We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average, payed for what we got” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vivian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Vivian to your Saves list
Hotel Vivian
Laganas, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 81 Hotels in Laganas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“average, payed for what we got”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

payed about 250 for a week here in september, and was definitely only worth that. its an ok hotel, staff are weirdos, tried to charge us for fixing the light that was already broken and when we refused, he said he was only joking. sure he would have taken our money though. bit of a walk from the main strip. laganas nightlife is crazy, id go again just a different hotel. our bathroom had a plug in the middle and water would come out of it, so we used the hotels towels to soak up the water and got charged 30euros for this otherwise they wouldnt give us our passports back. oh, and we though we saw a ghost, or was that just the drink talking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    46
    22
    16
    32
See reviews for
1
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

9 girls and I all stayed here for a week at the end of August 2012. After reading all the reviews, we were dreading what we were going to get ourselves into. We got a welcome shot when we arrived late afternoon and payed for the air con (definitely worth it) as well as for a safety deposit box.

We got the best room in the hotel by far - on the 1st floor there are two rooms which have an interconnecting balcony, great for drinks in the evening - some of the other balconies are pretty poky and can only fit about 3 people on them at a push.

We were warned about the security guard and to be fair, he was a bit of an idiot - if you make noise anytime after 12, he'll have his spotlight out and shouting at you to be quiet. They are also very strict about noone being allowed back to the hotel if they don't stay here so that is definitely something to bare in mind.

One thing that was really great was the pool - clean, big enough and you could always find enough sunbeds - you didn't have to be up at the crack of dawn to reserve them however you would be up at the crack of dawn due to the blaring music at the poolbar! The food was typical greasy hangover food which didn't bother us to be honest. The mini-strip next to the hotel has loads of restaurants and bars where you can get good deals as well as a Subway (heaven after a heavy night).

To be honest, if you're looking for somewhere fairly cheap to stay then Vivian is fine - if you go with a good group of people then it doesn't really matter! Everyone else there is doing 18-30s and so you're bound to make friends and it's a really good atmosphere around the pool!

There are loads of comments about trying to rip you off and I would DEFINITELY recommend bringing your own bottom sheet and a pillow case because they will find something to charge you on. Our bathroom flooded a few times but we weren't particularly bothered. Just make sure you tell the staff before you unpack your stuff anything you see wrong with the place.

Would not recommend for anyone over the age of 30 but it's a great location and if you just keep out of the way of the staff you will be fine! If you're looking for a better place to stay, we met a few people staying in the alexander hotel and they were raving about it!

Room Tip: Get the one with the interconnecting balcony on the 1st or 2nd floor. Avoid ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Went on a girls holiday, we were all 18 and it was our first holiday away from parents.
It was DISGUSTING! When we arrived at 6am, we were refused to even buy a drink let alone get into our rooms quickly - instead we had to sit for an hour in a queue whilst they confiscated our passports! We had already read reviews about the charges for stains on sheets, broken furniture etc so were aware when we arrived but obviously this is a scam as the walls were covered in paint in the bathroom, the shower curtain fell down when we drew it back the first time, the sheets had sweat/brown stains on them already so we wrote that down on a list as proof that we didn't cause them. The staff were MISERABLE. Never polite and constantly telling people off for laughing or splashing in the pool - we could understand this if we were being disruptive but there was nobody else around! Food was average, but OVERPRICED! Security guard is a complete physco, on our way back from being out in the clubs, even when we were sober and not even talking, he shouted us back to our rooms and told us we shouldn't be coming back so late. Awful. Just don't bother staying here.

Room Tip: Funny how they scream and yell at you for making 'noise' at night yet keep the music blaring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel and staff have had some bad reviews which I feel are unjustified! If you treat the place with disrespect as many of you do then don't expect to be treated with respect back! If u break something or damage it u pay! Simple! Just because you are abroad doesn't mean these values disappear! Me and my two girlfriends stayed the first week or October 12, this week was perfect reasonably quiet all the party goers gone. The rooms are not great standard but as the manager said young people damage them so it is not worth them upgrading! However, the pool is cleaned every night, the rooms regularly. There has been reviews saying you have to pay for marks on towels; but you are told this on arrival; one friend got mascara on her towel over two days do went to apologise and charged only 5 euros. Me and my friend took our own face towel so this wasn't an issue as make up does ruin towels! The food was great and reasonably priced; drinks cheap around the pool so u don't mind that you can't take your own stuff to the pool! The staff if u took time to speak to and was polite to them they were lovely and friendly. Maids always waved, bar staff and the Maria the manager spoke fantastic English, the owner gave us three free shots each on my friends 30th birthday night! The bar shuts when no one is using it so could be 9 could be 12?! Location is fantastic; theres a graat supermarket left out the hotel then tight a few metres on the right that sells everything! The beach is fantastic, try Cool Peppers which is half way along the beach to eat; bit more expensive but worth it! Other restaurant Vanilla is good! Went on turtle trip only 10 euros as end of season, I didn't see any as wrong side of boat but my friends did! Had a heat wave mid 30s all week! Fabulous holiday, hotel and location if u don't mind very basic rooms!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If your looking for some where to have a laugh don't stay at the vivian. We was constantly told to 'shut up' by the staff even during the day. People were getting chaged 30 euros for dirty towel, and 20 euros for the sheets if there a little bit dirty. If we didnt meet the lovely people we did and had a great time outside the hotel this place would of ruined our holiday!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

