wild night out on the strip, it really does cater to everyones needs! The guests at this hotel made our stay even more enjoyable you really do feel like you become part of one big family at this hotel. I am already looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed for a week at this hotel just got back what a nightmare the night life went on until 6.30 am, did not get any sleep,then there were the local dogs barking when the music stopped and the noisey revelers shouting and screaming as they were coming home after a night out. the room was very basic no tv broken light fittings broken damaged bath room doorlight in bath room hanging on bar wire, no shower curtain the water flooded the bath room every time you used the shower.broken fridge door peeling laminate on the units in the kitchen. broken tiles around the pool and public areas were tatty .Food was basic not what we are used to on all inclusive the only good thing were the staff very helpful friendly the maid came in every day.Would only give this hotel 2 stars

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments

Address: Laganas, Laganas 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Laganas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zante Plaza Apart Hotel, renovated during winter 2010, is located in the famous Laganas resort, just a couple of meters away from the beach, Greek tavernas, tourist bars and shops of the resort. This beautifully decorated hotel is ideal for families or couples, who want all the comforts of home whilst on holiday. The hotel offers standard, superior and deluxe rooms, all overlooking the pool or the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zante Plaza Hotel And Apartments
Plaza Hotel Apartments
Plaza Hotel Laganas
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments Zakynthos/Laganas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.