We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margarita Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laganas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margarita Hotel
Save
You added Margarita Hotel to your Saves list
Laganas 29092, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Laganas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a good family hotel with well appointed rooms and good facilities. Other reviewers have commented on the 6 nights rather than 7 and this is a problem and it should be advertised correctly however you can keep your room until departure for Eur50 or until 6pm for Eur30 and this although not deal, does help. The owners are really nice and the staff helpful and friendly. Aaron works really hard to keep everyone entertained and the kids love him - he does a great job and could do with more support from the hotel, Antonello also does entertainment but the majority os Aaron and he really made the holiday for my two kids.

Wasps are a problem and insect sting cream recommended - they are attracted to the drinks left half drunk and not disposed off and the hotel would benefit telling everyone on check in to put their waste in the bin.

The food is repetitive but there is lots of choice and eating out is within easy reach but be careful and avoid Vanilla Restaurant by the supermarket as they know your are all inclusive lure you in with promises of free drinks and wine and then when the bill arrives say the free drinks were your coffee and odd drink that comes with it so 2 adults and 2 kids meals came to Eur92 - not happy! The Ionian at the corner of the strip much better.

The hotel would benefit from a no single sex groups policy. this would avoid the pool boiling with testosterone for the water polo and volley ball matches. The owners seem to be strict on stopping the groups getting out of hand but if they don't change it, the families will stop coming. All inclusive in a predominantly young single persons resort is asking for trouble

Overall a good place, and don't be put off it being in Laganas as you are far away enough away and if you have kids Aaron will will keep them entertained

Room Tip: New rroms very modern and well equipped, beds are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    159
    62
    40
    24
See reviews for
164
197
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week and travelled as a family of four.

On arrival, we were greeted by Margarita herself which is something that I didn't expect as it was so early in the morning (about 6.30 ish).

Our family bedroom room was spacious although there wasn't hardly any storage space meaning we lived out of suitcases for the week and the shower was very small.

The food was nice but seemed repetative after the first 3/4 nights which was fine as we were only there a week but I would probably have a different opinion on this if we were staying for 2 weeks.

The entertainment was good, Aaron and Antonello did a fantastic job and work really weel as a team as one Ant is more into getting involved playing sports throughout the day and Aaron was great with the kids of a night. The night before we were due to come home a bunch of men threw Ant and Aaron in the pool which was very amusing, even more so when one of the owners (George) run over shouting at the both thinking they had jumped in which resulted in the lads packing up and going home (the entertainment had finished by this point!), luckily this was all sorted out for the following morning and they all semmed fine.

The bees are a problem but if you drink your fizzy drinks as soon as you get them or stick to water they will leave you alone.

We were concerned about large groups that was using this hotel for the strip before we travelled. Our first night we were woken up at about 5 in the morning by 2 lads next door who knocked every door along the corridor beofore getting to their own room where they started singing and shouting. The second night we were also woken up by the same lads who wasn't as bad as the first night. Other guests must have complained about their noise as on the third morning we heard Jen (the rep) telling these guys off and issuing a final warning, she basically told them that one more complaint and they would be out as it is a family hotel. After that we didn't hear a peep out of them!