my friend and i (early 50's)decided to book this package holiday because it was the cheapest we could find & even though it was through escapades(18-35's)we were prepared to take our chances and were pleasantly surprised.We stayed at this hotel 19th of aug for a week,we arrived at 6am to be greeted by a couple of young lads who took us to our room.Rooms were basic and clean,we filled our damage check list and handed it in,after a couple of hours sleep,it was a refreshing change to find plenty of sunbeds free at 11am,the pool area and bar are lovely,snacks and drinks were reasonable and in their defence have to say that the rule of only food and drink bought at this hotel were only allowed at the pool is the same rule everywhere.We found most staff friendly and pleasant,i can understand some of the damage charges as after talking to some of the young guests,they admit to holes in walls uv paint on towels etc,we were not charged for anything as we didnt damage anything and as for not being able to make a noise,well i suppose that was another positive for us,we would probably get in around 1-2am and sleep like babies,so all in all we had a fab holiday.p.s.great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

3 Girls staying in a 'studio', very basic but its what you pay for. The bathroom was small and there was no shower hook, only one small shelf for your toiletries, also the hot water seemed to start about 9am and go off around 9pm, so have showers early for night on strip. Only 1 toilet roll per day if maid maid was in and only changed our towels and sheets once, however there is a landrette 2 mins away where we washed our own towels.The kitchen 'area' was extremly small and basic. Two plug in hobs and a kettle. 2 Pans, which were more than managable and an egg pan for boiled eggs.We had to buy plastic bowls and cutlery as those supplied wasnt enough for the 3 of us. So if your in room 12 thank us. The third bed was an uncomfortable camp bed so had to take turns on it. Wasnt much room for suitcases so they got in the way. There was a lack of sockets, well for girls im sure lads would manage fine. There was a large wardrobe with plenty hangers provided. Lighting wasnt brilliant for getting ready (girls who wear alot of makeup). The balcany was abit small with only two chairs so had to bring the indoors one out, and the shutters meant that half the balcany was inaccessible. The maid was very nice and didnt disturb you, she came in about 8 of the 11 nights we were there, she didnt do much but kept ontop so it wasnt a mess.

A few nights one member of our party decided to wander off with the key and not return back to the room till the following day meaning having to ask security to let us in, he was extremly reluctant and if he decieded to let you in you werent allowed to keep the key meaning no electrity (lights, air con etc) However one night there was a powercut, and he checked every room to make sure everyone was ok and came across very friendly, if you are polite to him he is back. Although he is very rude if you try bring anyone back, we would not advice you to stay in this hotel if you are wanting to get lucky, as they wont even get past the gate. They close the side gate after about 11pm so you would enter with security checking on you. But here is a tip, one person we met out there would walk in at night on his own and security just assumed he stayed there. even though he fell asleep outside our hotel room waiting for us to come back, right infront of the security camera.

Food and drink at the pool bar was what you expect for the price, average 4/5 euro for bagguette, burger, pizza etc. You could not have your own food or drink by the pool and were asked in what they would probably consider politely to take it to your room. The bar staff entertained us the night of the power cut, and would have banter with you during the day. However are homophobic and pervy, became unfriendly once Luis realised he wasnt getting any leg over. The reps were also nice, there was a 140 euro event deal but we didnt feel pressured into buying it. The music 'def-jay RnB radio' was too loud, started too early untill 12am it went off as thats the law in Zante. At night we couldnt hear our own music in the room for it if you wanted balcany doors open. We ate and pre-drank on the balcany pretty much every night, staff were fine with this. Also there is a internet cafe, with 3 computers and loads of sofas. ten mins is 1 Euro. Safety deposit box is in there. Was 50 euro for air con for 7 nights and 75 for 11 nights which is what we paid.

Vivian was a great location, ten mins from main strip but was a smaller strip for meals or pre-drinks, also lots of supermarkets about. Bocca was nice to eat just before strip, and Q- bar had the nicest drinks, ( probably the poshest places you will go to). We didnt go with the reps we did our own thing, you can buy tickets during the day at the clubs. We would recommend the white party (30 euro) every sunday and UV party (10 euro including t-shirt) every wednesday. Would also reccomend the boat trips to Turtle Island and Shipwrecked Island ( average 20 euro each, no toilets on boast mind!), they are a nice change from the very trampy laganas. Pedalo's on laganas beach were 10 euro per hour and you could see turtles if your lucky. Promoters can be really annoying, but if you get chatting to them they will look after you and go out with you on nights showing you the best places. We made friends with some workers which got us cheaper drinks in the night clubs. Upstairs in rescue is nice if your wanting somewhere quiet to talk with friends, drinks were expensive though. If your after a proper night out go to, Waikiki, Aussies, Cherry bay, Linekers (however abit trampy for us). Personally we preffered the smaller bars, felt more like being abroad and you met more people properly this way. Watch out for gyspy kids ! If you go to beach on the night, even hiding your valuables isnt safe, i hid my clothes over my bag in a closed bar and put a plant pot infront when i came back from the sea my blackberry and friends iphone had been taken, however they left money and camera.

Despite all these negatives dont be put off, we are going back next year as workers and cant wait. was probably the best 11 days of our lives.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vivian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vivian

Address: Laganas, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 81 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vivian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivian Hotel Laganas
Hotel Vivian Zakynthos/Laganas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vivian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.