We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alkyonis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alkyonis to your Saves list
Alkyonis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laganas, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 81 Hotels in Laganas
Surrey
1 review
“Perfectly fine!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a week in Zante. The hotel is in a nice location if you like to be near but not IN the action. You are around 1-2 mins from the beach and there are taverna with 100 meters however you are about 20 mins walk from the main strip in Laganas, there's plenty around on the way though!

The hotel is clean and well kept, the pool is pleasant although looses the sun in the afternoon (there is a rrof terrace that gets the sun most of the day though).

The beds were not the most comfortable but we did get a double which I think is unusua in these sort of hotels. You wil have to pay for air con (although we found we didn't need it), a safety deposit box and a fridge.

The ony criticism was the noise. My wife didn't find it a problem but if you sleep with the windows open the courtyard style of the complex means you can hear pretty much everything. I delivery was made by a pretty large something every morning at around 4am and people returning after a long night on the strip aren't always the quietest.

As for the resort we had a thouroughly relaxing time, however if you are after a 'Greek' experience then this is probably not the resort (or possibly even the Island for you).

Definately rent a car or a quad bike and go and see the rest of the island though, it is beautiful and most of the 'Sights' can be ticked off in a day by car.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Last minute trip booked and wanted cheap and cheerfull which is what we got, breakfast in hotel is ok but its well worth paying for any meal just up road at the toad in the hole, food is amazing!!! the man in there will remember you from day one and make you feel so welcome,
Hotel is freindly and pretty quiet, would not reccommend for people with young families as nothing for then to do here, resort is really nice however I would take a torch for walk home from main resort on a night as can be quite scary!! All reps in resort were very friendly and would go again, however very quiet at this time if year and winding down, if you want it lively on a noght try ealrier in season!! Carretta carretta on beach front is also highly reccommended especially during the day

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

I stayed at the Alkyonis with my boyfriend and two other couples all aged 22.
We had a brilliant time!
Hotel was abit of a walk from the main action but in a group all chatting away you don't notice it!
We had a bbq at the hotel and food was good! We went b&b, the breakfast was basic but it kept you going till lunch.
You can pay for a fridge and aircon for the time your there. Rooms were a fair size, we all had pool views.
There is a Quad bike place next door and it cost just 18euro for 24hours. This is a great way to see the island.
Would recommend this hotel to all!! Excellent value for money

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

hot was very standard room clean maid every day but shower was broken on wall so had to hold it over you extacet fan in bathroom did not work and told by staff would not be fixed till next year and the most worring thing is when you go out and the cleaner come in she leave the balconey doors open so any one can get in andno were to put your small had a hanging walldrobe but no draw spaces so hah to leave clothes in suitcase as for breakfeast was boiledegg toast peaches cream or ceral boreing after a bit so went to the best place eat and that was the toad in the hole angesand yanis food could not be beaten home pies home made and great breakfeast so had most of the meals there part from

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We have just arrived back from the Alkyonis Hotel in Laganas. We can honestly say that we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I have just read some of the reviews again, and thought, did we stay in the same place.

The room was a bit basic, but what do you want, you shouldn't be spending much time in your room when you are on your holidays. The room was thorough cleaned every single day by the excellent staff. (As with all the public rooms) The two ladies cleaned there from morning till night). You could smell the bleach as soon as you entered your room. The towels were changed when you left them on the floor, (as with other hotels) if you don't want them changed, leave them on the hook.

The hotel is far enough from the strip not to hear any noise, in a quite part of Laganas, If you only go to one restaurant when you go Laganas, go to the Toad in the Holel, a couple of doors away. It is an excellent little place, Yanis is really friendly. We went there about four or five times during our stay. The other nice restaurants close by are Hermion, next door to the Toad and Avanti, (turn right out of the hotel). The only down side is the people outside the restaurants hassling you to come into their restaurants, free wine and drinks.

We booked with Thomson about 4 weeks before we travelled and had a bargain. The Rep who had only just come to Laganas was there all of the time, was very good.

During your stay, we would definitely recommend the Turtle Island spotting tour. It was an excellent trip. We got to see a turtle and dolphins along the way. Its a must.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Really enjoyed out two weeks here!!.. Its a very clean hotel and the food you an buy from the bar is nice.. The breakfast isnt very good at all!!.. The staff are all related its a family run hotel.. the two owners are sisters and dont speak very good english but their sons dennis and tom work behind the bar n they speak very good english.. they are very friendly!!.. Would recommend! small hotel but very good for a cheap holiday.. Far enough away from main strip not to here the noise. But only a short walk to strip!!.. Definatly suggest the turtle trips!!.. Best restraunt in laganas is right next door.. the tod in the hole.. its really small but the nicest food and best prices!!.. we went almost every night!!..xx

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Really liked it, would go there again, only bad thing would be the distance from the strip, which wasn't too far, but there were loads of other hotels a lot closer but they'd probably be a lot more expensive.
Definitely wouldn't recommend for older people, as you get the odd loud music and shouting, in the middle of the night, which is fine for younger people. When we went there was an elderly couple staying and we felt very sorry for them. As there was lots of drunk people and loud music.
Go to toad in the hole!!!!! Its pretty much next door. Is an english restaurant, the owner, john, is very friendly, amazing food, english breakfast, sunday lunch, tea, coffee... Would definitely recommend going there.
The breakfast at the hotel isn't worth getting up for.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alkyonis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyonis

Address: Laganas, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 81 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkyonis 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alkyonis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyonis Hotel Laganas
Alkyonis Zakynthos/Laganas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alkyonis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.