My only concern about this hotel is the way Thomas Cook sell this hotel in the UK to youngsters who are booking it for the strip but they advertise in the brochures as a family hotel. While we were there it was the main 6 weeks school holiday so there were a lot of family's there, I don't think I would go to this hotel in school term time.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbed room - ours was quite dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We as a family of 3 with an 8 year old had 10 very good days staying in the Margarita hotel. The staff were all very friendly, from the owner to all the guys and girls who work constantly keeping this hotel effiecient and clean. Again sold as a family hotel but there was still at least 50% couples and groups of youngsters making up the numbers. The adult pool was a good idea and should have been encouraged a bit more to the older couples and leave the family pool to the families.
The food was good at times, but a little consistant in choice.
Still with the on site entertaiment team of Aaron and Antonello things were always busy and fun. From kids and adults darts competitions and table tennis, to some very eventful and fun games of water polo and football. The evenings entertainment was good but started a bit too late for the younger ones to get to involved. The bar at times was a problem in the evening by not opening untill 9.30, 15 mins after the show started. Up to 20 people could be queing at one time with only 1 person serving all.
The wasp and bees can be a bit of a nuisence around the pool but not really a threat unless you leave the sweet tasty drinks hanging about or tread on them. This should be told to the guests upon thier arrival, rather than other guest spreading the word.
The trip to the beach was a little walk, which wasn't too bad as our young one could walk. Might have been different if in a buggy. Watch out for the speeding Quad bikes buzzing around every where.
Overall, we found the hotel very friendly and new friends where easy to make. I would recommend the hotel to families but only during the school holidays where their experience can be fully enjoyed.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 309 on the 3rd floor, great view watching the sun come up over the mountains on a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel the location was ideal, not smack bang on top of the strip. We arrived and was greater by Margarita herself, a very lovely lady who will go out of her way to help you get the best out of your stay. All the staff at the hotel were lovely, the only downside was the entertainment staff, an obnoxious bloke called Aaron who made it quite clear on several occasions that he didn't want to be there, his attitude stinks and he can't take constructive criticism at all! That is my only nag, . We read lots of reviews before we went about he bees and wasp, but they didn't cause us any really problems if you return your empty glass to the bar then it doesn't give them the chance to swarm around the sweet sticky drinks. The hotel rooms were lovely, all very clean and the food was delicious too, my only grumble was that the food was too English at times and not enough Greek dishes !. There is a mixture of cliental from the young groups of teenagers to couples and families, LET IT BE KNOWN MARGARITA TAKES NO NONSENSE FROM THE YOUNGSTERS!!! .one warning and your out. The beach is glorious and about a 10- 15 min walk the local people are very friendly . There are some fantastic bars and restaurants. Even tough the hotel was all inclusive we did eat out on several occasions as it was so cheap. I old definitely return to this hotel .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Got back from here last week with my boyfriend and it was definitely worth every penny. Before I say anything about the hotel itself, the wasps/bees are annoying, but I wouldn't let them stop me from coming back for a second time.
The hotel itself was great. MOST of the bar staff were nice and friendly. The two who run the hotel were lovely and extremely helpful. The entertainment staff, Aaron and Antonello, were incredible and they really made our holiday what it was. The maids are great and do/did their job well. The catering staff are a bit pester-ish but that's their job and I wasn't bothered by them as such.
There was always stuff to do during the day such as killer darts, water polo etc etc and if you weren't interested in that stuff, you could go to the adult pool.
The hotel isn't too close/too far from the strip. Far enough to not be able to hear the noise but close enough to be able to find your way back when you're hammered.
However, one thing I may add is, they didn't give us any warning as to when they were going to kick us out of our room or when we had to check out or anything. They had already put new guests into our room despite not asking us if we were going to be using the room during the hours between our last day and our transfer. So we had to pay 50 euros for a smelly room above the kitchen so the new guests got nice rooms.
Despite that negative experience, I would definitely say this is more of a family hotel than anything else as they do seem to put families first in most circumstances. On my last day, a large group of teenage boys took up the entire pool and all the families left the pool area, therefore the lovely lady who runs the hotel took it upon herself to tell them where to go so everyone could go in the pool.
All in all, beautiful hotel with wonderful staff. Would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Having read the reviews before travelling and having spent '6 nights' (not advertised 7) at the Margarita, there is a lot of merit to all the reviews, both positive and negative. Positive aspects include:
1. Rooms are very clean, spacious and relatively modern with lockable door between two bedrooms, maid service very good and no problems at all with insects inside which remains cool if doors / curtains remain closed.
2. Staff were very nice and polite but quite stern and conservative (which was a good thing), children told to get off the stage area and pool tables, towels removed off sun beds, etc and there is a strict policy of avoiding late night noise, which was good from my point of view with two children. Location is away from the 18-30 hotels with thumping drum and bass dance music and skinny teenagers. From personal experience of the last week Lagonas is predominantly a location for teenagers and young 20's, and as a family whenever leaving the hotel always felt a bit out of place and in a minority. There is stuff for families to do with excursions etc, but I would question whether Lagonas is for you if you have children.
3. Entertainers did try and interact and both good. Aaron is a nice chap but at times he did seem to be a bit fed up and I don't blame him as it must seem like groundhog day. Ant was a really nice guy and was a lot more enthusiastic about sporty stuff rather than the entertainment side of things. I assume that was there respective areas?
4. Jen the rep was friendly and helpful. The welcome meeting was three hours after arrival in the morning after travelling for 8 hours with children, so we didn't attend and then missed the opportunity to get information as she was not around for the next day or two. I know this is a regular arrangement for package holidays but why they do this I don't know, surely there is a better way of managing interaction with guests.
5. Food was OK, nothing special but adequate.The table allocation is silly and guests are not advised of what the situation is. (We didn't even know that some tables were shared until reading reviews on here after returning).
6. The beach which is 15 mins walk away is good, with nice clean sand and shallow calm sea extending out for about 100m. Best to go left away from the centre of Lagonas and towards Kalimaki where the beach is quieter. Haggle with boat trip / boat hire guys for a better deal if going to Turtle Island and go later in day as they seem happier to lower prices then. As a guide we paid 60 euros (two adults and two children) to hire a boat for 3 hours. It was 80 euros to go on a 3 hour glass bottom boat.

On the downside:
1. Yes there are bees but these never really bothered us much. The problem was guests leaving half finished food and drinks which attracted them. Move them away from where you are sitting and the bees wont bother you.
2. The bars could have been managed a bit better. At times the during the evening the bar next to the pool where the entertainment is, was closed, whilst the reception bar was open in an empty reception. When the poolside bar did open at 10pm there was one member of staff meaning large queues and people having to double up with drinks, which made the queue longer.
3. The entertainment was repetitive. The same songs at the kids mini disco were played every night as was bingo, which enjoyable but not every night. A bit of variety would have been very welcome. There is nothing for families to do outside the hotel during the evening, so there is a lot of reliance on having something to do inside the hotel.
4. Lastly, the biggest gripe which has been touched on by other reviewers, the holiday when booked clearly stated 7 night accommodation, which is factually wrong, and I would go so far as to say is a blatant lie. It is 6 nights as you are required to vacate your room at midday the day 'before' departure so was left with having to deal with two children for a day without a room and sleep on a chair in reception that evening until a 3am pick up. When i queried this with reception the person I spoke to guiltily advised that this is an "international standard". I am not sure if this is Thomas Cook's responsibility or the hotel, but must be a breach of trading standards as they are incorrectly selling a product on the basis of a literal untruth.

This aside the hotel is nice and from my experience clearly above average / good if you are happy to deal with the downsides (as in all cases) then i would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Although this hotel was lovely and clean I would not return, the buffet is same every day, not a good selection of drinks in bar, millions of bees around pool area. Location to close to 18-30 strip . Overall I would not recommend to families and beach a fair walk away and not best beach :-(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margarita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita Hotel

Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
#5 Family Hotel in Laganas
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Margarita Hotel Laganas
Hotel Margarita Zante
Margarita Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margarita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.