We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for clubbers....not families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Apartments to your Saves list
Paradise Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laganas main road | Mouzaki - Agrilia, Laganas 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 81 Hotels in Laganas
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for clubbers....not families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Just got back from Paradise Apartments, Laganas after a weeks holiday with my partner and 9 year old son. The hotel itself......basic, but comfortable (if you don't plan to hang around it much). Its about €5 a day for AC and €2 a day for a safety deposit box.

Sandra, Kathy, Denny, Bobby....all great. Denny and his free shots in the evening were lethal! The rooms were only cleaned twice during the week, and the beds changed once (not comfortable when sand works its way into them). You can't flush toilet paper down the loo's in Greece, but a bin was provided for all paper waste. This bin was NOT changed every day which I found really disturbing, and the flush on the loo barely took the natural waste down so spent a few days cleaning it myself which was revolting! God forbid if anyone has diaorrhea!!

Day times were mad. The youngster who come here to party all night wake up around 11am and dominate the pool. Air beds filling the pool so not a lot of space to have a peaceful swim. They usually go around 6-7pm which is then too late to have a relax and chill in the pool! The food....not great. Burger and chips galore! The restaurant at the front of the hotel (Paradise Restaurant) was great. Fantastic staff too and you get a 10% discount if you stay at Paradise Apartments.

As this was an '18-30' hotel we spent nearly every day out and about exploring the island which was amazing. The evenings are very quiet as the clubbers sleep til around 11pm. Some evening there have only been 3-4 people in the bar even though the hotel was fully booked.
There was no BBQ either as there was not enough interest which was disappointing.
Pint of beer and cocktails were €3 each, small lemonade/coke €1.50 so was quite expensive.
No childrens entertainment at all except a PS2 and pool table, which you have to pay for of course (nothing was free).

Families will be overwhelmed by the 20 somethings, so bear that in mind if you want a relaxing holiday by the pool!!

Zakynthos is a lovely Island. Blue Caves are a must, and if you can, hire a boat and go exploring.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    24
    5
    8
See reviews for
6
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

had a brill time at the paradise , met Stuart and Beth also from Saltcoats at the airport and spent most of the week together . The staff were as freindly as you could ask for and babbis the barman who is in the the pictures made the holiday , he joined in with us and supplied us with endless free shots ... If asked if i would go back then yes definetly ... thanks for the lovely time and the girl from the bar (sorry i forgot your name ) your pic on the previous reviews as you said does not do you justice because you were simply stunning .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Room was very small. Just a bedroom with 2 single beds and very small kitchenette (2 rings, no oven/grill) Had to ask rep for a kettle and toaster. No corkscrew, and very basic utensils. Shower was often cold and very weak coming through. Also had a habit of riding up and spraying over the walls. Bedsheets and towels changed every 3 days or so and floor was never swept the 2 weeks I was there. Pool area and bar was lovely. A good 25 minutes walk to strip (and back again too.) 10 minutes more to get to the beach. The road down was very dark and not a lot of people walking that way (I took a personal alarm with me - better safe than sorry) A taxi costs 6 euro to the strip. Beware of gyspy children begging. They often rob and steal from tourists. Heard a few near by apartments were getting burgled night after night and the strip can often be rough with people fighting, so be aware at all times. Do not go on the bar crawl with the reps. It is a con. You pay 10 euros and get a free shot in every bar (which you get anyway!) The bars also charge people on the bar crawl extra for drinks. A lot of people up and down the strip offer boat trips. Again, this is another con. Got picked up at 8.20am for boat and was on it all day till 5pm. Never seen anything we were supposed to - shipwreck, dolphins, turtles etc, as they said the sea was too rough (which it wasn't - they just drove faster to make it seem choppy). Laganas is ok it you are between 18 - 25, but I wouldn't recommend it for anyone older or with kids.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

none of the staff spoke english, sometimes thought they didnt on purpose! couldnt even understand the word 'passport' but got it back eventually when the older woman come down a few hours later!

got there at about 4 in the morning, met by a service man who gave us our key, reception was closed and the room was so hot because we couldnt go and get air con! which cost us £100 for two weeks! also got charged for that first night when we didnt even have it!

pool area clean, dont go if you dont like wasps they were everywhere and landed on you every five minutes. pool full of dead wasps and i stood on glass while in the pool

we were in a party of two couples, they came the second week we were there and their room was so much better than ours, still basic but the fact the whole apartment didnt flood everytime they turned the shower on was definitly a plus! we asked the reception if we could have a bigger shower curtain because it was impossible to get a shower without it going everywhere, spreading to the kitchen etc because of the tiled floors but that wasnt a success! wasnt really bothered that the shower curtain was the size of my arm it was the fact the flooding was a total health and safety issue. We had to turn the shower curtain around aswell after we realised it was full of male sperm imbedded on it

the only thing i liked about this place was the distance away from the main strip, it was about a ten mins walk from the bottom of the strip which meant it was quiet on a night time but not too quiet so that you were frightened of walking back, the only things around are two small shops, the hotels restaurant and other apartments.

