We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Galaxy Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Galaxy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laganas Bay, Laganas 29100, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 81 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Globe trotting
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just got back from a week at the galaxy hotel, great location right on the beach !!!!
I was pleasantly surprised with everything, food was the best I've had at an all inclusive, there were lots of variety, pasta dishes every night, sprouts, brocoli,lots of chicken dishes, roast potatoes, salads, stuffed vine leaves, greek cheese pies, mushroom quiche, lasagne, fish, soup, chocolate cheese cake, melon etc. nice cocktails (sex on the beach) although I overindulged on the first night and couldn't face another one for the duration lol !!! the room we had was amazing it was really big with a lovely balcony, the bed was comfortable. The lagunas main strip was full of 18-30's bars, clubs, etc. but we mainly stayed on the rooftop terrace in an evening. The beach can get busy but if you walk towards Kalamaki (left from the beach) it gets quieter. There were some young british lads that were loud and often quite drunk, they trashed the hotel room as well, no respect for others or their environment. The hotel had lots of russians, dutch and German there too so there was a nice mix of nationalities. The staff were lovely and were very helpful and friendly. I would definetly go back there !!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    70
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
55
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had a weeks holiday here with friends and my partner Zante is a lovely place!! Great hotel great location would come again had a nice time staff were friendly food was ok I have had better but you get what you pay for the next time I would go half board

Room Tip: Higher you are the better views and nice view of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just got back from 10 days in galaxy hotel our stay over all was very good the hotel itself is lovely it is a 10 minute walk from the main strip witch has loads of shops, they are nice to look around during the day, the strip also comes alive at night time with pubs clubs we did not go to the strip of a evening time but I am told it was very lively if that is your sort of thing, we could not fault the food really we always found something we could eat, the breakfast was a little repetitive.

The pool area is a little small for the size of the hotel and would need to get up very early to get a sunbed, however the beach is right in front of the hotel but you do have to pay 8 Euros a day for 2 sunbeds and a parasol on the beach, you do get pestered a lot when on the beach with people selling things but put some ear phones in or read a book and they normally leave you alone,

The all-inclusive drinks were very good with a wide range to choose from including cocktails witch were very nice, Our room was amazing we had a great view of the sea we stayed in room 236A on the second floor the room we stayed in was very big with a nice big bathroom and a super king size bed ( mattress a little hard) there was a mini fridge and safe in the room, maid service every day with clean bedding and clean towels could not fault the room, there was 2 bars open the pool bar and the reception bar there is also a roof top bar witch is meant to be amazing but it was not open when we was there as we were told they have had a bit of bad weather before we got there, but they did not open it at all when we was there, even though we had not had bad weather at all on our stay. All the bar staff were very very friendly, there can not be a lot wrong with this hotel because some people have been returning for five years or more .With reference to previous review about young groups, towards the end of our stay there was a group of young lads which were rowdy however this tends to happen has the season gets into full flow, I would recommend for a family break either early in the season or late on .Probably the best thing about this holiday was the people we met special mention to shawn and Jayne and wayne and the Geordie crew its a cracker

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

As two single girls in our late 20's we stayed here as it said it was a quiet hotel, we wanted a quiet break. There were lots of different groups of boys who were very noisy, up until 6.30am shouting through the hallways. After 2 nights of no sleep we complained and asked to move rooms, they told us to sleep in the day instead, after a full day of complaining they finally let us move to a quieter part of the building. The room we moved to had some damage such as the door wouldn't lock, when we checked out they tried to accuse us of creating the damage and tried charging us. The reception staff were rude and she just said that she put us on the noisy floor because we are English.
The food was not very nice, it was all very unhealthy and there were no snacks in between meals, lunch finished at 2.30pm then there was no food until 7pm.
The all inclusive drinks are locally produced and taste really bad, also you cannot get any drinks after 11pm.
We found the hotel clean and nice enough for a 3 star but be prepared to bring extra food so you don't go hungry during the day, also be prepared to not get any sleep as they do let large groups of young people who like to party stay in the hotel. Do not expect a welcome with a smile from reception.
The bar staff were lovely on the other hand especially sakis he made our stay worthwhile, if it wasn't for his friendly service we would have hated this hotel. If you want somewhere quiet stay in kalimaki it's only a short walk away but the hotels are much nicer and the area is much quieter

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed here for seven nights in May 2013. The hotel is ideal for people of all ages and it's close to the beach. The rooms are of decent quality and the staff are great. I didn't have any problems with the hotel and our stay was pleasant enough. Although I would say that the food can become a bit repetitive and they lack a great deal of selection. Saying that it's enough to get you through seven days, but I wouldn't like to put up with it for longer than that. I met a lot of good people while I was there, and it’s worth going down to the hotel bar for a bit of late night entertainment. For the party people that want to experience the strip you will be pleased to know that it’s only a ten minute walk into the town.

