We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for what you get” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added California Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
California Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laganas Beach, Laganas 290 92 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 81 hotels in Laganas
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You pay for what you get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is a classic accommodation for people, who spend the whole day at the beach. The equipment is a bit old. But if you just spend the night, it´s not that bad. But the bed might break down while you sleep. :-D

The owners are very friendly, the hotel pool with a bar is a nice change for the beach. The staff tries to keep the hotel clean as much as possible.


The breakfast is every day the same, so it´s a bit dull in a few days. A power breakdown might happen, but that´s not the hotel´s fault.

We are not much demanding, so it was OK for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We were in this hotel for one week during our vacation booked on the last moment through german travel agency. Hotel is quite old, especially furnishings in rooms and bathroom would need some renovation. Some services (like airconditioning) are for additional fees and some like hairdryer are not available at all. Breakfast doesn't offer big variations and is the same every day. But that's it from the negatives. There is very friendly and helpfull staff and price for the hotel is very good. Hotel has it's own swimming pool with free sunbeds and nice bar. Location of hotel is in the middle of main Laganas beach, which is good for partying, but on the other hand it's very noisy place. You can hear music, people and motors of the quad bikes from evening till early morning. So it's pretty hard to have nice sleep there. In Laganas you can see too, that many local people are already corrupted by tourism, and are looking how to get as much money from you as possible (but luckilly not everybody).
Overall I would recommend this place and hotel especially to young people, who want to have fun, join clubs and parties, don't want to spend much money on accomodation and don't need too much sleep. I would not recommend this hotel nor city to families or couples wanting some romantic vacation. There are more nicer places (ie. Alykees) in Zakythos and you really need to rent a car to see the island in all his beauty.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

I stayed there for a 7 nights and we had a really great time in there. We stayed in room with a view to the sea and I think every room has a balcony so you can really enjoy the view.
This is family hotel not a big fancy one so maybe you will find some small mistakes but you can see that they do their best to correct them. The best thing about the hotel is its location. When you close the door of your room, in three minutes you are on the beach.
The second best thing is the stuff. Everybody was smailing and friendly and more then willing to help.
Also the hotel is quiet. In the night you will probably hear somebody outside but this will happen in all the city. But in the hotel itself it was quite.

If we go to Zante island again we will surely stay here.

P.S. Our big thanks should be to Dmitry because he really cared about us and gave us some really good recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

A nice, clean hotel, clean rooms, and best of all, very quiet. Perfect place to bring my family and kids. Less than a stones throw from the beach, adult and separate kids pool, and a 2 minute walk to the main road, makes it an ideal place to stay. Next time, I will even bring the in laws!

Room Tip: Book Online and Email for a South East facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

The hotel is low and dirty.It has 3 stars but in my opinion it should have 2.
A hotel where the towels are changed once in 2 days, the bed sheet twice a week where you don't have A/C (only if you pay), no hairdryer, no shampoo, no shower gel, no hot water in the evening it must be a 2 star hotel.
We've stayed there 11 nights and we regret every spent penny.
The hotel has 67 rooms and i guess all the rooms are same size(i've seen a triple room and the room is a double room where they put an extendable bed). We stayed in room number 114 which is located on the ground floor. If they give you some room on the second floor i would advice you to change it because is very hot up there(all people that got a room on the 2nd floor complained about this).
Some things about the room...
When we booked this hotel we look on the hotels pictures and rooms were looking very good there. If you go on the hotels webpage you'll see some nice pictures of a double bed room. Our room did look at all like in those pictures. When i've asked on the reception they said that they have only 3 rooms in the hotel like those in the pictures and those rooms are overbooked already. Our room was a room with 2 separate beds...which we didn't really appreciate...if you are a couple you'd understand what i mean. The bed mattress is so old that you feel the iron inside it..and they are very dirty.
The room was dirty since we arrived. The pictures speak by them selves .They are cleaning the rooms every day but they are not doing a very good job. We killed some ants and a spider since the day we arrived and we left them on the floor under a chair. After 11 days they were still there.
The room has an Air Conditioned machine but they will work only if you pay extra money(7 E/day).
The bathroom is also very dirty and old. You will be able to see rust and this black mold on the walls. If you want to take a shower in the evening, be prepared to take it with cold water. I guess they have a problem with the system that heats the water.
The breakfast is also very low. During our stay the breakfast was the same every day(boiled eggs, bread, tea/coffee, some gem/honey/butter, cheese and ham and some cornflakes ...this is all you will get).

The island is very nice and beautiful. The food around the hotel is delicious. I totally recommended Zakynthos but avoid this hotel by all means

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Really friendly and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. The room was of a typical Greek style but more than adequate, however the lounge area was excellent with really comfortable large leather sofas.We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the pool area was spacious with plenty of loungers and the beach less than a five minute walk away.This hotel is definately an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

-staff friendly-family operated
-the room was very basic, with partial view of the sea (beware of rooms overlooking thrashcans on the eastern side)
-airconditioning for a special fee depending on the momentary mood of the receptionist
-breakfast continental (bread, jam, local ham, eggs, cereal...) which gets old after two days
-nice pool, open late
-hotel located across apartments occupied by obnoxious english mostly, can get very noisy
-beach within a minutes walking distance

Down side: the unkept hotel surroundings, breakfast
Up side: friendly staff, proximity to beach

Recommendation: book directly with the reception, you will get
a good price

Have a nice stay.

Angus McKillish

  • Liked — Fair price
  • Disliked — hotel surroundings
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to California Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Beach Hotel

Address: Laganas Beach, Laganas 290 92 , Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 81 hotels in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — California Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your California Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach California Hotel
California Beach Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.