only noise was from other people staying here, but that is to be expected this type of resort, was quite surprised that the apartments were 'family friendly' as i seen one 'child' in the whole two weeks with his parents, and he was about 15 and did i forget to mention he looked bored from the minute he got there! bless him

pans were scruffy and we didnt have much money catered for eating outside the apartments so we had to go to the shop and buy scrubbers and pan cleaners, took about five washes to get rid of the muck! and i am definitly not a clean freak!!!

do not go here!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Well.. myself and my partner stayed here for a week in august. First impressions on arrival, a bit basic in the rooms, pool area very loud, staff very friendly and accomodating.
We had fresh bed linen and towels almost every day. Kitchen was quite poor. One ring hob and some dirty crockery (and nothing to wash them up with). Poor drainage in the bathroom area, leaving floor covered in water and pontentially dangerous.
Pool bar open pretty much all day and night... a few nights got a bit loud as the other guests were youngsters, going on into the early hours of the morning. But hey, its a holiday afterall!!!! Would go back though, as we had such a great time and the staff make the holiday!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Apartments - very basic, quite clean but room for improvement although the maids were lovely, plasma tv with a few english channels inc music channel, hairdryer provided, poor self catering equipment (only a hob and a microwave, the maid smuggled us in a toaster and kettle), rooms cleaned every other day with fresh linen and towels.

Location of apartments - about a twenty minute walk away from the beach and bars which was a good thing because Laganas is wild! Taxis cost about 6euro if you cant be bothered to walk.

Pool Area - very good and very clean. Depends what type of holiday you're after really because the pool area is very lively and very loud - good tunes pumping out which we enjoyed but we escaped to the beach a couple of times to give our ears a rest. Pool is clean and well looked after, plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. Pool bar is very friendly - staff are very accommodating - good menu for snacks with reasonable prices, pool table and internet access.

Good points - we got what we paid for - cheap last minute deal, this hotel to British standards would be a 2 star but for Greece its of good standard. Lovely restaurants in the resort and scorching weather.

Bad Points - Rubbish self catering facilities, got to pay extra for air-con, and last but not least we found a rodent in out apartment during our stay which had come in through a crack in the ceiling - staff said that they are very common in the area though!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

I have literally just got home from my stay at the paradise apartments and I am already looking to see if I can get flights back out there.

Zante itself is probably not the most attractive of the Greek islands but it is by far the most friendliest.

Staying at the Paradise Apartments is an experience I shall never forget. The staff there are more like an extended family and without them this holiday wouldn't have been half as good as it was.

The apartments are very nice inside, although you have to pay for extra's like air con etc.

I think the thing for me was the pool bar. From around 12 midday they start pumping out the tunes and the atmosphere is just great. At night time the pool bar turns into a disco and is upon until around 3am, a brillinat way to start your night.

They have happy hour between 7-9pm, buy one get one free on ALL cocktails, and they serve food from 8:30am right through til closing.

All the other guests at the holiday were also amazing, probably because of how bubbly the staff are and it just gets everyone mixing together.

They have a karaoke night Saturdays with a 2 hour free bar, and a BBQ night on Tuesdays again with a 2 hour free bar and all you can eat.
BBQ night is definitely a highlight whilst staying here. They have Greek dancers which set fire to the floor and dance around the flames, they get everyone up dancing and then it goes into full on club mode.

The location is around a 15-20 minute walk to the strip but you can flag a taxi down outside, one passes every minute and only cost €6.

Oh one other thing to mention is the free shots, the bar staff will get you up doing shots like every 15 minutes but they have some awesome shots that actually taste good.

Anyway as some mentioned in another review this may not be the best place for those with small children, but it is suitable for families with kids in their teens as they will be kept occupied. There are pool tables, arcades, and internet access which is all very cheap.

All in all I cannot say anything else other than I want to live at this place, Sandra the owner is the loveliest person ever, and Kathy is also great but all the staff there are just superb.

After staying here you will have severe holiday blues, seriously ace place!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Apartments

Address: Laganas main road | Mouzaki - Agrilia, Laganas 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern complex "Paradise" comprises of 39 spacious and sunlit studios which are all fully equipped in order to satisfy the needs of the modern traveller.The accommodation consists of 18 studios for couples, 15 studios for 3 persons and 6 apartments for 3-5 persons and 1 house. All have a fully equipped kitchenette with utensils and cooking facilities, fridge, bathroom with shower and furnished balcony or veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Paradise Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Apartments Laganas
Paradise Apartments Zakynthos/Laganas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.