Our experience would have been better if the hotel didn’t charge for the use of the Sunloungers at 8 euro per day!!

Other recommendations include offering free Wi-Fi in the reception area. And stopping charging guests for their final hour of the bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

just got back from a two week break at hotel Galaxy, had a lovely time. traveled as a family we have a little boy of two and throughout our stay the staff were fantastic the restaurant staff Nikos and Maria made extra effort with us every day couldn't praise them enough.
The food in the restaurant was ok but not a great deal of choice and on some days I felt like saying "again?!" lol the menu repeats itself week on week i'd recommend getting to the restaurant nearer the start of meal times as the later you leave it its not great i mostly ended up on chips and cheese salad sandwiches lol but im a bit fussy anyway; my husband ate all sorts and never really complained. The all inclusive was good in terms of drinks and icecream was free for the little one. tea/coffee available although if you like a good cuppa take your own! the hotel was just on the beach but it wasn't much to write about as there's not a lot of nice sand etc but this was same all the way along.
the hotel itself wasn't bad it was always kept clean and well presented the room cleaning consisted of a quick mop and a bit of bleach in loo, (dust left under bed!) new towels daily if required and bedding always seemed fresh but it was a bit worn e.g holes etc. and the maids constantly left the balcony door open after cleaning!
on arrival a 50 euro deposit was taken from us and most other english guests (should be everyone or not at all as its quite rude to presume who they should charge etc) internet is chargeable and if needed wifi available but only in some areas and not rooms. safe available 20euro a week and there was a mini fridge in room ideal if with kids etc we kept lots in there over the stay.
bathroom clean but shower very poky and not constant hot water it kept blasting ice out then really hot lol if going with kids get a family room with bath!
hotel manager was a very nice guy too as i'm pregnant and one night needed to stay in the room plus little one asleep and he allowed food to the room and brought it himself (wouldn't say its done all the time so don't expect it but it was nice of him to allow on this occasion)
Bar staff always friendly etc on both pool and indoor bar Yiannis was a great guy and good laugh.
around pool area the sunbeds weren't very comfy and some of the boards were lifting not good for bare feet and the kids pool was good but a few of the edges are a bit sharp and my little boy bust his lip but hes as clumsy as they come. overall the area was nice and with time of year we didn't struggle for a sunbed etc but it picked up towards the end of our stay pool was clean and would have been tidier if there was more bins but it wasn't scruffy.
overall the hotel was nice and we enjoyed our stay but would be better just for a week as we got a bit fed up after two. No major complaints at all but personally wouldn't stay again generally this area of Greece. A good time had by all.

area/weather etc
hotel is 5-10 min walk to the strip we walked up a few times and the area is a bit run down although we were there beginning of the season so pretty quiet until the few days before we came home. Not thinking of going to laganas again as there isn't enough to do.. we went on a turtle spotting trip (on the beach 10euro per adult kids free under 4) but beware u do have to walk out a bit into the sea to get on the boat lol but its for an hour but we were out about 90mins so good value!
also went on the train ride that was a couple of hours and takes you to a ceramics cafe/shop and an olive factory it was a bit boring but it was something to do!
in the hotel i would say there wasn't enough entertainment there was literally only one night something was on and it was a piano player (yawn)
the weather was pretty average we had a few days of clouds rain and storms nothing major but it was cold so take warm clothes backup if going in may! we had mostly good weather tho really hot with a nice sea breeze due to position of hotel so it was just right.

Nice hotel, great staff and ok area but a bit run down but to be expected given current climate. wouldnt go again but we did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: get a family room even if only one child as otherwise a bit poky
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Gorgeous hotel, lovely room, tiny bathroom, very small shower, could hardly move! Pool was good, not a lot of entertainment, there was a pool tournament one night, but one night the whole garden to the hotel was closed for a wedding, so everyone had to leave the pool early.
Shame about the food though, to say you're all inclusive, there is not a lot of choice and the quality isn't brilliant. Puddings are good though. Staff were nice.

Room Tip: They all face onto the other side of the hotel, so I'm not sure there is a 'perfect room'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Galaxy Hotel

Address: Laganas Bay, Laganas 29100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Galaxy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Laganas
BEST WESTERN Galaxy Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Galaxy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.